If you have been searching for a joint supplement with a probiotic, you are not alone. "Gut and joint" products are turning up more often, and it is natural to wonder whether your dog needs both. When your dog is slower on the stairs or hesitating before the sofa, you want to get the choice right.
This guide explains what these products are, the idea behind them, and what is still uncertain. We will also be open about where our own chew fits. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a joint-focused formula, and it does not list a probiotic.
Joint supplements are complementary feeds. They sit alongside veterinary care and are not a treatment for any condition, so we will keep coming back to your vet along the way.
Comparing joint actives when gut products are on your mind
Probiotic and joint products often get talked about together, but the label on a joint supplement is a separate thing to read. The table below sets out which key joint actives each popular option lists, so you can judge that part clearly.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is our own product, and it is the one we recommend. We have put it first in the comparison.
UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
Look at the first row. MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The others list between two and four. For a dog whose joints you want to support, a complete set of actives on one label is a simple, practical thing to check.
The table compares joint ingredients, so it does not cover gut products. If you are weighing up a separate digestive product, MedPaw's joint formula can sit as its own daily step, which keeps each product's role easy to follow. Joint supplements support comfort and mobility alongside veterinary care.
MedPaw comes as a soft daily chew, with omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, plus vitamins C and E and zinc. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you want a steady routine.
Explore MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max See the full ingredient list and feeding guide for your dog's weight on the MedPaw product page.
The two forms gut and joint products take
"Gut and joint" products on the market tend to come in one of two forms. Knowing which is which makes labels much easier to read.
One combined product
Some brands make a single soft bite that combines joint ingredients with several probiotic strains. One UK example is sold as a complementary feed for dogs aged 12 weeks and over, and lists six probiotic strains alongside its joint ingredients.
Two separate products
Others sell a joint product and a probiotic product separately, sometimes as a bundle or a combo deal. In the examples we looked at, both products are chewable and the dose is based on your dog's weight.
The key point is that a probiotic is not part of every joint supplement. A joint supplement does not need to contain one to be a sensible choice.
What is the "gut-joint axis"?
You may see the phrase "gut-joint axis" on product pages. The idea is that an unbalanced gut microbiome could make joint problems worse. It is an interesting suggestion, but it is also a manufacturer-led one.
The sources we reviewed offer no study data to support it for dogs. So we would treat it as an emerging idea, not settled fact. Joint problems have many possible causes, including age, weight, breed, injury and underlying conditions. Only your vet can work out which applies to your dog.
If a product leans heavily on the gut-joint link, look at what it actually shows you. A clear label, a sensible feeding guide and honest wording matter more than a clever-sounding theory.
How probiotic products describe their contents
If you do look at probiotics, you will notice that brands describe their contents in very different ways. Strains differ, and so do the units used to state the amount. That means the figures cannot be compared directly from one pack to the next.
- One combined product lists six strains: Enterococcus faecium, Lactobacillus acidophilus, L. rhamnosus, L. plantarum, L. casei and L. fermentum. The amount is given per kilogram of product, not per daily serving.
- One standalone probiotic tablet lists five strains (L. plantarum, L. acidophilus, Bifidobacterium animalis lactis, L. rhamnosus and L. brevis) at 2 billion CFU in total. It also contains inulin, a prebiotic fibre from chicory, and psyllium husk.
- One bundle's probiotic chew lists Enterococcus faecium with chicory inulin and bovine colostrum.
CFU stands for colony-forming units, a count of live bacteria. A higher number does not automatically mean a better product, and the sources we looked at offer no evidence either way. Check the label for the strains, the amount per serving and the feeding guide.
Three ways probiotic products describe themselves
| Product type | Strains listed | How the amount is stated |
|---|---|---|
| Combined joint and probiotic soft bite | Six strains | Per kg of product, not per daily serving |
| Standalone probiotic tablet | Five strains, plus chicory inulin and psyllium husk | Total CFU per tablet |
| Probiotic chew sold in a bundle | One strain (Enterococcus faecium), with chicory inulin and bovine colostrum | Check the pack |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
The joint ingredients you will see most often
Whether or not a probiotic is involved, the joint side of these products tends to draw on a familiar set of ingredients.
- Glucosamine appears in every product we looked at, in different forms such as sulphate, HCl or fermentation-derived.
- Chondroitin sulphate is also common.
- MSM, Boswellia and turmeric appear in some but not all.
- Flaxseed or flax oil, ginger, vitamins C and E, and manganese turn up in various products.
- Collagen and salmon oil appear in one bundle's joint product.
These ingredients are generally described in terms of supporting joint comfort and mobility, and helping to maintain cartilage health. That is the right way to think about them. They support the body's normal functions alongside good care. They do not repair or reverse joint changes.
Where MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max fits
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, sold as a complementary feed for dogs. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.
Our chew does not list a probiotic. It is a joint-focused formula. If you are curious about probiotics for your dog's digestion, speak to your vet about whether one suits them. We would not want you to buy our chew expecting it to do the job of a gut product.
Feeding and guarantee
- 1 chew a day for dogs up to 4kg, 2 chews for dogs 5 to 17kg, and 2 to 3 chews for dogs 18kg and over.
- The amount is doubled for the first three weeks.
- Daily use for 2 to 3 months is recommended.
- There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.
A fair look at how products differ
Joint supplements differ in form and ingredients, and different dogs suit different things. Going only by each manufacturer's published information, here is how a few compare. This is not a ranking, and none is better or worse in itself.
Form and listed ingredients, from published manufacturer information
| Product | Form | Some listed ingredients |
|---|---|---|
| MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | Soft chew | Glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia serrata |
| NutraPaw Joint Support | Tablet | Glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric, collagen |
| Seraquin Joint | Chewable tablet | Glucosamine, chondroitin, turmeric |
For guidance only. Always check the current label.
None of the three products in this table lists a probiotic. Reading the label with your own dog's needs in mind is always the best approach.
Supplements work gradually
Whichever route you choose, patience matters. Joint supplements are not a quick fix, and every dog is different, so it is best not to expect any particular result or timeframe. This fits with our own guidance of 2 to 3 months of daily use.
Keeping a short diary helps you judge fairly. Jot down how easily your dog gets up, whether they hesitate at the stairs or the sofa, and how walks feel. Small changes are easy to miss day to day but clearer on paper.
Safety points worth knowing
Medical conditions and medication
Some products carry specific cautions. One combined gut and joint product states it is not suitable for dogs with gallstones, biliary tract obstruction or clotting disorders, or for dogs on anticoagulant or antiplatelet medication. It also advises checking with a vet before feeding to pregnant or nursing dogs.
Many joint supplements contain plant extracts such as Boswellia or turmeric. Any dog on medication or with a health condition should be cleared by the vet first. That includes our chew, which contains Boswellia serrata.
Allergies and sensitivities
Ingredient lists matter for allergic or sensitive dogs. Across the products we looked at, ingredients to watch included crustacean-derived glucosamine, chicken flavouring, peanut butter, bovine colostrum, porcine collagen, salmon oil and brewer's yeast. If your dog has a known food allergy, read the full ingredient list, not just the front of the pack.
Sensitive tummies
Introduce any new supplement gradually and watch for changes in stools or appetite. If your dog has ongoing digestive problems, see your vet, as a supplement is not the way to sort out a persistent tummy issue. It is also sensible to keep fresh drinking water available at all times.
Practical steps for owners
- Start with the vet. If your dog is stiff, slowing down or limping, get a proper diagnosis first. Joint changes can have several causes.
- Decide what you are looking for. If your vet has not suggested a probiotic, a joint supplement alone may be enough. If your dog has digestive issues, ask whether a probiotic is appropriate.
- Read the label. Check the actives, the form, the feeding guide by weight, the allergens and the guarantee terms.
- Do not double up by accident. If you use a separate probiotic and a joint supplement, check the ingredients do not overlap, and tell your vet about everything your dog takes.
- Store it properly. Reseal the pack, keep it cool and dry, and follow the guidance on the label.
Support the basics too
Supplements work best as one part of a wider routine. A healthy weight takes strain off the joints, and steady low-impact exercise helps, so short regular walks tend to suit better than the odd long one. Non-slip flooring at home and a comfortable, supportive bed can make daily life easier for a stiff dog.
None of these replaces veterinary advice, but together they give your dog good everyday support.
Signs that mean a vet visit
Dogs are good at hiding discomfort, so it helps to know what to look for. Possible signs of joint pain or mobility problems include:
- Limping
- Licking or chewing at a particular area
- Reduced movement or less interest in play
- Whimpering during activity
- Mood changes, such as irritability or withdrawal
- Reluctance to climb stairs or jump onto the sofa or into the car
- Stopping or lagging on walks
Book a vet appointment if any of these appear, especially if they are new, getting worse or affecting daily life. The same applies if your dog is already taking a supplement.
How quickly to seek advice
Mild, gradual slowing down
Book a routine vet visit to talk about causes and options, including whether a supplement suits your dog.
New or worsening stiffness, limping or reluctance to jump
Arrange an appointment soon, especially if daily life is affected.
Sudden or severe lameness, a swollen or hot joint, crying out in pain, or not putting weight on a leg
Seek prompt veterinary advice. The same applies if stiffness comes with vomiting, diarrhoea, lethargy or loss of appetite.
A dog with persistent digestive upset should also be seen by a vet. A supplement is never a substitute for a diagnosis.
Choosing with confidence
A probiotic is not a must-have for a joint supplement, and the gut-joint link is still an emerging idea with little published data for dogs in the sources we reviewed. A good choice is one you understand, that suits your dog, and that your vet is happy with.
If you are looking at joint support, MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew built around joint-focused ingredients, backed by a 60-day money-back guarantee. If digestion is your main concern, your vet is the best person to ask about whether a probiotic is right for your dog.
Can you give a dog a joint supplement and a probiotic at the same time?
Many owners do use a joint product and a probiotic side by side, but the sources we reviewed give no published interaction data for this pairing in dogs. That is not the same as confirmed safe for your dog. Ask your vet before combining them, and take both labels with you so they can check everything your dog is having.
Does MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max contain a probiotic?
No. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a joint-focused complementary feed and does not list a probiotic. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. If you are curious about a probiotic for digestion, your vet is the best person to ask.
Is the gut-joint axis proven in dogs?
In the sources we reviewed, there is no study data showing that the gut-joint idea holds true for dogs. It is best seen as an emerging, largely manufacturer-led suggestion rather than settled fact. Joint changes have many possible causes, so a vet check is the sensible first step if your dog is stiff or slowing down.
Should I start a joint supplement and a probiotic on the same day?
It is usually easier to introduce one change at a time. If your dog's stools or appetite change, you will then know which product to mention to your vet. Start gradually, keep a short diary, and only add the next product once your dog has settled.
How many MedPaw chews would a 20kg dog have, and how long does a tub last?
At 20kg the label guide is 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, so that means 4 to 6 chews a day to begin with. A 60-chew tub then lasts about 10 to 15 days during that first stage. After that, at 2 to 3 chews a day, one tub lasts about 20 to 30 days. The label recommends 2 to 3 months of daily use.
What should I ask my vet before adding a supplement if my dog is on a probiotic or other medicine?
Take the supplement label and ask whether any listed ingredient, such as Boswellia, suits your dog's health and current medication. Also mention any allergies, as ingredients like shellfish-derived glucosamine or bovine colostrum matter for sensitive dogs. Never start, stop or change a prescribed medicine without your vet's agreement.


