‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
Johnson's 4Joints dosage guide: how much to give by weight
Share this article

Johnson's 4Joints dosage guide: how much to give by weight

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Johnson's 4Joints comparison

Thinking about Johnson's 4Joints for your dog?

Tap your dog's size to see how Johnson's 4Joints compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how Johnson's 4Joints compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    Johnson's 4Joints dosage guide: how much to give by weight

    If you have searched for Johnson's 4Joints dosage for dogs, you are probably standing in the kitchen with a tub or blister pack in one hand, looking at a stiff old dog with a worried heart. Wanting to know how much to give before you start is a very sensible question, and it is not always easy to answer from a quick online search.

    The honest picture is that online listings for the same product name do not always agree with each other, or with the box. This guide covers what the listings say about Johnson's 4Joints, why your own pack's label should have the final word, and how to think about dosing any joint supplement in a safe, practical way.

    A joint supplement is a complementary feed. It is there to support your dog's joints and mobility alongside veterinary care, not to replace a diagnosis. Where details belong to a particular product, we say so.

    Choosing a joint chew once you know your dog's dose

    Once you have worked out how much of Johnson's 4Joints your dog should have from the label on your own pack, the next question is what else is out there. The table below compares six well-known UK joint supplements by their key actives.

    MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is our product, so we have put it first and shown every row as it is.

    MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    Johnson's 4Joints is not one of the products in this table, so rely on its own label for its dose and ingredients. What the table does show is how much the declared actives vary between joint supplements. MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata.

    That matters when you are working out a daily amount. A dog of 18kg and over has 2 to 3 MedPaw chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, so a 20kg dog fits that band. Because it is a soft chew, many owners find that routine easy to keep up, and 2 to 3 months of daily use is recommended for optimal results.

    MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care. If you would like to try it, there is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you want the routine to run smoothly.

    See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max You can read the full feeding guide by weight and the ingredient list on the product page.

    What Johnson's 4Joints is, according to the listings

    The listings we looked at describe Johnson's 4Joints as a nutritional supplement aimed at joint flexibility and mobility, with older dogs mentioned in particular. The wording includes phrases such as "supports joint and cartilage function". That is how the manufacturer and retailers position it, and it is not a promise of what will happen for any individual dog. It is also described as an "extra strength" product.

    One listing says the range suits both cats and dogs, while another lists a dog-specific tablet. In one retailer listing, the dog version comes as a tablet, and the only pack size shown is 30 tablets.

    Ingredients named in the listings

    This is where the listings differ, which is a useful lesson in itself. One dog tablet listing names:

    • glucosamine hydrochloride
    • chondroitin sulphate (porcine)
    • green-lipped mussel powder (cooked)
    • vitamin C, vitamin E and vitamin B6

    It also describes the product as containing omega-3. A different listing names glucosamine, MSM, chondroitin sulphate (marine), green-lipped mussel, omega-3, brewer's yeast and yeast powder, vitamins C, B6 and E, DL-methionine, copper and manganese.

    Notice that one lists MSM and the other does not, and that the chondroitin source is described differently. The second listing also gives amounts "per 5ml" and uses the words tablets and capsules interchangeably, which suggests it blends details from more than one version. We have not quoted any per-tablet amounts here, because the figures in the listings cannot be reconciled.

    What the listings say about the dose

    The only specific dosing guidance we found was a retailer's answer to a customer question. A dog of nearly 12 years old, weighing just under 40kg, was advised to have 2 to 3 tablets a day, with 3 advised if possible, following the dosing table on the product label.

    The full weight-band table appeared as an image on the retailer page, so it was not available as text. That means we cannot tell you the dose for a 10kg terrier or a 25kg collie, and we would not want to guess. Your own pack has the table, and that is the one to follow.

    Why one customer's dose is not your dose

    One listing also mentions a customer who reportedly gives one tablet a day to a 12-year-old Labrador. That is one person's experience, not label guidance. You can see how a heavy dog on one tablet and a similar-sized dog on three might confuse an owner, which is exactly why the weight table on the pack matters.

    Weight is the main thing that drives the amount. A dose that suits a small dog will usually be too low for a large one, and the other way round. Weigh your dog if you have not done so recently, because the weight you remember from last year may not be the weight today.

    How long will a pack last?

    Dose and pack size together decide how often you will need to reorder, and this catches many owners out. A 30-tablet pack sounds like a month's supply, but at the top end of a weight-based dose it can be gone in under two weeks.

    How a 30-tablet pack stretches at different daily amounts (simple arithmetic, not a dosing guide)

    Tablets per day Days a 30-tablet pack lasts What it means for supply
    3 10 days Around three packs for a month of daily use
    2 15 days Around two packs for a month of daily use
    Half a tablet (illustration only) 60 days One pack lasts about eight weeks

    For guidance only, not a diagnosis. Always follow the weight table on your own pack.

    Before you buy, work out your dog's daily amount from the label, multiply it by the number of days in your planned trial, and see how many packs that needs. Running out is a common reason a supplement ends up being given inconsistently, and these products are designed for regular daily feeding.

    Principles that apply to any joint supplement

    Whichever product you choose, a few habits make dosing safer and more useful. These are general points, not specific to Johnson's 4Joints.

    • Follow the manufacturer's weight-based guide. Please do not scale the amount up or down on your own, even if your dog seems very stiff or only mildly so.
    • Check for a starting phase. Some products suggest a higher amount for the first few weeks, then a lower daily amount. Read whether yours does.
    • Allow time. Manufacturers commonly recommend several weeks to a few months of regular use before judging a product.
    • Avoid doubling up. Using more than one joint product at once can mean the same ingredient is given twice, so ask your vet before combining anything.
    • Store it safely. Many supplements taste good to dogs, so keep them well out of reach in case a whole pack gets eaten.

    Read the ingredients, not just the name

    Two products with similar names can contain quite different things. If your dog has a food intolerance or allergy, read the full ingredient list. Chondroitin can be porcine or marine in origin, and green-lipped mussel is a shellfish-derived ingredient. Many joint supplements contain it, including ours, so the same label-reading habit applies whichever you pick.

    Supplements and prescribed medication

    If your dog already takes something from the vet, such as an anti-inflammatory, you will naturally wonder whether a supplement can go alongside it. One retailer answer in the listings says a dog on a veterinary anti-inflammatory can take the tablets at the same time, but that the owner should always check with their vet before changing anything in the diet.

    That is sound advice for any supplement. Your vet knows your dog's history, other conditions and current medication, and can tell you whether a new addition suits. This matters especially if your dog has another health condition, is pregnant or nursing, or is very young.

    How a feeding guide can look on a different product

    It can help to see how a feeding guide is laid out on a different product, because the structure varies. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed for dogs. Its guide runs by weight band:

    • 1 chew a day for dogs up to 4kg
    • 2 chews a day for dogs from 5kg to 17kg
    • 2 to 3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over

    The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and we recommend daily use for 2 to 3 months. The key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata, with omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, plus vitamins C and E, and zinc. It comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.

    Other UK joint supplements come as tablets, chewable tablets or capsules, with different ingredient combinations and different guarantees. That is one more reason to compare what is on the label and the feeding guide, rather than relying on the product name alone.

    Keeping a simple diary over 8 to 12 weeks

    Joint comfort changes gradually, so small differences are easy to miss from one day to the next. A short diary gives you and your vet something concrete to look at together. It does not need to be elaborate. A note once a week is plenty.

    • How easily your dog gets up after a nap or a night's sleep
    • Whether stairs, the car boot or the sofa are tackled willingly
    • How long walks are, and how your dog seems afterwards
    • Any limping, stiffness after rest, or reluctance to play
    • Your dog's weight, checked regularly

    Keeping your dog at a healthy weight is one of the kindest things you can do for their joints, and your vet or practice nurse can help you with a plan. A supplement works best as one part of that bigger picture, alongside sensible exercise and good bedding.

    When to see your vet

    No supplement can tell you why your dog is stiff. Some changes are gradual and common in older dogs, but others need prompt attention. This guide shows how to think about urgency, and your vet can advise on any of it.

    How quickly to seek veterinary advice

    Low

    Gradual, mild changes

    Slower to get up, less keen on stairs, or a little stiff after rest. Mention it at a routine appointment and before starting any supplement.

    Watch

    Persistent or worsening signs

    Limping, swollen or tender joints, licking a joint repeatedly, muscle loss on the back legs, or stiffness that does not settle. Book a vet appointment soon.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe signs

    Sudden severe lameness, collapse, inability to stand, crying out in pain, or snapping when touched. Contact your vet urgently.

    If your dog has an upset stomach, itching or any other reaction after starting a new supplement, stop it and call your vet. Changes in appetite, energy or behaviour, or a dog who seems withdrawn, are also worth a conversation.

    Putting it all together

    For Johnson's 4Joints, the practical advice is simple. Read the weight table on the pack you actually hold, because online listings differ, and the only example we found shows that a heavier dog may need several tablets a day. Work out how long a pack will last before you buy so you can give it consistently, and keep a short diary so you can see how your dog is getting on.

    Above all, speak to your vet first if your dog takes medication or has any health condition, and go back to them if you notice any of the signs above. A supplement is a supportive extra, and your vet remains the best guide to your dog's comfort.

    How many Johnson's 4Joints tablets should I give my dog?

    The amount depends on your dog's weight, and the weight table printed on your own pack is the one to follow. The only example we found online was a retailer advising 2 to 3 tablets a day for a dog of nearly 40kg, which is not a dose for your dog. If you are unsure, weigh your dog and ask your vet before starting.

    Does Johnson's 4Joints have a higher starting dose for the first few weeks?

    We could not confirm this from the listings, because the full feeding table appeared only as an image. Check the label on your pack for any starting phase, and please do not add one yourself. For comparison, MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max does double the daily amount for the first three weeks, as printed on its label.

    How long does a 30-tablet pack of Johnson's 4Joints last?

    It is simple division. At 2 tablets a day a 30-tablet pack lasts 15 days, and at 3 a day it lasts 10 days. Work out your dog's daily amount from the label before you buy, so you do not run out and end up giving it inconsistently.

    Can my dog take a joint supplement alongside vet-prescribed medication?

    One retailer answer says the tablets can be given alongside a veterinary anti-inflammatory, but that the owner should check with their vet first. That is sensible for any supplement. Your vet knows your dog's history and current medication, and can tell you whether a new addition suits. A supplement is a complementary feed and does not replace veterinary treatment.

    How many MedPaw chews would a 20kg dog have each day?

    The MedPaw label says 2 to 3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks. At 20kg that means 4 to 6 chews a day at first, so a 60-chew tub lasts roughly 10 to 15 days in that phase. After that, at 2 to 3 chews a day, a tub lasts roughly 20 to 30 days.

    How long should I give a joint supplement before deciding if it suits my dog?

    Joint supplements are designed for regular daily feeding, and changes are gradual. MedPaw recommends 2 to 3 months of daily use, and a short weekly diary of how your dog gets up, tackles stairs and copes on walks can help you see the picture. If your dog is limping or seems uncomfortable, speak to your vet rather than waiting.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.