If you are searching for a Dorwest alternative, the chances are your dog is already on a herbal joint tablet, or you are weighing one up. Perhaps the tablets are big and your dog spits them out. Perhaps the first pack ran out sooner than you expected. Perhaps you simply want to see what else is out there before you commit.
This guide is here to help you compare calmly and fairly. Herbal joint tablets have plenty of happy owners, and if your dog takes a tablet easily and is doing well, there is no need to change. But if something is not working for you or your dog, it helps to know what to look at.
We make MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, so you should know where we stand. We will be clear about which details are ours, we will stick to what manufacturers publish about their own products, and we will keep your vet at the centre of any decision about a stiff or sore dog.
Dorwest alternatives, compared on what is actually in them
Switching supplements is easier when you know what to look for. Below is a table of five popular UK joint supplements, set against MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, which is our own product. It covers the key joint actives, the format and the guarantee.
The first row is the quickest way in. It counts how many of six key joint actives each product lists: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata.
MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the main takeaway. MedPaw is the only product in the table with all six key joint actives, scoring 6 of 6. NutraPaw lists 4, YuMOVE and Nutraquin+ list 3, and Seraquin and Synoquin EFA list 2. If you are comparing formulas before you switch, that gap shows how much one product can differ from another.
The format row matters too. If your dog has been turning their nose up at their current supplement, a daily soft chew can make the routine easier. MedPaw also adds omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, plus vitamins C and E and zinc, to support joints, mobility and comfort alongside your vet's care.
Giving it a try carries little risk. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you want to keep your dog on a steady routine. We suggest 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results.
Explore MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max See the full ingredient list and feeding guide for the soft chew that brings all six key joint actives together.
Why owners look for an alternative
The reasons are usually practical rather than dramatic. Most come down to four things.
Tablet size and texture
Large, hard tablets can be difficult to split or crush, and some dogs simply refuse them. Many owners try hiding them in a little food, which works for a while and then stops. Small dogs can be a particular challenge, because a tablet that suits a Labrador can feel enormous to a Chihuahua.
Dose and pack length
Some supplements recommend a higher starting dose for the first few weeks. That is perfectly reasonable, but it means the first pack runs out faster than you might expect. Check the feeding guide before you buy, so there are no surprises.
Guarantee terms
Owners want to know what happens if their dog will not take the product, or if they are not happy with it. Terms vary between brands, and they can depend on details such as whether the pack has been opened. Some brands do not state a guarantee at all.
Ingredient differences
Many owners like to compare which joint ingredients are included, and whether the amounts are shown clearly on the label. Two products that sound similar can have quite different formulas, so reading the label matters more than relying on the name.
Do you actually need to change?
Honestly, not always. If your dog takes their current supplement happily every day, moves comfortably and your vet is pleased with how they are doing, there is no need to switch for the sake of it. Consistency is one of the most useful things you can give a joint supplement.
It is also sensible to be cautious about company-wide satisfaction scores. A big brand's rating may cover many different products rather than just its joint range, and it may reflect service and delivery as much as the product itself. That tells you about the experience of buying, not about how well one particular joint product suits your dog.
Good reasons to look around include a dog that refuses the tablets, a format that turns daily dosing into a battle, a guarantee that does not feel fair, or a wish to compare ingredient lists. Those are practical problems, and they have practical solutions.
What to compare when choosing a joint supplement
Whichever brand you are considering, the same checklist applies. These are the points that tend to matter most in everyday life.
- Format. Tablet, capsule, chewable tablet or soft chew. Choose what your dog will reliably take every day, because a perfect formula that ends up in the bin helps nobody.
- Key joint ingredients. Common ones include glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. Some products add omega-3, turmeric, collagen, vitamins or minerals.
- Amounts on the label. A clear amount per serving makes products far easier to compare.
- Feeding guide by weight. Check how many servings your dog needs and whether there is a higher starting dose.
- Guarantee. Look at how long it lasts, whether you can claim on an opened pack, and whether you have to send anything back.
- Flexibility. If you are buying on subscription, check whether it can be paused or cancelled easily.
- Fit with your dog's health. Allergies, medication or other health issues need a conversation with your vet first.
A quick label-reading checklist for any joint supplement
| What to check | Why it matters | What to look for |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Your dog has to take it every day | A shape and texture your dog accepts without a fuss |
| Ingredient list | Formulas differ more than names suggest | The joint ingredients you want, listed clearly |
| Amounts per serving | Makes fair comparison possible | Stated amounts rather than just a list of names |
| Feeding guide | Dose depends on your dog's weight | A clear weight band and any starting dose |
| Guarantee | Joint supplements need weeks of daily use | A period long enough to give a fair trial |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
How formats and formulas differ
The details below come from each manufacturer's published information as of September 2026. Labels change, so please check the current pack before you buy.
NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet. It lists glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen, with omega-3 from the mussel and manganese. It does not list chondroitin or Boswellia, and it carries a 90-day guarantee.
YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is also a tablet. It lists glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with chondroitin only via the mussel, plus vitamins C and E and manganese. It does not list MSM, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen, and it has a 6-week guarantee.
Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet containing glucosamine, chondroitin and turmeric. Synoquin EFA comes as a tablet or capsule and contains glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil, plus vitamin C and zinc. Nutraquin+ is a capsule containing glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia, plus vitamin C and zinc. None of these three states a guarantee in its published information.
Two things stand out. First, similar-sounding products are not interchangeable, so it pays to read labels rather than assume. Second, guarantee lengths in this group run from 6 weeks to 90 days, with some not stated. That matters, because a joint supplement needs weeks of steady daily use before you can fairly judge it. A guarantee that ends before you have had a proper chance to see a difference is less useful than it first appears.
Format is the other big difference. Chewable tablets and soft chews are generally easier for fussy dogs than hard tablets, though every dog is different.
How to switch safely
If you decide to change, a few simple habits make the process smoother and help you see what suits your dog.
- Swap, do not stack. Avoid giving two joint supplements at once. Overlapping ingredients make it harder to judge what is helping, and you could end up doubling up on some actives.
- Work out the dose from your dog's current weight. Use the feeding guide on the new pack, not the old one.
- Talk to your vet first if your dog takes medication or has a health condition. They can check that the new product suits your dog's diet and any other treatment.
- Keep a simple diary. Note how easily your dog gets up, how they manage stairs or the car, how long they walk and whether they still want to play.
A short video every couple of weeks is a surprisingly useful addition. Gradual changes are hard to spot when you see your dog every day, and a clip from a few weeks ago makes the comparison much easier. It is handy to show your vet, too.
If your dog struggles with tablets
Ask your vet or pharmacist whether a tablet can be split or crushed before you try it, as not every product is designed for that. Some owners hide tablets in a small amount of food, but check that the food is safe for your dog and fits any dietary restrictions. You could also consider a soft chew or chewable format that your dog accepts like a treat, so daily dosing stops being a daily negotiation.
Giving it a fair trial
Joint supplements are not quick fixes. They are given daily to support joint health and mobility, and they suit a steady routine better than a short experiment.
For MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, we recommend 2-3 months of daily use before judging results. Other brands set their own timelines, so check the pack for theirs. Whichever you choose, try not to change several things at once. If you alter the diet, the exercise level and the supplement in the same fortnight, you will not know what made the difference.
Everyday habits that sit alongside any supplement
A supplement is one piece of the picture. Some of the most helpful things for a stiff dog cost very little and have nothing to do with the tub on the shelf.
- Healthy weight. Extra weight puts more load on joints. Your vet can help set a sensible target and a plan to reach it.
- Regular, moderate exercise. Short, steady walks usually suit stiff dogs better than occasional long ones.
- A joint-friendly home. Non-slip flooring, a supportive bed, and ramps or steps for sofas and cars all ease daily strain.
- Gentle warm-ups. Let your dog loosen up after rest, and avoid repeated ball-chasing or sudden twisting.
Questions to ask your vet
A vet appointment is a good moment to ask a few direct questions:
- Is my dog at a healthy weight, and what should they weigh?
- Would pain relief be appropriate for my dog?
- Is there anything in my dog's diet or routine that could be adjusted to keep them comfortable?
- Is this supplement suitable alongside my dog's other medicines and diet?
When to see your vet
A supplement is never a substitute for a diagnosis. If you are unsure whether what you are seeing is normal stiffness or something that needs attention, it is always fine to ask. Book an appointment if:
- Your dog is still stiff or sore after a fair trial of any supplement.
- Stiffness or limping appears suddenly, or a limp lasts more than a day or two.
- They are reluctant to walk, climb stairs, jump or get up, or struggle to settle.
- They cry out, yelp, lick or chew at a joint, or resist being touched.
- You can see swelling, heat or a joint that looks out of shape.
- A young dog or puppy shows lameness or an unusual gait, as this needs prompt assessment.
- Their appetite, energy or mood changes, or they are losing weight or becoming withdrawn.
- They take medication, are pregnant or have other health conditions, before you add any supplement.
How quickly to involve your vet
Mild morning stiffness that eases
Mention it at your next routine check. Keep a diary and a few short videos so you can show how things change over time.
Slowing down, reluctance on stairs, or no improvement after a fair trial
Book an appointment. Your vet can check your dog, discuss weight and pain relief, and advise on supplements.
Sudden severe limping, crying out, unable to stand or collapse
Contact your vet straight away. These signs need immediate veterinary attention.
About MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max
Since you are comparing options, here is a plain summary of ours. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed for dogs. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata.
It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine. Compared with the products above, what sets it apart on paper is having all six joint actives in a soft chew. Whether it suits your dog is a different question, and your vet is the right person to help with that.
The feeding guide is 1 chew a day for dogs up to 4kg, 2 chews for 5-17kg, and 2-3 chews for dogs of 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks. We recommend 2-3 months of daily use so your dog has a fair trial.
There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you would like regular deliveries. A soft chew will not be right for every dog, and some dogs do very well on the supplement they already have. If tablets are the sticking point, though, a chew your dog takes like a treat can make the daily routine much easier to keep going.
What is a good Dorwest alternative if my dog will not take tablets?
A soft chew or chewable format is often easier for fussy dogs, though every dog is different. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed that combines glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet, so it is another format to consider. If your dog is stiff or reluctant to move, please speak to your vet as well.
How many MedPaw chews does a 20kg dog need, and how long does a tub last?
The label says 2-3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks. A tub holds 60 chews, so at 2 a day it lasts 30 days and at 3 a day it lasts 20 days. During the doubled first three weeks, 4 chews a day lasts 15 days and 6 a day lasts 10 days. Check the pack for the exact amount for your dog.
Do I need to switch away from Dorwest if my dog is doing well?
Not necessarily. If your dog takes their supplement happily every day, moves comfortably and your vet is pleased with how they are doing, there is no need to change for the sake of it. Good reasons to look around are a dog that refuses the tablets, a daily routine that has become a battle, a guarantee that does not feel fair, or a wish to compare ingredient lists. For Dorwest's current details, check the manufacturer's own UK product page.
Which Dorwest alternatives list chondroitin?
From each manufacturer's published information in September 2026, MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, Seraquin Joint, Synoquin EFA and Nutraquin+ list chondroitin. YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max has chondroitin only via the green-lipped mussel. NutraPaw Joint Support does not list it. Labels change, so check the current pack before you buy.
Can I give two joint supplements at once while I switch?
It is better to swap than to stack. Overlapping ingredients make it harder to judge what suits your dog, and you could end up doubling up on some actives. Work out the dose from your dog's current weight using the new pack's feeding guide. If your dog takes medication or has a health condition, talk to your vet first.
How long should I give a new joint supplement before deciding if it suits my dog?
Joint supplements are given daily to support joint health and mobility, so they need a steady routine rather than a short experiment. For MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max we recommend 2-3 months of daily use, and other brands set their own timelines. Try not to change diet, exercise and supplement all at once, and keep a short diary or video clips. If your dog is still stiff or sore after a fair trial, book a vet appointment.


