If you have been given Synoquin EFA for your dog, or you are thinking about it, the first question is usually a practical one: how much do I give, and for how long? The answer depends on your dog's weight, the size version you buy, and a two-stage plan that starts with a higher amount.
This guide walks through that plan using the manufacturer's published information. We also cover what is in the product, how to make it easier to give, and when a change in your dog's mobility needs a vet rather than a supplement. Always follow the exact figures on the pack you buy, and ask your vet if you are unsure.
Choosing between Synoquin EFA and MedPaw at your dog's weight
Once you know how Synoquin EFA is dosed, the next question is what your dog is actually getting for that daily amount. The table below sets out the ingredients, format and guarantee for Synoquin EFA and five other UK joint products.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is our own product, so we have listed it first and kept every row factual so you can check it against each pack.
UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | Synoquin EFA | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Krill oil | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Vit C, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet or capsule | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | Not stated | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The first row is the one to read. Synoquin EFA lists two of the six key joint actives, glucosamine and chondroitin, with krill oil as its omega-3 source. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid or Boswellia. MedPaw is the only product in the table with all six.
That matters if you are working out a dose by weight. A daily amount only goes as far as the formula behind it, and MedPaw puts glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia into one soft chew. It also has omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, plus vitamins C and E and zinc.
MedPaw is a daily soft chew, not a tablet or capsule, so there are no pills to hide in food. Dosing runs from 1 chew a day up to 4kg to 2 to 3 for dogs of 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks, and we suggest 2 to 3 months of daily use for optimal results. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Check the full formula and feeding guide for your dog's weight, and use it alongside your vet's advice on mobility.
What Synoquin EFA is
Synoquin EFA is a complementary feed for dogs. Its manufacturer describes it as a nutraceutical to support joint health. It is not a medicine. It comes as a tablet or capsule, in versions made for different breed sizes.
The formula contains glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil, plus vitamin C and zinc. The labels list glucosamine HCl, chondroitin sulphate, a hydrolysed krill ingredient, ascorbic acid (vitamin C) and zinc sulphate. The manufacturer says the krill provides omega 3 essential fatty acids and is used in place of fish. It says the product aims to support cartilage structure and the body's natural processes.
There are some things Synoquin EFA does not list: MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. No guarantee is stated for it in the published information. The brand says it has been sold since 1998 and is recommended by vets, but that is the manufacturer's own statement rather than independent evidence.
How Synoquin dosing works: loading, then maintenance
Synoquin uses two stages. The first is an initial loading programme lasting six weeks, with a higher daily amount. The second is a long-term maintenance programme at a lower amount. The manufacturer says it is very important to complete the loading programme to get the most from the product.
Synoquin EFA daily amounts by size version (check your pack, as figures can change)
| Version | Loading, six weeks | Maintenance, long term |
|---|---|---|
| Small breed chewable tablets (under 10kg) | 2 tablets daily, 1 morning and 1 evening | Usually 1 tablet daily |
| Medium breed capsules (10 to 25kg) | 3 capsules daily, 2 in the morning and 1 in the evening | 1 capsule daily |
| Large breed (over 3 months of age) | Follow the figures on the pack for your dog's weight | Follow the figures on the pack for your dog's weight |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
Small breed chewable tablets (dogs under 10kg)
For small dogs, the loading amount is two tablets a day for six weeks, one in the morning and one in the evening. After that, the usual maintenance amount is one tablet daily.
Each small breed chewable tablet contains:
- Glucosamine HCl 225mg
- Chondroitin sulphate 95mg
- Krill 95mg
- Ascorbic acid 22mg
- Zinc 15mg
The tablets are described as highly palatable. You can offer one directly as a reward, or break it up and mix it into your dog's normal food.
If your dog needs more than the maintenance amount, the product information says to increase by half a tablet every four weeks, or to contact your vet. You should not go beyond the initial loading amount. The manufacturer also says not to lower the suggested intake unless your vet advises it.
Medium breed capsules (dogs 10 to 25kg)
For medium dogs, loading is three capsules a day for six weeks, two in the morning and one in the evening. Maintenance is then one capsule daily.
The pack holds 120 capsules, in inner packs of 30. The capsules have no added flavouring, but they taste fishy because of the krill, which is useful to know if your dog is fussy. The product description refers to sprinkle capsules, so the contents can be added to food. Check the pack for how to do this.
Large breed
The large breed product is described as suitable for large dogs over 3 months of age. The published information we have does not give a large breed loading or maintenance figure, so we will not guess one. Follow the exact amounts on the pack for your dog's weight, or ask your vet or vet pharmacy.
Getting the weight band right
Everything in the dosing plan depends on weight, so it pays to be accurate. Guessing by eye can easily leave a dog on the wrong size product.
- Weigh small dogs at home. A kitchen scale works for a very small dog, or you can weigh yourself with and without your dog in your arms.
- Larger dogs can be weighed at a vet practice, which often allows this without an appointment.
- If your dog is close to a weight boundary, or is gaining or losing weight, check the pack again. Your vet can advise which size to use.
The manufacturer says most dogs need only one tablet or capsule a day long term, once loading is finished. It also says all dogs respond differently, and the maintenance amount is a general guide, which is why the wording on the pack is "in general" and "usually".
Making it easy to give every day
A supplement can only support your dog if it actually gets eaten, every day, for months. A few simple habits make that much easier.
- Confirm the weight band first. Choose the product for your dog's weight (under 10kg, 10 to 25kg or large) and follow that pack.
- Split the daily dose. Where two or three units are needed, the manufacturer's guidance is to give them morning and evening.
- Set a reminder for the end of loading. Put the date six weeks ahead in your phone, so the higher amount does not carry on by accident and does not stop too early.
- Disguise the taste if needed. Tablets can go in the bowl or be broken into food. Capsule contents may suit a mixed meal. Expect a fishy smell and taste.
- Do not change the dose on your own. Any increase should be gradual and never beyond the loading amount. Do not reduce below the suggested intake unless your vet says so.
- Keep a simple diary. Note how your dog gets up, manages stairs and settles after walks. It is more useful at a vet check-up than memory.
Planning your first order
It helps to do a little arithmetic before you buy. A 120-capsule pack of the medium breed product covers about 40 days at three capsules a day. A six-week loading phase is 42 days, so your first pack will not quite cover it.
If you would rather not run short in the final days of loading, order a second pack early. Running out partway through is the easiest way to end up with an uneven routine.
Please allow time before judging how things are going. The loading phase lasts six weeks for a reason, and dogs respond differently. Looking for changes after a few days is likely to leave you disappointed or worried for no good reason.
Supporting the whole picture at home
The manufacturer says joint problems often need a multimodal approach. That means pain relief where your vet prescribes it, changes at home, a good diet, weight management and suitable exercise. A supplement sits alongside these, not in place of them.
Some practical changes that support comfort:
- Non-slip flooring or rugs on slippery floors
- A supportive orthopaedic bed
- Ramps for the car or sofa
- Short, regular walks rather than occasional long ones
- Keeping your dog at a healthy weight, which helps limit strain on the joints
Tell your vet about every supplement and medicine your dog takes, particularly before surgery or when new medication is started.
When to see your vet
A supplement is not a substitute for a diagnosis. If you notice any of the signs below, speak to your vet practice. Some are more pressing than others.
Joint-related signs and how quickly to get them checked
Gradual changes in routine
Reluctance to climb stairs, jump into the car or go on walks they used to enjoy. Mention it to your vet and book a check.
Persistent or worsening signs
Stiffness after rest, difficulty getting up, licking or chewing at a joint, muscle loss in the back legs, irritability, restlessness at night or loss of appetite. Book a vet appointment soon, especially if things worsen despite supplementation.
Sudden or painful signs
Sudden or severe limping, not putting weight on a leg, yelping or flinching when touched, or visible swelling or heat. Contact your vet promptly.
A puppy or young dog showing joint problems should always be examined rather than looked after at home. The same goes for a dog already on prescribed medication or with another health condition. Your vet may suggest pain relief, weight management, physiotherapy or other options, and can tell you whether a supplement suits your dog alongside them.
MedPaw as an alternative
Some owners prefer a different format or a wider ingredient list. If that sounds like you, here is a fair, factual look at how MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max differs from Synoquin EFA.
MedPaw is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed for dogs. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.
How the two compare
- Format: MedPaw is a soft chew. Synoquin EFA is a tablet or capsule.
- Shared ingredients: both contain glucosamine, chondroitin, vitamin C and zinc.
- Different ingredients: MedPaw also contains MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia and vitamin E. Synoquin contains krill oil, which MedPaw does not list.
- Loading phase: MedPaw's doubled amount lasts the first three weeks. Synoquin's loading lasts six weeks.
- Feeding: MedPaw is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5 to 17kg, and 2 to 3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended. The weight bands differ from Synoquin's, so follow the pack of whichever product you choose rather than carrying doses across.
- Guarantee: MedPaw has a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available. No guarantee is stated for Synoquin EFA in the information we have.
Whichever you choose, please do not give two joint supplements together without checking with your vet. Ingredients such as glucosamine and chondroitin would overlap, and your vet is best placed to advise on what suits your dog.
How much Synoquin EFA should I give my dog by weight?
It depends on the size version you buy. The manufacturer's published guidance gives small breed chewable tablets for dogs under 10kg, medium breed capsules for dogs of 10 to 25kg, and a large breed version for dogs over 3 months of age. Always follow the exact figures on the pack for your dog's weight, and ask your vet if you are unsure which size suits.
How long is the Synoquin loading phase?
The manufacturer describes an initial loading programme lasting six weeks, followed by a long-term maintenance programme at a lower amount. It says completing the loading phase matters, so it helps to put the end date in your phone. If you are unsure, check with your vet rather than changing the amount yourself.
How many Synoquin capsules does a 20kg dog need?
A 20kg dog falls in the medium breed band of 10 to 25kg. The published guidance is 3 capsules a day for the six-week loading phase, 2 in the morning and 1 in the evening, then usually 1 capsule daily for maintenance. A 120-capsule pack covers about 40 days at the loading amount, so it is worth ordering a second pack early.
Can I change the Synoquin dose myself if my dog seems stiff?
The manufacturer says not to lower the suggested intake unless your vet advises it, and not to go beyond the loading amount. If your dog seems stiffer, or you notice limping, difficulty getting up or any sudden change, please speak to your vet rather than adjusting the dose. Stiffness can have several causes that need a proper check.
How does the MedPaw feeding guide compare with Synoquin for a 20kg dog?
For a 20kg dog the MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max label says 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks. The weight bands and loading length are different from Synoquin's, so follow the pack of whichever product you choose and do not carry doses across. MedPaw is a soft chew and a complementary feed, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended.
Can I give Synoquin and another joint supplement together?
It is best not to without checking with your vet first. Many joint supplements contain similar ingredients, such as glucosamine and chondroitin, so they would overlap. Your vet can advise what suits your dog, especially if your dog is on any medication.


