If you are searching for Antinol dosage, you are probably standing in the kitchen with a pack in one hand and a dog who has slowed down on walks in the other. The good news is that the dosing is fairly simple once you know your dog's weight. The slightly confusing part is the doubled amount at the start, and how quickly it uses up your first pack.
This guide pulls together what the published information says about Antinol (Antinol Joint Care Pro for dogs). That covers dose by weight, pack durations, safety points and when to speak to your vet. Antinol is a third-party product and not a MedPaw product. We do not hold our own verified facts for it, so everything below comes from the research sources, and the current label always has the final word.
A joint supplement is a complementary feed. It sits alongside weight management, suitable exercise and veterinary care, never in place of them.
Dose by weight: how MedPaw sits among popular UK options
Once you have worked out an Antinol dose for your dog's weight, it helps to know how other joint supplements ask you to feed. The table below compares MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, our own product, with five well-known UK options.
Antinol is not one of the products in this table, so its current label remains the place to confirm its dose and composition. The table shows how different formulas cover the six key joint actives.
Key joint actives in the UK's leading dog joint supplements
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row counts six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. MedPaw is the only one of the six products here to list all six, scoring 6 of 6. The others score between 2 and 4, so one chew routine can cover more ground.
Feeding is simple too. MedPaw is 1 soft chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg and 2-3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks. Daily use for 2-3 months is recommended for optimal results.
If you are weighing up a switch from a capsule routine, a soft chew can be easier to give at mealtimes. MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care, and our 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save are there if you want to try it.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Check the weight bands for your dog and see how all six key joint actives come together in one daily soft chew.
What Antinol is, according to the sources
Antinol is a daily capsule for dogs, described as supporting joint health, mobility, skin and coat. A separate cat version exists. The active ingredient is PCSO-524, a concentrated oil extracted from New Zealand green-lipped mussels. The sources are clear that it is an oil extract and not a mussel powder.
Each capsule contains 50mg of PCSO-524. The label states this includes 20mg of omega-3, made up of 10mg EPA and 5mg DHA. The manufacturer also says each capsule provides over 90 naturally occurring fatty acids, including ETA and OTA, which it says are not found in conventional fish oil.
The other listed ingredients are olive oil, glycerine, bovine (beef) gelatin for the capsule shell, and D-alpha tocopherol (vitamin E). The analytical constituents given are crude protein 29.8%, fat 53.3%, crude ash under 0.1% and crude fibre 0%. The capsule is small, about 1cm, and orange-red.
On manufacturing, the manufacturer says the mussels are processed within 2 hours of harvesting, then stabilised and freeze-dried. A solvent-free, heat-free extraction follows, which it says concentrates the fatty acids to 20 times the level found in freeze-dried mussel powder. The manufacturer also says the product is backed by over 25 years of research and is suitable for long-term daily use in healthy dogs. These are the manufacturer's own claims, so weigh them accordingly.
Antinol dosage by dog weight
The dosing is weight-based, with a higher "loading" amount for the first couple of weeks. The sources use a 20kg cut-off.
Antinol capsules per day, by dog weight, as described in the research sources
| Dog's weight | First 15 days (doubled) | Daily maintenance |
|---|---|---|
| Under 20kg | 2 capsules a day | 1 capsule a day |
| Over 20kg | 4 capsules a day | 2 capsules a day |
For guidance only. Always check the current label for your dog.
The loading amounts are stated directly in the sources. The maintenance amounts follow from the pack-duration figures. A 60-capsule pack lasts 60 days for a dog under 20kg and 30 days for a dog over 20kg, which works out at one and two capsules a day. One general product page simply says "one capsule a day", so please confirm the amount for your dog's weight on the current packaging.
Points owners often miss
- Weigh your dog first. The sources do not say what to do for a dog at exactly 20kg, so check the label or ask your vet.
- The doubled start is stressed repeatedly. The manufacturer calls it "really important" for reaching the intended nutritional level quickly.
- The loading length varies slightly. Most pages say 15 days, but one FAQ line says 14. Follow the day count on your current pack.
- There is no fixed feeding time. Capsules can go with the main meal or be given as a treat. During the doubled phase they can be split through the day or given all at once.
- Capsules are given whole. The one exception is a beef allergy, which we cover in the safety section below.
Pack sizes and how long they last
The sources list 60, 90 and 180 capsule packs. At the daily maintenance amount, they last as follows.
How long each Antinol pack lasts at maintenance dosing
| Pack | Dog under 20kg | Dog over 20kg |
|---|---|---|
| 60 capsules | 60 days | 30 days |
| 90 capsules | 90 days | 45 days |
| 180 capsules | 180 days | 90 days |
Maintenance figures only. A first pack runs out sooner.
Why your first pack runs out sooner
Because of the doubled phase, a first pack does not last as long as the table suggests. Worked out from the stated figures, a first 60-capsule pack lasts about 45 days for a dog under 20kg. For a dog over 20kg it lasts about 15 days, because 4 capsules a day uses all 60 capsules in the loading period alone.
If you have a larger dog, it helps to plan your second pack before you start the first, so there is no gap in the routine.
How long before you might notice a difference
The sources give slightly different timings, so it is kinder to think of a range than a promise.
- Some owners report changes as early as 3 to 4 days.
- Many owners report noticing something from around 10 to 15 days, and one page says 15 to 30 days.
- Fuller effects can take up to 60 days.
The manufacturer recommends continuing for 60 days and monitoring your dog before judging. Every dog is different, and a supplement offers nutritional support, not a guaranteed outcome.
A simple diary makes that trial far more useful. Jot down how your dog manages the stairs, how they get up after a rest, how long walks feel comfortable and how keen they are to play. It gives you a fair comparison, and it is something concrete to show your vet.
Safety, allergies and combining products
The manufacturer describes side effects as rare. Where they do occur, the signs are gastrointestinal, such as vomiting or diarrhoea. If you see them, contact your vet.
Shellfish and beef
The oil comes from mussels. The manufacturer says an allergic reaction is unlikely, but advises not giving Antinol to dogs known to be allergic to shellfish.
The capsule shell is beef gelatin. For a dog allergic to beef or cow products, the manufacturer suggests giving only the oil inside rather than the outer shell. Please talk to your vet before doing this. If you suspect an allergic reaction at any point, contact a vet straight away.
Other supplements and medication
The manufacturer says it knows of no interactions with other medicines or supplements, but does not recommend giving other omega-3 or marine oils at the same time. Many joint supplements and some foods already contain marine omega-3, so read labels carefully. Ask your vet before layering products.
The manufacturer also says Antinol can be given daily alongside medicines such as NSAIDs, as part of a multi-modal approach to osteoarthritis care. That should only happen under veterinary guidance. Never start, stop or change prescribed medication without your vet's say-so.
Puppies, pregnancy and other conditions
The sources do not give dosing advice for pregnant or lactating dogs, puppies or dogs with other health conditions. A puppy pack is mentioned but not detailed. For any of these, check the current label and ask your vet. The cat formula is separate too, so keep each pet on its own product.
Which dogs may need earlier or steadier support
The manufacturer says joint stiffness can begin earlier than many owners expect, sometimes before it is visible. It names these dogs as placing greater demands on their joints:
- larger and giant breeds
- dogs carrying excess weight
- working dogs
- dogs competing in canine sports
Keeping your dog lean, choosing suitable exercise and feeding a balanced diet come first. A supplement works alongside those, not instead of them.
A practical checklist before you start
- Weigh your dog before buying. The 20kg line decides both the dose and how fast packs run out.
- Read the current label and follow it, especially for borderline weights, puppies, seniors and dogs with other conditions.
- Do the doubled phase properly (15 days according to most pages), then drop to maintenance.
- Plan the first pack, because it runs out sooner than the maintenance figures suggest.
- Give it a fair trial of up to 60 days and keep notes.
- Be consistent. The manufacturer recommends daily use.
- Store capsules in a cool, dry place under 25°C.
- Tell your vet which supplements your dog takes and at what dose, especially before any surgery or if new medication is prescribed.
- Avoid stacking marine omega-3 products without checking with your vet.
- Read the guarantee terms. The sources describe a 60-day money-back offer for new customers buying a starter pack, valid up to 90 days from purchase. Check the current terms before you buy.
Signs to watch for and when to see your vet
Joint changes are often gradual and subtle. Owners commonly notice stiffness after rest or on first getting up, slowing down or tiring sooner on walks, and reluctance to use stairs or jump into the car or onto furniture. Some dogs show less enthusiasm for play, or lick and chew at a joint.
Some signs need a vet rather than a supplement. This simple guide shows how to think about urgency.
How urgently to act on changes in your dog's mobility
Mild, gradual stiffness
Slower to get up after rest or a little less keen on play. Mention it at your next vet visit and keep a diary of what you see.
Persistent or worsening changes
Avoiding stairs or jumping, tiring early, or little to no change after the trial period. Book a vet appointment soon.
Sudden, severe or unwell
Sudden lameness, not weight-bearing, yelping, a hot or swollen joint, lameness after a fall, loss of appetite or lethargy. Persistent vomiting or diarrhoea after a new supplement also belongs here. Facial swelling, hives or breathing difficulty may be an allergic reaction, so seek urgent help.
Working out the cause of stiffness, and deciding on pain relief and ongoing management, is a job for your vet. The manufacturer itself advises speaking to your vet first for further guidance.
Where MedPaw fits in
If you are comparing options, keep in mind that products differ in format, ingredients and feeding guides. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew with its own feeding guide and its own ingredient list, including glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It is not interchangeable with Antinol, and the Antinol amounts above do not apply to it.
Whichever product you choose, the basics stay the same. Weigh your dog, follow the label, give it a fair trial, keep notes and keep your vet in the loop.
How many Antinol capsules should I give my dog each day?
According to the published information we have reviewed, a dog under 20kg has 1 capsule a day and a dog over 20kg has 2 capsules a day once past the first phase. For the first 15 days the amount is doubled, so 2 capsules for smaller dogs and 4 for larger ones. Antinol is not a MedPaw product, so please check the current label on your pack for the amount that applies to your dog.
How long does the doubled Antinol loading phase last?
Most of the sources say 15 days, although one FAQ line says 14. Because the figure varies slightly, follow the day count printed on your current pack. After the doubled phase, owners move to the daily maintenance amount for their dog's weight.
Why does my first pack of Antinol run out so quickly?
The doubled start uses more capsules than the maintenance amount, so a first pack does not last as long as the headline figure. Worked out from the stated amounts, a 60-capsule pack lasts about 45 days for a dog under 20kg and about 15 days for a dog over 20kg. It helps to plan your second pack before you begin so there is no gap in the routine.
How does the MedPaw feeding guide compare for a 20kg dog?
For a dog at 20kg, the MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max label says 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks. With a 60-chew tub, that is roughly 20 to 30 days at the standard amount, so the first tub will run out sooner during the doubled phase. MedPaw is a soft chew and Antinol is a capsule, so the two feeding guides are not interchangeable. Always weigh your dog and follow the label of whichever product you choose.
Can I give Antinol if my dog is allergic to shellfish or beef?
The manufacturer advises not giving Antinol to dogs known to be allergic to shellfish, as the oil comes from green-lipped mussels. The capsule shell contains beef gelatin, so dogs with a beef allergy need extra care. Please speak to your vet before giving it, and contact them straight away if you suspect a reaction.
My dog is stiff and slowing down. Should I start a supplement or see the vet?
Speak to your vet first, particularly if the stiffness is persistent, getting worse or comes on suddenly. A joint supplement is a complementary feed that helps support mobility and comfort alongside weight management, suitable exercise and veterinary care. It does not replace a vet's diagnosis or any prescribed treatment.


