You have started your dog on a joint supplement, and now you are watching. Every time they get up from the bed or hesitate at the bottom of the stairs, you wonder whether it is working yet. If your dog is on Dasuquin, or you are thinking about it, the question of timing comes up very quickly.
The honest answer is that some owners notice small changes within days, but a fair judgement usually takes several weeks of steady daily use. Here we go through what the veterinary information we have reviewed says about timing, what is known about the formula, and how to run a sensible trial so you can tell how your dog is getting on.
The sources we drew on are US veterinary information pages, so they do not cover UK labelling, UK availability or UK rules. Where they are silent, please check the current UK label on your pack.
Dasuquin timing and what the ingredient table shows
Once you know Dasuquin needs weeks rather than days, the next question is what is actually in the tub. Here is how it sits against MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, which is our own product, and a few other well-known UK options.
MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The headline from the table is the key joint actives score. MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. When you are giving a supplement for weeks before judging it, it makes sense to start with the widest range in one daily dose.
The table lists Dasuquin separately, so check its current UK label for its own composition and dose. Whichever you choose, the same patience applies. MedPaw suggests 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results, with the amount doubled for the first three weeks, to support joints, mobility and comfort alongside your vet's care.
MedPaw is also a soft chew rather than a tablet or capsule, which can make a long daily routine easier to keep up. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save if you want it to arrive without you having to remember to reorder.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max It brings all six key joint actives together in one daily soft chew, so your trial period is built on the fullest formula in the table.
The short answer on timing
The sources describe a gradual pattern rather than a switch being flicked. One says the supplement can take several days to have an effect on the body. Another says gradual improvements are usually noticeable after a few days, and that it can take up to a few weeks before full effects are seen.
That is a general guide, not a promise. The sources do not say how many dogs show changes or how large those changes are, so no one can honestly tell you what your own dog will do. Age, size, lifestyle and the reason for the stiffness all play a part.
For a fair trial, the guidance suggests giving a glucosamine and chondroitin supplement for at least 2 to 6 weeks before deciding how well it may be suiting your dog.
What Dasuquin Advanced's manufacturer recommends
For Dasuquin Advanced specifically, the manufacturer recommends an initial higher-dose period of 4 to 6 weeks, followed by a move to a maintenance dose. The sources do not give the actual amounts. These depend on the product version and your dog's weight, so the current label is your reference point, along with anything your vet has told you.
This matters for your expectations. If you are in the higher-dose phase, you are still in the early part of the process. Judging the supplement after a week or two, particularly if you have not yet reached the maintenance stage, is likely to be too soon.
Why daily consistency matters
Both sources describe the supplement as short-acting in the body. It should stop working within 24 hours of the last dose, although the effects can last longer in pets with liver or kidney disease.
In practice, that suggests regular daily dosing makes sense. If doses are often missed, it becomes very hard to tell whether the supplement is doing anything at all. Giving it at a similar time each day makes it easier to build a routine.
Timing at a glance, based on the veterinary sources reviewed
| Point | What the sources say | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Early changes | A few days, gradual | Small shifts are possible, but easy to miss |
| Full effects | Up to a few weeks | Be patient before drawing conclusions |
| Suggested minimum trial | 2 to 6 weeks | Commit to consistent daily use |
| Dasuquin Advanced higher-dose phase | 4 to 6 weeks (manufacturer recommendation) | Follow the label, then move to maintenance |
| Time to stop working after a dose | Within 24 hours, longer with liver or kidney disease | Daily dosing helps a trial make sense |
| Evidence base | Limited studies, quality lacking, some anecdotal reports | Keep expectations realistic |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
What the sources say is in Dasuquin Advanced
One of our sources lists the ingredients for Dasuquin Advanced. These are the ones it names:
- Glucosamine
- Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
- Sodium chondroitin sulfate
- Avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU)
- Boswellia serrata extract
- Omega fatty acids
- Decaffeinated green tea extract
- Alpha-lipoic acid (ALA)
- Manganese
- Curcumin extract
The sources do not state the format, strength, flavour, price or guarantee, so please check the current label for those. Formulas can also change between versions of the same brand, which is another good reason to rely on the pack in your hand.
The second source names Dasuquin and Dasuquin Advanced among many glucosamine and chondroitin combination products. It describes that group in general terms rather than giving Dasuquin's exact formula, so not every statement about the group will apply to every product.
A word on switching brands
The source advises caution when changing brands, because the amount of each active ingredient may not be the same. If you swap products part-way through a trial, you lose the ability to tell what is making a difference. It is usually better to give one product a proper go before deciding to move on, ideally with your vet's input.
How to run a fair trial at home
Because the changes are gradual, they are easy to overlook. You see your dog every day, so a small improvement can slip by unnoticed. A little structure helps a great deal.
- Check the label and your vet's instructions first. The label sets the dose for your dog's weight. If your vet's directions differ, follow your vet.
- Record a baseline before you start. Note how your dog gets up, manages stairs, jumps into the car and walks at the start and end of a walk. A short video of walking and rising is very useful.
- Compare weekly. Watch the video again once a week rather than relying on memory.
- Change one thing at a time. Starting a supplement, a new diet and a new exercise routine all together makes it impossible to know which is helping.
- Keep a simple diary. Note doses given, missed doses, appetite, stools, energy and any stiffness. Take it along to vet visits.
- Dose at a similar time each day. This fits with the short-acting nature described in the sources.
If your dog vomits when given doses on an empty stomach, the source suggests giving future doses with food.
Keeping expectations realistic
It is only fair to say that the evidence for this type of supplement is limited. One source describes the available animal studies as few and lacking in quality, alongside some anecdotal reports of benefit. That does not mean a supplement cannot be a useful part of your dog's routine. It does mean no one should promise you a result.
A supplement is best seen as a complementary addition to veterinary care. It supports a wider plan and does not replace a diagnosis, a treatment plan or your vet's advice.
The basics still matter most
Whatever you give, several everyday things make a real difference to how comfortable a dog feels:
- Keeping your dog at a healthy weight
- Controlled, steady lead walks rather than occasional bursts of hard exercise
- Non-slip flooring or rugs on slippery surfaces
- A supportive, well-placed bed
- A vet-guided exercise plan
Ask your vet for advice tailored to your dog. These steps often matter as much as anything in a pot or packet.
Safety and side effects
One source says there are no documented side effects from Dasuquin Advanced. It also notes that side effects can occur immediately, and reminds owners that natural does not mean safe. Supplements can have side effects, just as medicines can.
The other source, describing glucosamine and chondroitin products in general, says side effects are uncommon but may include mild gas and soft stools. It also says information on side effects and risks is limited.
Cautions to discuss with your vet
- Some formulations contain significant amounts of potassium, so take care with dogs that need a low-potassium diet.
- Safety has not been evaluated in pregnant or lactating animals.
- Use caution in dogs with asthma or bronchoconstriction, and avoid the product if your dog is allergic to an ingredient, which is rare.
- The source says antidiabetic medicines, doxorubicin, etoposide, heparin and warfarin should be used with caution alongside glucosamine and chondroitin.
- Boswellia and curcumin are plant-derived ingredients, so ask whether anything in the formula is a concern given your dog's other conditions or medicines.
Tell your vet about every medicine, vitamin, supplement and herbal product your dog takes. It is the simplest way to avoid surprises.
What to do if you miss a dose
Both sources agree on this. Give the missed dose when you remember. If it is nearly time for the next dose, skip the missed one and go back to the normal schedule. Never give two doses at once or add extra doses to catch up.
When to speak to your vet
A supplement should never delay a diagnosis. Limping, stiffness, slowing down or reluctance to exercise can have many causes, so it is worth having them examined before you start anything.
How quickly to seek advice
Before you start
Book a check if stiffness or slowing down has not yet been examined, or if your dog has diabetes, liver or kidney disease, asthma, or takes blood-thinning or chemotherapy medicines. Pregnant or nursing dogs also need a vet's view first.
Signs that persist or worsen
Contact your vet if signs worsen or fail to improve despite supplement use, or if you see persistent vomiting, diarrhoea, loss of appetite or lethargy after starting. Do not simply increase the dose.
Same-day help
Sudden or severe lameness, a leg not bearing weight, a hot or swollen joint, yelping when touched, facial swelling, hives, breathing difficulty, or a suspected overdose, such as a dog that has eaten a whole pot. Call your vet at once and have the product details and your dog's weight ready.
If you see no change after a fair trial, talk it through with your vet. They can look at the whole picture, which may include pain relief, weight, activity and other options, rather than relying on a bigger dose of a supplement.
How this compares with MedPaw's own timing guidance
Because owners often compare timelines, it helps to keep the two products clearly separate. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed, with its own feeding guide. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and 2 to 3 months of daily use is recommended. It comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee.
Its formula is different from the Dasuquin Advanced list above, so the two should not be treated as the same or interchangeable. Whichever product you choose, the principle is similar: give it consistently, allow enough time, track what you see, and keep your vet involved.
The takeaway
Some dogs may show small changes within days, but weeks of consistent use give a much fairer picture. For Dasuquin Advanced, the manufacturer recommends a 4 to 6 week higher-dose start before maintenance, so keep that in mind before judging it too early.
Set a baseline, keep a diary, change one thing at a time, and check the current label for the format, dose and ingredients, since the sources we reviewed do not cover them and come from the US. A supplement can sit alongside good care, and your vet remains the best person to guide the plan.
How long does Dasuquin take to work in dogs?
The veterinary sources we reviewed describe a gradual pattern. Some owners may notice small changes within days, but a fairer judgement usually takes several weeks of steady daily use. No one can promise what your own dog will do, so keep a simple diary and talk it through with your vet.
How long should I give Dasuquin before deciding if it suits my dog?
Guidance for glucosamine and chondroitin supplements suggests a trial of at least 2 to 6 weeks. For Dasuquin Advanced, the manufacturer recommends an initial higher-dose period of 4 to 6 weeks before moving to maintenance, so judging it after a week or two is likely to be too soon. Always follow the current label and any directions from your vet.
What should I do if I see no change after 8 to 12 weeks?
If a fair, consistent trial has passed with no change, speak to your vet rather than increasing the dose. They can look at the whole picture, including weight, activity and any other causes of stiffness. A supplement is a complementary addition to veterinary care and does not replace a diagnosis or treatment plan.
What happens if I miss a dose of Dasuquin?
The sources we reviewed say to give the missed dose when you remember. If it is nearly time for the next one, skip the missed dose and return to the normal schedule. Never give two doses together to catch up.
Can I switch brands part-way through a trial?
It is best to avoid this if you can. The amount of each active ingredient may differ between products, and swapping mid-trial makes it hard to tell what is making a difference. Give one product a proper go and ask your vet before changing.
How does MedPaw's timing guidance compare?
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed, with its own feeding guide. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and 2 to 3 months of daily use is recommended. It comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee. Its formula differs from Dasuquin's, so the two should not be treated as interchangeable. If your dog is stiff or slowing down, please have your vet examine them first.


