‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
Flexadin dosage guide: how much to give by weight
Share this article

Flexadin dosage guide: how much to give by weight

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Flexadin comparison

Is Flexadin right for your dog? See how it compares in 30 seconds

Tap your dog's size to see how Flexadin compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how Flexadin compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    Flexadin dosage guide: how much to give by weight

    If you have just picked up a pack of Flexadin, the first question is usually a simple one: how many chews does my dog actually need each day? The answer depends on which version you are holding, because Flexadin Advanced and Flexadin Plus are not fed in the same way.

    This guide sets out what the published sources say about Flexadin dosage for dogs, and we are upfront about the gaps. Where the sources do not give a number, we have not made one up. For anything not covered here, the current pack label is your best guide, and your vet is the best person to ask.

    Flexadin is a supplement, not a medicine. It is there to support joint health alongside veterinary advice, a healthy weight and sensible exercise, not to replace any of them.

    Checking Flexadin dosage? Compare the joint actives too

    Once you know how many chews to give, the next useful question is what is in each one. The table below sets MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, our own product, against five other UK joint supplements. It opens with a score for the six key joint actives.

    Flexadin is not one of the five in the table, so we have not guessed at its formula. Use the score row as a ruler instead. Read the list of actives on your Flexadin pack and count how many of the six it declares.

    Key joint actives in the UK's leading dog joint supplements

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    MedPaw is the only product in the table with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The next highest, NutraPaw, lists four and has no chondroitin or Boswellia. When you are working out a daily amount, that range in one soft chew is worth weighing up.

    For a 20kg dog, the MedPaw label says 2-3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks. It also recommends 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results. MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care, and it comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save.

    Explore MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max See the full MedPaw formula and feeding guide to decide whether one soft chew with all six key actives suits your dog's routine.

    First, check which Flexadin you have

    The sources cover two versions: Flexadin Advanced and Flexadin Plus. They have different formulas and different feeding approaches, so please never apply the dose for one to the other.

    Look at the front of the pack before you follow any dosing advice. If you bought it a while ago, or from a different retailer, check again, as formulas and pack designs can change. One of the sources is also US-facing, so the UK pack in your hand always has the final word.

    Flexadin Advanced dosage

    According to the source, Flexadin Advanced is a soft, chicken-flavoured chew given once a day. The interesting part is that the daily amount does not change with your dog's size.

    Flexadin Advanced feeding details, as stated by the source

    Detail What the source states Worth knowing
    Daily amount 1 chew a day Same for every dog
    Does weight change the dose? No The manufacturer links this to its "scientific mode of action"
    Loading phase None Start with 1 chew a day from day one
    Suitable for All sized dogs Check the current label to confirm
    How to give As a treat or mixed with food Choose whichever suits your dog

    For guidance only, not a diagnosis.

    The source does not explain why body size does not change the amount, so we will not guess. If you are unsure whether a flat dose suits a very small or very large dog, a quick call to your vet practice is a sensible step.

    Flexadin Plus dosage

    Flexadin Plus is sold in two formats split by weight: one for dogs under 10kg and one for dogs over 10kg. One source calls them "Mini" and "Maxi". Bags come in 30 or 90 chews, and the US-facing source mentions 90-count bags for both sizes.

    Here is the important gap: the sources do not state how many chews a day each size needs, and they do not say whether there is a loading phase. We would rather tell you that plainly than give you a number that might be wrong.

    Here is what to do instead:

    1. Pick the format that matches your dog's current weight, under or over 10kg.
    2. Follow the feeding table printed on the current pack.
    3. If the label is unclear, ask your vet or the retailer.

    If your dog sits close to 10kg, ask your vet which format suits them best. Flexadin Plus is also marketed for cats, but the dog guidance here should not be applied to cats. Cat owners should check with their vet.

    How to give the chews

    The sources say both versions can be given straight from the hand as a treat or mixed into food. Flexadin Plus is described as highly palatable and easy to swallow.

    Flexadin Advanced is described as a soft, chicken-flavoured chew, which tends to make it easy to offer. How much your own dog enjoys it will vary, and taste says nothing about joint outcomes, so keep your expectations realistic and watch how your dog takes to it.

    • As a treat: handy if you like a set moment in the day, such as after the morning walk.
    • Mixed into food: useful for fussy eaters, or if you simply want the chew eaten without any fuss.
    • Same time each day: a routine makes it much easier to remember.

    What is in each version

    These details come from the research sources. Formulas differ between products and markets, so read the full ingredient list on your own pack, particularly if your dog has any known sensitivities.

    Flexadin Advanced

    The source lists a chicken liver powder base with oat flour, rye flour, brewer's yeast and glycerin. It also lists flaxseed oil and fish oil, both described as sources of omega-3, plus pectin, sucrose, maltodextrin and calcium sulphate dihydrate.

    The joint-focused parts of the formula include chicken cartilage powder at 1.49%, which contains total collagen powder at 0.37% and undenatured Type II collagen at 0.045%. The source says the chew carries a "COL2V" quality mark, which the manufacturer says shows the collagen is of the right quantity and quality to help maintain joint mobility.

    The additives listed include olibanum extract from Boswellia serrata (listed as a flavouring compound) and vitamin E, which the manufacturer describes as an antioxidant that helps maintain joint health. Gum arabic and sodium alginate are listed as thickeners and gelling agents, and sorbic acid as a preservative.

    One point catches people out. The ingredient list in the source does not show glucosamine or chondroitin within the chew itself. The source says these are understood to be well tolerated alongside Flexadin Advanced, but if you are thinking of adding another supplement, please speak to your vet first.

    Flexadin Plus

    The sources mention glucosamine, omega-3, vitamin E and devil's claw (Harpagophytum procumbens). Other ingredients mentioned are powdered chicken liver, brewer's yeast, maltodextrin, pectin, dehydrated calcium sulphate and soy oil.

    The US-facing source describes the product as glucosamine plus seven other joint support ingredients, but does not list them in the text we have. The sources also do not fully agree on the ingredient list. That is a good reason to rely on the label of the pack you are actually buying.

    Practical tips for getting the dose right

    Do not double up

    If your dog seems stiffer one day, it is tempting to give an extra chew. Please resist. Stick to the amount on the label, and speak to your vet if you feel your dog needs more help.

    Weigh your dog

    For Flexadin Plus, the 10kg cut-off decides which format to buy. You can weigh yourself on bathroom scales, then weigh yourself holding your dog and subtract. Or ask your vet practice about a quick weigh-in.

    Count the chew in the daily diet

    Chews add a few calories, so take this into account if your dog is on a weight plan. Keeping a dog lean is one of the most useful things an owner can do for ageing or sore joints, and your vet can help you set a target weight.

    Check for ingredients that may not suit your dog

    Flexadin Advanced contains chicken, fish oil, oat and rye, which are gluten-containing cereals. Flexadin Plus lists chicken liver, brewer's yeast and soy oil. If your dog has a known food sensitivity, check the full label against what they can eat, ideally with your vet.

    Be consistent and patient

    Joint supplements are a long-term daily routine rather than a one-off. The sources give no timeframe for results, so we will not promise one. Daily consistency, alongside the rest of your dog's care, is what counts.

    Talk to your vet before starting or combining products

    This matters most if your dog:

    • Is on any medication, including pain relief or anti-inflammatories
    • Is pregnant, nursing or very young
    • Has a health condition or is on a prescription diet
    • Already takes another joint supplement or an omega-3 product

    Keep the rest of the plan going

    A supplement works best as one part of a bigger picture: a healthy weight, regular low-impact exercise, non-slip flooring, a supportive bed, and ramps or steps where they help.

    When to see your vet

    A supplement is not a diagnosis, and it should not delay a vet visit. Ideally, speak to your vet before starting any new joint product, and certainly if you notice any of the signs below.

    How quickly to seek veterinary advice

    Low

    Slowing down a little

    Lagging behind on walks, tiring sooner than usual, or less keen on things they used to enjoy. Mention it at your next vet visit, or book one if it continues.

    Watch

    Stiffness or reluctance

    Stiffness after rest, trouble getting up, hesitating at stairs or the car, favouring a leg, or licking and guarding a joint. Book a vet appointment.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe signs

    Sudden or severe lameness, not putting weight on a leg, yelping when touched, or a hot, swollen or misshapen joint. Contact your vet promptly.

    Also contact your vet if your dog has vomiting, diarrhoea, itching or any unusual reaction after starting a new chew. Stop the product and ask for advice. A dog showing signs of joint discomfort may need an examination, possibly x-rays, and a plan that only a vet can put together.

    A note for readers comparing feeding approaches

    If you are weighing up different joint chews, it helps to remember that each product has its own formula and feeding guide. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed, with weight-based amounts: 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg, and 2-3 for 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and 2-3 months of daily use is recommended.

    That is quite different from the flat one-chew-a-day approach the source gives for Flexadin Advanced. None of MedPaw's ingredients or feeding details apply to Flexadin, and none of Flexadin's apply to MedPaw. Always follow the guidance on the pack you are using.

    Key takeaways

    • Flexadin Advanced: the source says 1 chew a day whatever the dog's weight, with no loading phase.
    • Flexadin Plus: two formats split at 10kg, with the daily number of chews to be taken from the current pack.
    • Both can be given as a treat or mixed with food.
    • Check the label for allergens, especially chicken, fish, cereals and soy.
    • A supplement supports joints alongside weight control, exercise and veterinary care.
    • Any limping, pain or sudden change in mobility is worth a visit to your vet.
    How many Flexadin chews should I give my dog each day?

    It depends on which version you have. The source we used says Flexadin Advanced is one chew a day whatever your dog's weight, with no loading phase. For Flexadin Plus, the sources do not state the daily number of chews, so follow the feeding table on the pack in your hand and ask your vet if anything is unclear.

    Does my dog's weight change the Flexadin dose?

    For Flexadin Advanced, the source says weight does not change the amount, so it is one chew a day for all sized dogs. Flexadin Plus is sold in two formats split at 10kg, one for dogs under 10kg and one for dogs over 10kg. If your dog is close to 10kg, your vet can help you choose the right format.

    Is there a loading phase with Flexadin?

    The source states there is no loading phase for Flexadin Advanced, so you start with one chew a day from day one. The sources do not say whether Flexadin Plus has one, so check the current pack label. Please do not double the amount unless the label tells you to.

    Can I give my dog an extra Flexadin chew if they seem stiff?

    It is best not to. Stick to the amount on the label, as extra chews will not replace proper veterinary care. If your dog seems stiffer, limps or is reluctant to move, book a vet appointment so they can be examined.

    How does the MedPaw feeding guide differ from Flexadin?

    MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a complementary feed with weight-based amounts: 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg, and 2-3 for 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and 2-3 months of daily use is recommended. That differs from the flat one-chew approach the source gives for Flexadin Advanced, so always follow the label of the product you are using.

    Should I speak to my vet before starting Flexadin or another joint supplement?

    Yes, ideally before you start. This matters most if your dog takes medication, is pregnant, nursing or very young, has a health condition or is on a prescription diet, or already has another joint supplement. A supplement is there to support joints alongside weight control, exercise and veterinary advice, not to replace any of them.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.