If you have typed "ArthriAid alternatives" into a search bar, you may have found a product that turned out not to be for dogs at all. ArthriAid is sold as an equine joint supplement, made for horses, and that catches out some dog owners. It is an easy mistake to make when a stiff old dog is slowing down and you just want to help.
This guide explains what ArthriAid is, why a horse product is not a shortcut for dogs, and what to look for in a supplement made for dogs. We also compare the main dog options fairly. MedPaw is our own product, so we will be clear about which details are ours and which belong to other brands.
Throughout, your vet stays in the picture. A supplement can support your dog's joints as part of a wider routine, but it never replaces a diagnosis.
Made for dogs: how the main UK joint supplements compare
Because ArthriAid is a horse product, the useful question is which supplement made for dogs is worth considering instead. The table below compares six dog options on the six key joint actives, plus format and guarantee, so you can see what each one contains.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is our own product, so we have kept the comparison to what each formula lists.
UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the quickest way to read it. MedPaw lists all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It is the only one of the six to do so. NutraPaw lists four, YuMOVE and Nutraquin+ three each, and Seraquin and Synoquin EFA two each.
If you were drawn to ArthriAid because its ingredient list looked familiar, that breadth is worth noticing. Glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM and hyaluronic acid are the names you recognised, and MedPaw adds green-lipped mussel and Boswellia, with omega-3 from mussel and flax seed, in one formula made for dogs.
MedPaw is a daily soft chew with feeding amounts set by your dog's weight, and it comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee. It is a complementary feed that supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside your vet's advice, never in place of it.
Meet MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max See the full ingredients and weight-based feeding guide for MedPaw's daily soft chew, made for dogs and backed by a 60-day guarantee.
What ArthriAid is, and who it is made for
ArthriAid is a joint supplement for horses, sold as a one-litre liquid and as a powder. There is also an "Extra Strength HA" version with a higher hyaluronic acid level. The published ingredient lists include glucosamine, chondroitin sulphate, MSM, vitamin C, manganese and sodium hyaluronate.
If those names sound familiar, that is because many dog joint supplements use similar ingredients. Glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM and hyaluronic acid appear across species, and that overlap is exactly why the confusion happens.
But a shared ingredient name does not make a product suitable for a dog. The amounts in ArthriAid are scaled for an adult horse of around 500kg, and the feeding guidance is written for an animal that size. Nothing in it tells you what is safe, or sensible, for a Labrador, a Cockapoo or a Chihuahua.
Why horse doses never translate to dogs
It is tempting to think a smaller dog simply needs a smaller scoop. In practice it does not work that way, and there are a few good reasons to leave horse products well alone.
Dosing is built around the species
Supplement doses are designed around a particular animal's body weight, digestion and metabolism. A horse and a dog process food and supplements differently, so a figure that suits one cannot simply be divided down to suit the other. Please never try to work out a "dog portion" from a horse product.
The format is not made for dogs
A litre of liquid or a tub of powder meant for a horse's feed bucket has not been developed with a dog's taste, bowl or daily routine in mind. Other ingredients in the product, such as the optional pre- and probiotics in one version, are also chosen with the horse in mind.
The label guidance will not match your dog
A dog supplement label tells you how much to give by weight band, how long to use it and what to do if your dog has other needs. A horse label cannot do that. If you are ever unsure, your vet or the maker of a dog product can advise you.
The simple rule is to give your dog only products made, labelled and dosed for dogs. If a horse supplement is kept at home, store it well out of reach.
What to look for in a dog joint supplement
Once you know you need a dog-specific product, the next question is how to choose between them. Labels can look very similar at first glance, so it helps to know what actually differs.
A simple label check before you buy any dog joint supplement
| What to check | Why it matters | Who can help |
|---|---|---|
| Made for dogs | Dosing and formulation are designed around dogs, not other species | The label, or the manufacturer |
| Ingredient list | Products differ in which joint ingredients they include | You, reading the label |
| Format | Chews, tablets and capsules suit different dogs and routines | You, based on your dog's habits |
| Possible allergens | Marine ingredients may not suit dogs with shellfish or fish sensitivities | Your vet |
| Guarantee length | Joint supplements are usually given for a couple of months | The manufacturer's published terms |
| Other products and medicines | Avoids doubling up and unwanted interactions | Your vet |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
Ingredient mix
Joint supplements are not all the same. Some include chondroitin and some do not. Some add MSM, hyaluronic acid, green-lipped mussel, Boswellia, turmeric, collagen or marine oils. Reading the label, rather than assuming every product matches, is the single most useful habit here.
Format
Some dogs happily eat a tablet tucked into a bit of cheese. Others spit it out within seconds. A soft chew often suits fussy eaters, while some owners prefer a capsule or tablet they can hide in food. There is no right answer, only what your dog will take reliably every day.
Consistency
Joint supplements are generally given daily over weeks and months, not as a one-off. A product your dog accepts easily is more likely to be given every day, and that steady routine gives it a fair chance to support your dog's joints.
How the main dog options differ
Below is a plain summary of what each manufacturer publishes, as of September 2026. It is not a ranking. Which one suits your dog depends on your dog, any medication they take and your vet's advice.
- NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet. It lists glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen, with omega-3 from the mussel and manganese. It does not list chondroitin or Boswellia. It comes with a 90-day guarantee.
- YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet. It lists glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with chondroitin only via the mussel, plus vitamins C and E and manganese. It does not list MSM, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. It has a 6-week guarantee.
- Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet. It lists glucosamine, chondroitin and turmeric. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, omega-3 or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.
- Synoquin EFA comes as a tablet or capsule. It lists glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil, plus vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.
- Nutraquin+ is a capsule. It lists glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia, plus vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, omega-3, turmeric or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.
Each of these has a different formula, so it is worth looking at the differences rather than treating them as interchangeable. Guarantees range from 6 weeks to 90 days, and some are not stated at all. Joint supplements are usually given for a couple of months, so it makes sense to check that any guarantee covers a realistic trial period.
Where MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max fits
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed for dogs. It is designed to support your dog's joints as part of their daily routine, alongside veterinary care.
The key joint ingredients are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.
Feeding guide
- 1 chew a day for dogs up to 4kg
- 2 chews a day for dogs weighing 5 to 17kg
- 2 to 3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over
- The amount is doubled for the first three weeks
- Daily use for 2 to 3 months is recommended
There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you would like regular deliveries. As with any supplement, if your dog has a shellfish or fish sensitivity, check the label and ask your vet first.
Avoid doubling up
The ArthriAid information carries a sensible warning: do not add a separate glucosamine supplement on top, to avoid doubling up. The same thinking applies to dogs.
It is easy to layer products without meaning to. A joint supplement, a joint-support diet and a fish oil can all contain overlapping ingredients. If your dog already has one of these, check the total intake with your vet before adding another.
Tell your vet about every supplement your dog takes. This matters most if your dog is on prescribed medication or has other health conditions.
Everyday things that help your dog's joints
A supplement is one piece of a bigger picture. Some of the most useful things you can do cost nothing at all.
- Keep your dog lean. Extra weight puts more load on the joints. Your vet or vet nurse can suggest a target weight and a feeding plan.
- Keep exercise steady and low impact. Short, regular walks usually suit stiff or older dogs better than the occasional long outing or intense bursts of play. Swimming or controlled lead walks suit some dogs, subject to your vet's advice.
- Make the home easier. Non-slip rugs on hard floors, a supportive orthopaedic bed and ramps for the car and sofa all take strain off tired joints.
- Keep nails trimmed. Long nails can change how a dog stands and walks.
- Keep a simple diary. Note how your dog gets up, climbs stairs and walks. Short phone videos make vet conversations much easier.
When you start a supplement, follow the feeding guide, including the first three weeks if there is a loading period, and allow a couple of months of consistent use before judging how your dog is getting on.
When to see a vet
Joint changes can look like normal ageing, but they can also point to something that needs a proper diagnosis. Joint problems are not limited to older dogs either, so puppies and young dogs with an unusual gait, bunny hopping or reluctance to exercise should be checked too.
How quickly to speak to your vet
Slowing down gradually
Shorter walks, less play or a little slowness on getting up. Mention it at your next check-up and start your diary.
Clear changes in movement
Limping, stiffness after rest, reluctance to jump or climb stairs, licking a joint, muscle loss in the thighs, or changes in behaviour. Book a vet appointment.
Sudden or severe signs
Sudden severe lameness, a dog that will not put weight on a limb, a hot or swollen joint, yelping in pain, or any collapse. Seek urgent veterinary attention.
Yelping or flinching when touched, restlessness at night and withdrawing from play can all be signs of discomfort. They are worth raising with your vet even if they seem small.
Bringing it together
ArthriAid is a perfectly reasonable product for what it is, a supplement for horses. It is just not one to share with your dog, however similar the ingredient names look. Dogs need a product made, labelled and dosed for dogs.
When you compare dog options, read the ingredient list, think about the format your dog will actually take, and check how long the guarantee runs. Keep the routine simple and consistent, and tell your vet what your dog is taking. A supplement sits alongside good care, weight management, sensible exercise and a comfortable home, and it never replaces your vet's advice.
Is ArthriAid suitable for dogs?
ArthriAid is sold as a joint supplement for horses, with amounts and feeding guidance written for an adult horse of around 500kg. It is not made, labelled or dosed for dogs, so it is best not to give it to your dog. If you are unsure about anything your dog has eaten, speak to your vet.
Can I give my dog a smaller amount of a horse joint supplement?
Working out a dog portion from a horse product is not something we would suggest. Doses are built around a particular species' body weight, digestion and metabolism, so a figure cannot simply be divided down. A product made and labelled for dogs, with a feeding guide by weight band, is the safer choice, and your vet can advise.
What should I look for in a dog joint supplement instead?
Start by checking it is made for dogs, then read the ingredient list, as products differ in which joint ingredients they include. Think about the format your dog will take every day, whether that is a chew, tablet or capsule, and check how long the guarantee runs. If your dog has shellfish or fish sensitivities, or takes any medication, ask your vet before starting.
How many MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max does a 20kg dog have?
On the printed label, dogs of 18kg and over have 2 to 3 chews a day, and the amount is doubled for the first three weeks. Daily use for 2 to 3 months is recommended. Your vet can help you decide where in the range your dog sits.
How long does it take to see whether a joint supplement is suiting my dog?
Joint supplements are generally given daily over weeks and months rather than as a one-off. With MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, the label recommends 2 to 3 months of daily use, and there is a 60-day money-back guarantee. A simple diary or short phone videos of how your dog gets up and walks can make progress easier to talk through with your vet.
Can I give my dog more than one joint supplement at once?
It is easy to double up without meaning to, as a joint supplement, a joint-support diet and a fish oil can contain overlapping ingredients. Tell your vet about everything your dog takes, especially if they are on prescribed medication or have other health conditions. A supplement sits alongside veterinary care and never replaces it.


