If you have searched for the cheapest Nutraquin in the UK, you may have noticed the product appears under two names. When your dog is stiff or slowing down, it makes sense to compare prices before you commit to a daily routine.
This guide covers what Nutraquin+ is, what its manufacturer says about the ingredients, and how to work out the real cost of giving it, which is not always the same as the pack price. We also explain how it differs from MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, in case you would like to compare the two.
A joint supplement sits alongside veterinary care and does not replace it. If your dog is limping, in pain or getting worse, please speak to your vet first.
Nutraquin+ price versus what each pack actually lists
Hunting for the lowest Nutraquin+ price is sensible, but a cheaper pack only helps if the formula suits your dog's needs. So before the price comparison, here is how its declared actives compare with ours. MedPaw is our own product.
The table covers the key joint actives, format and guarantee for Nutraquin+ and five other UK options.
UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | Nutraquin+ | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 3 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | ✗ | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Vit C, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Capsule | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | Not stated | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The table opens with a score for key joint actives. Nutraquin+ lists glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia, which is 3 of 6. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel or hyaluronic acid. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is the only product here with all six, in one daily soft chew.
That matters when you are weighing up cost. A lower pack price covers fewer of the actives, while one MedPaw chew format brings glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia together, with omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed.
Nutraquin+ is a capsule. MedPaw is a soft chew, with a 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save if you want to spread the cost. Joint support works alongside veterinary care, and 2-3 months of daily use is recommended for optimal results.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Check the current price and Subscribe & Save option to see how MedPaw's cost per day works out for your dog.
What Nutraquin+ is, and why it has two names
The product is now listed as Nutraquin (formerly Nutraquin+). You may see either name depending on the seller, so search for both. It is the same range, and making sure you are comparing like with like matters when you hunt for a price.
It is a capsule. The manufacturer calls them "sprinkle capsules", which means they can be given whole or opened and the powder mixed into food. Some owners find that easier than persuading a dog to take a tablet. It is still a daily routine, so think about whether your dog will accept it day after day.
One retailer lists a pack of 120 sprinkle capsules. The manufacturer says the product is made for dogs and cats, and that dosage charts also exist for exotic pets such as small mammals, birds and reptiles. So it is not a dog-specific product, and the amount you give depends on your dog's weight.
What is in it
According to the manufacturer's published information, Nutraquin+ contains:
- Glucosamine
- Chondroitin
- Boswellia
- Vitamin C
- Zinc
It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, omega-3, turmeric or collagen. That is not a criticism. It simply helps you compare one label with another.
What the manufacturer says about each ingredient
The points below are the manufacturer's own statements, not independent findings. They help explain why each ingredient is included.
Nutraquin+ ingredients, as described by the manufacturer
| Ingredient | What the manufacturer says | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|
| Glucosamine | A natural substance found in animals' bodies and a building block of cartilage, ligaments, tendons and joint fluid. Natural production is said to slow with age. | It comes in sulphate and hydrochloride forms. The information we have does not say which one is used. |
| Chondroitin | A structural part of cartilage that contributes to its resistance to compression and helps maintain joint fluid thickness. | The manufacturer says it comes from squid cartilage. |
| Boswellia | Comes from the resin of the Boswellia tree. The resin contains boswellic acids, which the manufacturer calls the active constituents. | Described as supporting the body's normal inflammatory responses, and so comfort and movement. |
| Vitamin C and zinc | Included in the formula. | No further detail is given on their role. |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
Boswellia is one of the ingredients that sets Nutraquin+ apart from several other joint supplements. The information we have does not name the species used. For comparison, the Boswellia in MedPaw is Boswellia serrata, which grows in the mountainous forests of western and central India. Not every competing product lists Boswellia, so it is a useful point when you are comparing labels.
Claims to read with care
The manufacturer's pages describe the product as "fast acting", and suggest it works sooner than most joint supplements. Treat that as what the manufacturer says, not as a promise. Every dog is different, and no independent evidence is supplied to back up a specific timescale.
You may also see phrases such as "vets recommend" or "extensive data". Without a named study or figure to look at, it is sensible not to take these as established fact. Phrases like "comprehensive solution" and "optimum joint health" are marketing language too. A supplement is there to support comfort and mobility, alongside good routines and your vet's guidance.
Please never reduce, change or stop a dog's prescribed medication because you have started a supplement. Any decision about medication belongs to your vet.
Dosing and the loading phase
The manufacturer says the amount depends on your dog's weight and points owners to its administration chart. We do not quote doses here, because the right amount for your dog is on the pack and the chart. Weigh your dog before you start rather than guessing.
The manufacturer also describes a loading dose. Its explanation is that glucosamine and chondroitin need time to build up, whereas Boswellia is described as acting more quickly. It advises a loading dose when switching from products outside its own range. If a loading dose was already completed within its range with no gaps, a new one is not needed.
This matters for your budget. A loading phase uses more capsules at the start, so the first weeks cost more than the long-term daily amount. A larger dog will also get through a pack faster than a small one.
How to find the cheapest Nutraquin in the UK
Prices change often, and we have no verified price comparison to share. That means we cannot tell you which seller is cheapest. What we can do is show you how to compare sellers properly, so you are judging the real cost and not just the number on the pack.
Here is a practical way to do it:
- Work out cost per day, not pack price. Divide the pack price by the number of days the pack will last. To find that, divide the 120 capsules by the number your dog needs each day, using the weight-based chart.
- Include the loading phase. Add the extra capsules to your first month's cost.
- Check the product and pack size. Because the name has changed, make sure you are comparing the same product and the same number of capsules.
- Read any subscription terms. Some sellers offer recurring orders, and subscription purchases carry cancellation terms, so read them before agreeing.
- Check the returns position. No guarantee is stated in the information available for Nutraquin+, so ask the seller what happens if your dog will not take it.
- Buy from a reputable UK seller that names the manufacturer and lists the ingredients clearly.
- Think about consistency. A supplement only fits your budget if you can give it every day. The cheapest pack is poor value if your dog refuses it.
An allergy note for shellfish and squid
The manufacturer states that Nutraquin uses squid and shellfish-derived ingredients. If your dog has a known shellfish or squid allergy, please speak to your vet before using it. The same goes if you would rather avoid shellfish-based products for any reason.
If your dog has any known health condition, takes any medication, is pregnant or nursing, or is very young, check with your vet before starting any supplement.
How Nutraquin+ differs from MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max
These are two different products with different formulas. Neither is a substitute for veterinary care, and we are not saying one is better. This is simply a way to see what each one offers.
Both contain glucosamine, chondroitin, Boswellia, vitamin C and zinc. The differences are these:
- Format. Nutraquin+ is a capsule that can be opened onto food. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew.
- Extra joint ingredients. MedPaw also lists MSM, green-lipped mussel and hyaluronic acid. Nutraquin+ does not list these. MedPaw's Boswellia is Boswellia serrata.
- Omega-3. MedPaw includes omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed. Nutraquin+ does not list omega-3.
- Vitamins. MedPaw includes vitamins C and E, plus zinc. Nutraquin+ lists vitamin C and zinc.
- Guarantee. MedPaw has a 60-day money-back guarantee. No guarantee is stated for Nutraquin+ in the information available.
- Subscription. MedPaw offers Subscribe & Save.
For MedPaw, the feeding guide is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg and 2-3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks. We recommend 2-3 months of daily use. It is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine, and it is a complementary feed.
Some owners prefer a capsule they can hide in a meal. Others like a chew that can simply be handed over as a treat. The better choice is the one your dog will take reliably, that suits your budget, and that your vet is happy for your dog to have.
Everyday steps that matter as much as any supplement
Supplements are only one part of looking after a dog with stiff joints. These general points are widely accepted, and your vet can tailor them to your dog:
- Keep your dog at a healthy weight. Extra weight puts more load on joints, so ask your vet for a target weight.
- Keep exercise regular and gentle rather than occasional and intense.
- Make the home easier. Non-slip flooring, a supportive bed, and ramps or steps where jumping is hard all help.
- Introduce one supplement at a time and note the start date, so you can track changes in comfort or digestion.
- Take a short video of your dog getting up and walking, and show it to your vet.
When to see a vet
A supplement is a complementary feed. It does not diagnose, and it is not a replacement for professional advice. Use this as a rough guide to how quickly to act.
How quickly to speak to your vet
Before starting any supplement
Check first if your dog takes medication, is pregnant or nursing, is very young, has a known health condition or has any allergy, including shellfish.
Book an appointment promptly
Limping, yelping, struggling to rise, reluctance to jump, use stairs or walk, stiffness that is getting worse, or changes in appetite, energy, mood or toileting.
Call your vet straight away
Sudden lameness, a leg held up, swelling, heat in a joint, a dog that will not bear weight, signs of significant pain, or snapping when touched.
If digestive upset follows starting any supplement, stop it and call your vet. And please never change, reduce or stop a prescribed medication because of a supplement.
Choosing what suits your dog and your budget
Nutraquin+ is now sold as Nutraquin, so search under both names. It is a capsule containing glucosamine, chondroitin, Boswellia, vitamin C and zinc. The cheapest option is not the lowest pack price but the lowest cost per day at your dog's weight, including any loading phase, with a clear idea of what the seller will do if your dog will not take it.
The manufacturer's speed claims are claims only, and results vary from dog to dog. If you would like a chew rather than a capsule, or a formula that also includes MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and omega-3, MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is there as an alternative, with a 60-day money-back guarantee. Whichever you choose, let your vet lead on diagnosis and on any decisions about your dog's care.
Where is the cheapest place to buy Nutraquin+ in the UK?
Prices change often, so the cheapest seller can differ from week to week. The most useful comparison is cost per day rather than pack price: divide the pack price by the number of days it lasts at your dog's weight, including any loading phase. Check both names when you search, as the product is now listed as Nutraquin (formerly Nutraquin+).
Is Nutraquin the same as Nutraquin+?
According to the manufacturer's listing, the product is now sold as Nutraquin (formerly Nutraquin+). Different sellers may use either name, so search for both and check the pack size and ingredients before you compare prices. That way you know you are comparing like with like.
How do I work out the real daily cost of Nutraquin+?
Divide the number of capsules in the pack by the number your dog needs each day, using the manufacturer's weight-based chart, to see how many days it lasts. Then divide the pack price by that number of days. Remember the loading phase uses more capsules at the start, so the first month costs more than the long-term daily amount.
What is the difference between Nutraquin+ and MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max?
Nutraquin+ is a capsule containing glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia, plus vitamin C and zinc. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew that also lists MSM, green-lipped mussel and hyaluronic acid, with omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed. MedPaw has a 60-day money-back guarantee, whereas no guarantee is stated for Nutraquin+ in the information available.
How many MedPaw chews would a 20kg dog have each day?
A 20kg dog is in the 18kg and over band, which is 2-3 chews a day on the printed label, doubled for the first three weeks. Each tub holds 60 chews, so the length of time a tub lasts depends on whether you give 2 or 3 chews, and it will run out sooner during the first three weeks. We suggest 2-3 months of daily use to see how your dog gets on.
Can I give Nutraquin+ if my dog has a shellfish allergy or takes medication?
The manufacturer states that Nutraquin uses squid and shellfish-derived ingredients, so please speak to your vet first if your dog has a known allergy. The same applies if your dog takes any medication or has a health condition. A supplement is a complementary feed and should never replace or change veterinary treatment.


