‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
Lily's Kitchen dosage guide: how much to give by weight
Share this article

Lily's Kitchen dosage guide: how much to give by weight

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Lily's Kitchen joint plan

Feeding Lily's Kitchen? Get your dog's joint chew dose in 30 seconds

Tap your dog's size to see their daily MedPaw dose to give on top of Lily's Kitchen, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's work out a joint chew routine to sit alongside Lily's Kitchen.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    Lily's Kitchen dosage guide: how much to give by weight

    If you have typed "Lily's Kitchen dosage" into a search bar, you may have landed on a food page rather than a supplement guide. That is understandable. Lily's Kitchen makes complete dog foods, and at least one of its dry recipes includes a joint care mix. Owners who see that phrase often wonder how much they should be giving.

    The short answer is that a complete food and a joint supplement are dosed in different ways. A food is fed by your dog's weight and life stage, following the pack. A supplement is a separate complementary feed with its own daily amount.

    This guide explains the difference in plain English and shows what is listed in one Lily's Kitchen dry recipe. It also covers how to dose a joint supplement sensibly, and when a chat with your vet should come first.

    Where a joint supplement fits alongside your dog's food

    Food is fed by the pack guide, but a joint supplement has its own daily amount, set by weight. So the useful comparison is between dedicated joint supplements, each given on top of whatever your dog eats.

    The table below sets out six of them, including MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, which is our own product. It starts with a score for how many of the six key joint actives each one lists.

    Key joint actives in the UK's leading dog joint supplements

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    MedPaw is the only product in the table with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The others list between two and four. For an owner working out a daily amount, that means one chew covers the full set, rather than a partial formula.

    Dosing is simple too. A dog of 18kg or over has 2-3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, and 2-3 months of daily use is recommended for optimal results. The soft chew is easy to give with a meal, and the 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save make it easy to keep the routine going.

    MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort as part of your dog's everyday care, alongside advice from your vet.

    Explore MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max See the full ingredient list and weight-based feeding guide for MedPaw, and choose the daily routine that suits your dog.

    Why "Lily's Kitchen dosage" can be confusing

    The word "dosage" suggests a measured daily amount, like a tablet or a chew. A complete dog food does not work like that. You feed it in portions to meet your dog's overall nutrition, and the pack's feeding guide tells you how much for a given weight and age.

    So when a food includes joint-related ingredients, there is no separate "joint dose" to work out. How much of those ingredients your dog eats depends on how much food they have in a day. A small, sedentary dog and a large, active one will take in quite different amounts from the same bag.

    That is why it helps to know which kind of product you are holding before you start measuring anything.

    Complete food versus complementary feed

    The two terms sound similar but mean different things on a label. A complete food is designed to meet a dog's nutritional needs on its own. A complementary feed, which is what most joint supplements are, is given alongside the diet and is not meant to replace meals.

    Complete food compared with complementary feed

    Question Complete food Complementary feed (supplement)
    What is its job? Meets overall nutrition Sits alongside the diet
    How is the amount set? By weight and life stage on the pack By its own daily guide, often in weight bands
    Can it replace meals? Yes, that is its purpose No
    Can one guide be used for another product? No No

    For guidance only, not a diagnosis.

    The last row matters most. Amounts differ between brands and formats, so a dose that suits one product cannot be carried over to another.

    What the joint care mix in one Lily's Kitchen recipe contains

    Published information on Lily's Kitchen Countryside Casserole, a dry food for adult dogs from 12 months upwards, lists a joint care mix. The figures below apply only to that recipe. Other Lily's Kitchen products may differ, so always check the pack in front of you.

    • Glucosamine: 175mg per kg of food
    • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM): 175mg per kg of food
    • Chondroitin sulphate: 125mg per kg of food

    The same information also lists flaxseed and salmon oil, vitamin E at 150 IU/kg and zinc at 100mg/kg (as zinc chelate). The food comes in 1kg, 2.5kg, 7kg and 12kg bags and is described as suitable for all breeds.

    A little arithmetic

    Per kg figures can be hard to picture. Divide them by ten and you have the amount per 100g of food. Glucosamine and MSM each work out at 17.5mg per 100g, and chondroitin at 12.5mg per 100g.

    How much of that your dog actually eats depends on their daily portion, and these figures give no feeding quantities. Your dog's daily amount should come from the pack's feeding guide, not from a calculation of your own.

    It helps to be clear about what this is. The joint care mix is one part of a complete recipe. It is not a measured daily joint supplement, and it should not be thought of as a replacement for one. If you have questions about a particular food, the manufacturer's guide and your vet are the right places to start.

    How to dose a joint supplement properly

    If you decide to add a joint supplement to your dog's routine, a few simple habits make the difference between a sensible plan and a muddled one.

    1. Follow the label on that specific product. Joint supplement guides are usually weight-based and vary between brands.
    2. Weigh your dog first. Many guides work in weight bands, so a guess can put a dog in the wrong one. Weigh at home or ask your vet practice.
    3. Check the combined intake if you use both a fortified food and a supplement. Make sure the total sits sensibly with each manufacturer's guidance, and ask your vet if you are unsure.
    4. Be consistent. Joint supplements are meant for daily use over weeks, not now and then. Tying the chew to a mealtime makes it easy to remember.
    5. Introduce changes gradually. Whether it is a new food or a new supplement, phase it in over several days.

    On that last point, a sudden change can sometimes unsettle a dog's tummy. That is why changes should be gradual, and why any lasting upset deserves a call to your vet.

    The MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max feeding guide

    If you would like to see what a supplement guide looks like, here is ours. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed. It is designed to support joint comfort and mobility as part of a routine that includes a balanced diet, a healthy weight and veterinary care.

    • 1 chew a day for dogs up to 4kg
    • 2 chews a day for dogs of 5-17kg
    • 2-3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over
    • The amount is doubled for the first three weeks
    • 2-3 months of daily use is recommended

    If your dog falls between 4kg and 5kg, check the pack or ask the MedPaw team which band applies. It is always better to ask than to guess.

    What is in the chew

    The key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.

    There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you would like a regular delivery. Those details belong to MedPaw alone. They say nothing about what any food or other supplement contains.

    Comparing formats fairly

    Joint supplements come in several formats, and the best one is often simply the one your dog will take reliably every day. Based on each manufacturer's published information from September 2026:

    • NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet, with a 90-day guarantee.
    • YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet, with a 6-week guarantee.
    • Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet.
    • Synoquin EFA comes as a tablet or capsule.
    • Nutraquin+ is a capsule.

    Some dogs happily take a soft chew, while others will accept a tablet hidden in food. Ingredient lists differ too, so compare the labels rather than assuming products are alike. Guarantee terms vary in length as well, and some manufacturers do not state one.

    No single product suits every dog. Your vet can help you weigh up the options for yours, especially if your dog has other health conditions or takes medication.

    Everyday joint care beyond the bowl

    A supplement is one small part of looking after your dog's joints. The everyday basics matter at least as much.

    • Keep a healthy weight. Extra weight puts extra load on joints, so measured portions and sensible treats are worth the effort.
    • Offer regular, gentle exercise. Steady daily walks usually suit stiff or older dogs better than occasional long outings or bursts of hard play.
    • Provide comfortable bedding. A supportive bed away from draughts makes getting up easier, and non-slip rugs help on smooth floors.
    • Help with the tricky bits. A ramp for the car or a boost onto the sofa can save awkward jumps.

    Keep a simple note of how your dog moves from week to week. It helps you spot gradual changes and gives your vet something useful to work with.

    When to see your vet

    Supplements and diet changes are not a substitute for a proper check. Joint problems can have many causes, and only a vet can diagnose them and recommend treatment. Use this as a rough guide to how quickly to act.

    How quickly to seek veterinary advice

    Low

    Mild, occasional stiffness

    A little slowness after rest that eases quickly. Mention it at your next routine appointment and keep notes.

    Watch

    Persistent or worsening changes

    Lameness lasting more than a day or two or returning, difficulty with stairs or jumping into the car, stiffness getting worse, a change in gait, or a dog becoming withdrawn. Book an appointment.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe signs

    Sudden or severe pain, yelping when touched, swelling or heat in a joint, or vomiting, diarrhoea or shaking after a new food or supplement. Call your vet promptly.

    Other signs worth raising include muscle loss, a hunched posture, a "bunny-hopping" movement in the back legs, reduced appetite and lethargy. If your dog seems unwell after starting a new product, stop it and call your vet, particularly if the signs are severe or do not settle.

    Check with your vet first if

    • your dog is already on prescribed medication, especially pain relief or anti-inflammatories
    • your dog is pregnant or nursing, is a puppy, or has a known health condition or allergy
    • you are thinking of combining several products that contain similar ingredients

    The takeaway on dosing

    Searching for a "Lily's Kitchen dosage" usually comes down to one useful idea. A complete food is fed by the pack's guide, and a joint supplement is given as a separate daily amount, following its own label. The two should not be mixed up, and one product's guide cannot stand in for another's.

    Weigh your dog, read the label, keep to a steady routine and introduce changes gradually. Alongside a healthy weight, gentle exercise and regular veterinary care, a supplement such as MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max can help support your dog's comfort and mobility. Your vet remains the best person to guide you, especially if something about your dog's movement has changed.

    Is there a Lily's Kitchen dosage for joint care?

    Lily's Kitchen makes complete dog foods, and these are fed by your dog's weight and life stage using the feeding guide on the pack. A joint care mix inside a recipe is part of that food, so there is no separate joint dose to measure. If you want to know how much to feed, follow the pack in front of you or ask the manufacturer.

    Can I use a Lily's Kitchen feeding guide to work out how much of a joint supplement to give?

    No, one product's guide cannot stand in for another's. A complete food is portioned to meet overall nutrition, whilst a complementary feed has its own daily amount set by its manufacturer. Always follow the label on the specific supplement you are using, and ask your vet if you are unsure.

    How many MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max does a 20kg dog have each day?

    On the printed label, dogs of 18kg and over have 2-3 chews a day, so a 20kg dog falls in that band. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and 2-3 months of daily use is recommended. Check the pack for the exact guidance, and your vet can advise if you are unsure which amount suits your dog.

    What should I do if my dog is between weight bands on a supplement guide?

    Weigh your dog first, as a guess can put them in the wrong band. For MedPaw, if your dog sits between 4kg and 5kg, check the pack or ask the MedPaw team which band applies. It is always better to ask than to guess.

    Is it fine to give a joint supplement alongside a food that has joint ingredients in it?

    Many owners do, but it is sensible to think about the combined intake and check it sits well with each manufacturer's guidance. Your vet can help you decide, especially if your dog takes medication or has a health condition. Introduce any new supplement gradually over several days.

    When should I see a vet rather than change my dog's supplement?

    If your dog has persistent or worsening stiffness, lameness lasting more than a day or two, difficulty with stairs or the car, or any sudden or severe pain, speak to your vet promptly. A supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside the diet and veterinary care, and it is not a substitute for a proper check. If your dog seems unwell after starting something new, stop it and call your vet.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.