If you have been giving your dog 4CYTE and cannot see a difference, it is natural to wonder whether it is doing anything at all. Many owners reach this point, and the answer is often less dramatic than it feels. Timing, dosing, the version of the product and the cause of the stiffness all play a part.
This article goes through the common reasons a joint supplement can seem not to be working. We have drawn on what 4CYTE's maker has published in a manufacturer FAQ and a public question-and-answer thread. Both sources are Australian, so the guarantee, stockists and product range may differ in the UK. Please check the current UK label and packaging for anything we do not cover here.
A supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside veterinary care. If your dog seems to be in pain, or is getting worse, your vet is the right first call.
Switching from 4CYTE: what a joint supplement should list
If 4CYTE has not given you the change you hoped for, it is worth checking the label of whatever you try next. Joint supplements differ in which actives they include, and that is the clearest thing to compare.
Below is a table of MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, our own product, against five popular UK joint supplements. 4CYTE is not one of the five, but you can use the same six key actives as a checklist against its label.
Key joint actives in the UK's leading dog joint supplements
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row counts six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. MedPaw is the only product in the table that lists all six, with the others listing between two and four. Hold your 4CYTE label up against that list and see how many you can tick.
For a dog who has had a slow or uncertain start with another supplement, a broader formula is a sensible next step. MedPaw also adds omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, plus vitamins C and E and zinc, all in one daily soft chew.
MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care. Give it daily, doubling the amount for the first three weeks, and allow 2 to 3 months for the best results. A 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save are there if you want them.
Explore MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max You can see the full formula, feeding guide and guarantee for your dog's weight on the product page.
What the sources say 4CYTE is
The sources describe 4CYTE as a joint health supplement whose key ingredient is Epiitalis, a patented plant seed oil extract. It comes in more than one format. There are granules, which are given with food and measured with a scoop, and a gel or liquid. The sources also mention versions for horses and cats, and say the product is sold through vet clinics.
The granules are described as marine-based with a fairly high fat content, and the gel is described separately. The sources do not give a full ingredient list, so please read the label on your own pack for the complete formula. We have not repeated the manufacturer's own claims here.
How long should you wait before judging it?
The manufacturer's stated timeline is a useful reference point. Results vary from dog to dog. Some owners may notice a change in as little as a week, and it can take up to four weeks to see a clearer difference. The manufacturer says use can continue beyond the first 28 days.
That means "not working" on day five or day ten may simply be too early. In the question-and-answer thread, most of the worried messages came from owners who were unsure about dosing, not from owners who had finished a full, correct course.
Common reasons it may seem not to be working
Not enough time, or skipped introduction steps
For the granules, one manufacturer reply describes a stepped approach:
- an introduction dose, a fraction of the maintenance dose, for the first few days
- a higher loading dose for about four weeks
- then a reduced maintenance dose
The same reply says the loading dose can be reinstated if needed. For the gel, one reply says there is no loading dose and it is given once daily with food, with the amount set by body weight. Because the answers varied by product, please follow the instructions on your own pack and your vet's advice.
Dosing mistakes or inconsistency
The manufacturer advises giving it at the same time each day. Morning or evening is a matter of preference, but regularity matters.
- Several owners were confused by scoops, granule counts and weight bands. One reply said that when counting granules and weighing them gave different answers, owners should go by the full scoop rather than counting granules.
- The sources say granule size can vary from batch to batch. The manufacturer says the amount of active stays very similar, and that every batch is tested before sale.
- Dogs above the top weight band on the pack are a common source of confusion. Ask your vet to confirm the amount rather than guessing.
A product made for another species
This one matters. The manufacturer says its horse gel should not be given to dogs. It is formulated for horses and is very concentrated, so a dog-sized amount is, in their words, close to impossible to measure accurately. Simply scaling the horse dose down by weight is not appropriate.
Horse granules were described as having a slightly different scoop and dose to the dog granules, and one reply suggested a vet clinic could help with this. Cat product being used for a dog also came up. The reply was that this should only happen on a vet's advice, because doses differ. The simple answer is to use the dog version, or ask your vet to calculate any alternative.
Interruptions to the routine
Life gets busy, and the sources give some practical guidance on gaps:
- One missed day: no need to restart the loading phase.
- A gap of about a week or more where signs have returned: the manufacturer suggests restarting the loading dose.
- A nine-day break, for example while boarding, with no worsening signs: no need to restart. If signs have worsened, the manufacturer suggests repeating the loading dose, and your vet can advise.
Combining with other products
The manufacturer says there are no known contraindications with other supplements or medicines. The only caution given was about using the granules with other marine-based supplements. One reply said the granules were not suitable alongside another marine-based joint product, while the gel had no stated issue.
Tell your vet everything your dog takes, including other chews, oils and any prescribed pain relief. Please do not add or swap products without checking first.
The dog does not like it
Palatability can be an issue. Advice in the source for cats suggested introducing it gradually, mixing it well into food and starting with a tiny amount. The same cautious approach is sensible for dogs, alongside the stepped introduction on the pack. If your dog simply will not eat it, the guarantee conditions discussed below may be relevant.
The underlying problem needs more than a supplement
Owners in the thread mentioned hip dysplasia, elbow dysplasia, nerve problems and cruciate surgery (TPLO). A joint supplement is only one part of the picture. Pain, lameness or reduced movement may need a proper diagnosis, pain relief, weight management, controlled exercise or physiotherapy. A supplement cannot stand in for any of these, so please speak to your vet if you are worried.
Quick guide: what to check if 4CYTE seems not to be working
| Possible reason | What to check | Who can help |
|---|---|---|
| Too early | How long you have used it against the stated window of up to four weeks | Your own diary and notes |
| Dosing | Current weight, scoop or weight band, introduction and loading steps | Your vet or vet clinic |
| Wrong version | Dog product, in date, not a horse or cat version | Your vet |
| Routine gaps | Missed days, boarding, travel | Pack instructions, your vet |
| Other products | Other marine-based supplements, medicines, oils | Your vet |
| Underlying problem | Pain, lameness, weight, a diagnosed condition | Your vet |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
The manufacturer's suggested steps if it still seems ineffective
The FAQ sets out a simple sequence:
- Use it as directed for up to 28 days.
- If you do not see the results your vet expects, stop for one week.
- If signs return, restart it.
- If you still see no change in mobility, or your dog will not eat it, the guarantee may apply.
About the guarantee
As stated in the Australian source, the guarantee covers palatability and efficacy problems in the first 30 days if the product is used as directed. It applies only to purchases made through a veterinary clinic, with the product returned to that clinic.
UK owners should not assume the same terms apply. Check the current packaging and ask the vet practice or retailer that supplied it.
Health situations that need your vet's input
Some situations call for a conversation with your vet before you start, or while you are using, any joint supplement.
- Pancreatitis: the manufacturer's replies advised against the granules in dogs with pancreatitis because of the fat content. They said the gel is often used in these dogs under veterinary supervision. Dogs on strict bland diets need their vet's approval for any new product.
- Diabetes or other long-term conditions: the manufacturer said it knows of no contraindications, but that these cases are complex and should be discussed with your vet.
- Drinking and urinating more: one owner reported this after about six weeks in a 13-year-old terrier. The manufacturer said it had not seen this reported and that age was a more likely explanation. There are many causes of increased thirst, so any dog doing this should see a vet.
- Before or after surgery: one owner asked about dosing around a TPLO operation. Follow your surgeon's advice on all supplements and medication.
- Expiry dates: one owner asked whether the gel is safe past its expiry date, and the sources gave no answer. We would not use out-of-date products, and we would ask your vet or the manufacturer.
A practical checklist for worried owners
Before you decide a supplement has failed, work through these steps. They are useful whichever joint product you use.
- Check you have the dog version, in date, stored as the label says.
- Re-read the dosing guide for your dog's current weight. Weigh your dog if you are unsure.
- Check you followed the introduction and loading steps on your pack.
- Keep a simple diary for four weeks: stiffness getting up, stairs, walk length, willingness to play, and how long your dog takes to settle at night. Short videos help your vet see changes.
- Give it at the same time daily, with food.
- Make sure your dog is actually eating all of it.
- List everything else your dog takes and share it with your vet.
- Look at weight, exercise routine, flooring and bedding. Extra weight and slippery floors can make a stiff dog look worse.
- If there is no change after the stated period, speak to your vet before changing products or doubling doses.
On that last point, one owner in the thread asked about doubling a gel dose for 28 days. The sources do not support doing this without vet guidance, and neither do we.
When to see a vet
Stiffness that creeps in slowly is different from a sudden change. This guide may help you decide how quickly to act, though it is not a substitute for a vet's opinion.
How quickly to seek veterinary advice
Mention it at the next check-up
Mild stiffness that is stable, with a supplement still within its stated trial period. Keep your diary going.
Book an appointment
No improvement after the stated trial, stiffness getting worse, lameness that keeps returning, reluctance to jump, climb stairs or walk, drinking and urinating noticeably more, weight loss, or marked muscle loss in the back legs. Also book in before starting or changing a supplement if your dog has diagnosed arthritis, hip or elbow dysplasia, cruciate disease, diabetes or pancreatitis.
Same day or urgent
Sudden severe lameness or refusing to put a leg down, a swollen, hot or misshapen joint, yelping or snapping when touched, collapse, weak or dragging back legs, loss of bladder or bowel control, repeated vomiting, belly pain, or refusing food (particularly with a history of pancreatitis).
A note if you are comparing products
This article is about 4CYTE only, and nothing in it describes any other product. If you are looking at alternatives, it helps to compare formats and ingredient lists on the label rather than assuming products are similar.
For example, MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a different product. It is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed, containing glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also has omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc. It comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee, and its feeding guide recommends 2 to 3 months of daily use.
None of that applies to 4CYTE. Please do not switch or combine products without checking with your vet first, particularly if your dog is on medication or has a long-term condition.
The main points to take away
- Give any joint supplement a fair, correctly dosed trial before judging it. The manufacturer's own window for 4CYTE is up to four weeks.
- Most "not working" worries come back to dose, consistency, the wrong version of the product, or an underlying problem that needs a vet.
- Never use horse products for a dog.
- Check the current UK label and guarantee terms, because the sources here are Australian.
- A supplement sits alongside veterinary care. If your dog is in pain, see your vet.
A diary, a few short videos and an honest look at dose and routine will tell you, and your vet, far more than a hunch on day ten. Joint comfort is usually a gradual matter, and a calm, methodical approach helps you give your dog the right support alongside your vet's advice.
How long does 4CYTE take to work in dogs?
The manufacturer's stated timeline, taken from its Australian FAQ, is that some owners may notice a change in about a week, while it can take up to four weeks to see a clearer difference. Results vary from dog to dog, so day five or day ten may simply be too early to judge. Please check the current UK pack for its own guidance, and speak to your vet if your dog seems to be in pain.
Do I need to restart the loading phase if I miss a day of 4CYTE?
According to the manufacturer's replies, one missed day does not mean restarting the loading phase. For a gap of about a week or more where signs have returned, the manufacturer suggests restarting the loading dose. Your vet can advise on your own dog, and the instructions on your UK pack should take priority.
Can I give my dog the horse or cat version of 4CYTE?
The manufacturer says its horse gel should not be given to dogs, because it is very concentrated and a dog-sized amount is close to impossible to measure accurately. A cat product should only be used for a dog on a vet's advice, as doses differ. The simplest route is to use the dog version, or ask your vet to work out any alternative.
What should I do if 4CYTE still does not seem to help after a month?
The manufacturer's suggested sequence is to use it as directed for up to 28 days, stop for a week if you do not see the results your vet expects, and restart if signs return. If your dog still shows no change in mobility, speak to your vet before changing products or doubling any dose. Keeping a simple diary of stiffness, stairs and walk length will help them see what is going on.
Could something other than the supplement be why my dog is still stiff?
Yes. Stiffness or lameness can have several causes, including weight, slippery floors, a diagnosed condition such as hip or elbow dysplasia, or a problem that needs a proper diagnosis and treatment plan. A joint supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside veterinary care and cannot stand in for it, so please book your vet if you are worried.
If I switch from 4CYTE, how would MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max be fed to a 20kg dog?
On the printed label, a 20kg dog has 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended. At 2 chews a day, a 60-chew tub lasts 30 days, or 15 days at the doubled rate. Please check with your vet before switching or combining products, particularly if your dog takes medication or has a long-term condition.


