‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
Dasuquin dosage guide: how much to give by weight
Share this article

Dasuquin dosage guide: how much to give by weight

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Dasuquin comparison

Thinking about Dasuquin for your dog?

Tap your dog's size to see how Dasuquin compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how Dasuquin compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    Dasuquin dosage guide: how much to give by weight

    If you have been handed a tub of Dasuquin, or you are thinking about one, the first question is usually a practical one: how much do I actually give? The answer depends on your dog's weight, which version you have bought, and where you are in the plan. It is not a single fixed daily amount.

    This guide walks through the manufacturer's published dosing plan for the three versions we found information on: Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews, Dasuquin Advanced Chewable Tablets and standard Dasuquin Chewable Tablets. We have kept to what those sources state, and we say clearly where the detail is missing.

    One important point for UK readers: the sources are US-based. They use pounds and US pack counts, and formulas, pack sizes and availability may differ in the UK. Always follow the label on the pack you actually hold, and talk to your vet before you start.

    Dosing by weight: where MedPaw fits alongside Dasuquin

    Once you know how many Dasuquin chews or tablets your dog needs, the next question is what each daily amount actually contains. That is where a comparison helps, especially if you are weighing up a switch or a second opinion.

    The table below is for that. It sets out MedPaw, our own product, against five popular UK joint supplements, starting with how many of six key joint actives each one lists.

    UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    Start with the top row. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is the only one of the six with all six key actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. Everything arrives in one soft chew, so your daily count is the whole routine, with no extra products to add.

    Dasuquin is not in this table, so we have not compared its formula here. Check its own label for declared actives and read your dog's weight against its dosing plan, as the guide above explains. Then hold that list up against the six actives in the top row.

    For a 20kg dog, the MedPaw label says 2-3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2-3 months of daily use recommended for optimal results. It supports joints and comfort alongside veterinary care, and every tub comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee.

    See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max If you would like all six key joint actives in one daily soft chew, you can see the full MedPaw label and Subscribe & Save option here.

    How the Dasuquin dosing plan works

    The manufacturer describes a two-stage approach. First comes an initial period of 4-6 weeks at a higher daily amount. The manufacturer adds that some dogs "may respond in a shorter period of time".

    After that, the number of chews or tablets "may then be reduced to a maintenance level". The maintenance level can also be used long-term in healthy dogs to help support their joints.

    The practical takeaway is that the dose is not set for life. It is a higher starter amount followed by a review. Whether to step down, stay on the higher amount or adjust is a conversation for you and your vet, not something to guess at.

    Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews: the daily guide

    The soft chew guide is based on bodyweight. The manufacturer lists weights in pounds, so we have added approximate kilogram conversions. Because those are approximate, please check your dog's weight against the pound figures on the pack.

    Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews: chews per day, as published by the manufacturer

    Dog's weight Approx. kg Initial 4-6 weeks Suggested maintenance
    10-29 lbs (small/medium dogs) About 4.5-13 kg 1 chew 1 chew every other day
    30-59 lbs (small/medium dogs) About 13.6-26.8 kg 2 chews 1 chew
    60-120 lbs (large dogs) About 27-54 kg 2 chews 1 chew

    For guidance only, not a diagnosis. Always check the current label on your pack.

    What about very small dogs?

    For dogs under 10 lbs (about 4.5 kg), the manufacturer says chewable tablets are recommended rather than soft chews. If you have a toy breed, ask your vet which format suits your dog before you buy.

    Pack sizes

    The soft chews come in a small/medium dog version (84 count) and a large dog version (84 and 150 count). The manufacturer notes the products are formulated for dogs of all sizes. Choosing the right version for your dog's size matters, because the amount of each active differs between the two.

    Dasuquin Advanced and standard Dasuquin tablets

    Dasuquin Advanced Chewable Tablets

    The Advanced tablets follow the same two-stage structure. There is an initial 4-6 weeks, counted in tablets per day, then a suggested maintenance level that can be used long-term in healthy dogs.

    The dose table for this product did not come through in the source material, so we cannot quote tablet numbers by weight. Please check the current label or ask your vet. The pack sizes listed are 64 count for small/medium dogs, and 64 and 140 count for large dogs.

    Standard Dasuquin Chewable Tablets

    A retailer's Q&A, relaying the manufacturer's guidance for a 120 lb dog (about 54 kg), gives a useful picture of how the plan can flex:

    • Two tablets are given for the initial 4-6 weeks.
    • After that, the dose may be reduced to a maintenance dose of one tablet, or the dog may stay on the initial dose, depending on the dog's needs.
    • The maintenance dose can be increased back to the initial dose "as needed during periods of activity for more support".
    • The retailer recommends consulting the pet's vet to set the proper long-term dose.

    The retailer also groups products as small to medium dogs (under 60 lbs, about 27 kg) and large dogs (over 60 lbs). Please treat this as retailer information rather than a full manufacturer label.

    What is in each version, as stated by the sources

    Knowing which version you have matters, because the ingredient lists are not the same. Where two figures appear below, the first is the small/medium dog version and the second is the large dog version. Amounts are per chew or tablet.

    Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

    • Glucosamine hydrochloride: 600 mg / 900 mg
    • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM): 400 mg / 800 mg
    • Sodium chondroitin sulfate: 250 mg / 350 mg (reported on a hydrous basis)
    • Total omega-3s: 60 mg / 90 mg, of which EPA + DHA is 50 mg / 75 mg
    • Avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU) powder: 45 mg / 90 mg (standardised to a minimum of 30% unsaponifiables)
    • Boswellia serrata extract: 20 mg / 40 mg
    • Green tea extract: 16 mg / 32 mg

    Other ingredients listed are fish oil, glycerin, lecithin, mixed tocopherols (preservative), natural and artificial flavours, rosemary extract, silicon dioxide, soy protein isolate, starch, stearic acid and vegetable oil. The manufacturer states that the glucosamine, chondroitin and ASU are branded, proprietary specifications (FCHG49, TRH122 and NMX1000).

    Dasuquin Advanced Chewable Tablets

    • Glucosamine hydrochloride (FCHG49), sodium chondroitin sulfate (TRH122; 250 mg small/medium, 350 mg large), ASU powder (NMX1000; 45 mg / 90 mg) and MSM
    • Manganese (as manganese ascorbate)
    • A proprietary blend of Boswellia serrata extract, Curcuma longa extract (NMXCC95), green tea extract (EGCG) and alpha-lipoic acid

    Other ingredients listed include brewers dried yeast, dextrose, lecithin, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, mixed tocopherols, natural and artificial flavours, silicon dioxide and soy protein isolate. The amounts for some of these were not readable in the source, so please check the current label.

    Standard Dasuquin Chewable Tablets

    • Small/medium dogs: glucosamine 600 mg, sodium chondroitin sulfate 250 mg and ASU powder 45 mg per tablet
    • Large dogs: glucosamine 900 mg, sodium chondroitin sulfate 350 mg and ASU powder 90 mg per tablet

    Inactive ingredients listed include dextrose, dried brewers yeast, green tea extract, gum resin, lecithin, magnesium stearate (small/medium only), microcrystalline cellulose, mixed tocopherols, flavours, silicon dioxide and soy protein isolate.

    The retailer says the only difference between standard Dasuquin and the MSM version is that the MSM version contains methylsulfonylmethane. That was a community answer given some years ago, and it does not describe the Advanced version.

    The sources also mention a separate cat formula in capsules. Dog and cat products are not interchangeable, so always use the one made for your species.

    Useful context before you buy

    • What it is designed to do: the sources say the combination of glucosamine, chondroitin and ASU is designed to help support cartilage structure and joint function. These are support statements, not promises about any particular condition.
    • The vet recommendation claim: the manufacturer describes itself as the "#1 veterinarian recommended" brand, based on its own surveys of small animal vets. That is the company's marketing claim, not independent proof of how well it works for your dog.
    • Prescription status: the retailer says Dasuquin does not need a prescription in the US. UK owners should check the status of the exact product they are buying.
    • Fish, soy and yeast: the soft chews list fish oil and soy protein isolate, and the tablets list soy protein isolate and brewers yeast. If your dog has a known food sensitivity, show your vet the full ingredient list first.

    Practical steps for getting the dose right

    1. Weigh your dog. Use a recent weight, ideally from the vet scales, and convert it so you pick the right row of the guide.
    2. Choose the format with your vet. The manufacturer says to consult a vet about which formula suits the dog. Dogs under about 4.5 kg are pointed to tablets rather than soft chews.
    3. Plan for the initial 4-6 weeks. Put a start date in your diary and note your dog's mobility that day. Simple observations work well: how easily they get up, whether they hesitate at stairs or the sofa, and how long they walk for.
    4. Review before stepping down. After the initial period, talk to your vet before dropping to the maintenance level or changing the dose. Some dogs may respond sooner, but that does not mean everyone should step down early.
    5. Do not copy a dose from a review or forum. One review in the sources describes giving half a tablet daily. An individual owner's routine is not the manufacturer's guidance, so please don't use it as a dosing guide.
    6. Keep it consistent. A supplement given daily to the plan is much easier to judge than one given on and off.
    7. Check the current label. The sources do not cover UK labelling, pack sizes or current formulations. Anything not stated above should be checked on the pack or with the supplier.

    It also helps to think about the whole picture. A supplement sits alongside veterinary care, a healthy weight, suitable exercise and comfortable bedding. It does not replace any of them.

    When to see a vet

    The manufacturer's own advice is that the first step on noticing changes in your dog's health should be talking to your veterinarian. Changes in mobility can affect dogs of any age, including younger dogs, so there is no need to wait until your dog looks old before raising it.

    How quickly to involve your vet

    Mention

    Small changes in routine

    Shorter walks, less interest in play, or a little hesitation at the sofa or car. Raise it at your next visit, and before starting any supplement.

    Book

    Signs that are persisting

    Not getting up as easily as before, reluctance on stairs, or a new limp or stiffness, especially in the back legs. Book an appointment.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe signs

    Sudden lameness, refusing to put weight on a leg, yelping, or swelling and heat around a joint. Seek prompt veterinary advice.

    Also call your vet if your dog seems unwell after starting a supplement, for example vomiting, diarrhoea, itching or loss of appetite. Stop the supplement and ring the practice. If your dog already takes medication or has another health condition, check with your vet before adding anything new.

    Supplements are not a substitute for diagnosis. One reviewer in the sources said their older dogs still needed additional veterinary medication for pain and inflammation alongside the supplement. That is a gentle reminder to keep your vet involved, not a result you should expect.

    A note on comparing products

    Dasuquin's feeding guide, formula and pack sizes are specific to Dasuquin. They cannot be applied to other products, and other products' guides cannot be applied to Dasuquin. For example, MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a separate daily soft chew with its own formula and its own feeding guide on its label.

    Never combine doses across products, and do not give two joint supplements together without checking with your vet. If you are unsure whether to stay with Dasuquin or try something different, your vet can help you weigh up the options for your dog's size, age and health.

    How much Dasuquin should I give my dog by weight?

    The manufacturer's published guide for Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews is based on bodyweight, in pounds. Dogs of 10-29 lbs (about 4.5-13 kg) are listed at 1 chew a day to start, dogs of 30-59 lbs (about 13.6-26.8 kg) at 2 chews, and dogs of 60-120 lbs (about 27-54 kg) at 2 chews. Always check the label on the pack you hold and ask your vet before you start, as UK labels and pack sizes may differ.

    How long should I give the higher starting amount of Dasuquin?

    The manufacturer describes an initial period of 4-6 weeks at the higher daily amount, and says some dogs may respond in a shorter time. After that, the amount may be reduced to a maintenance level. Your vet is the best person to advise whether to step down, stay on the starting amount or adjust it for your dog.

    Can I use the same Dasuquin dose for a small dog and a large dog?

    No. The soft chews come in a small/medium dog version and a large dog version, and the amount of each active differs between them. Choosing the version made for your dog's size matters as much as counting the chews. For dogs under about 4.5 kg, the manufacturer points owners towards chewable tablets rather than soft chews, so ask your vet which format suits a toy breed.

    How does the MedPaw feeding guide compare at 20kg?

    MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a separate product with its own formula and its own printed feeding guide. For a 20kg dog the label says 2-3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2-3 months of daily use recommended. A tub holds 60 chews, so the number of days it lasts depends on whether you give 2 or 3 chews. Never combine the dosing of two different products.

    Can I give Dasuquin and another joint supplement together?

    It is best not to give two joint supplements together unless your vet has agreed to it. Each product has its own formula and feeding guide, and doses should never be added across products. If you are thinking of switching, ask your vet to help you choose, and follow the label of whichever product you settle on.

    My dog seems stiff. Should I just start a supplement?

    Please speak to your vet first. Stiffness, a new limp or reluctance on stairs can have several causes, and a supplement is not a substitute for a proper diagnosis or veterinary care. Joint supplements are complementary feeds that help support mobility and comfort as part of a wider routine of healthy weight, suitable exercise and comfortable bedding.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.