You have been giving your dog Joint Aid every day, and you cannot see a clear difference. That is a frustrating place to be, especially when your dog is still slow to get up or hesitant on the stairs. Before you decide the product has failed, it helps to look at why a joint supplement can seem not to be working.
In most cases the reason is one of a handful: expectations that are too high, too short a trial, the wrong feeding level, a cause of stiffness that a supplement was never going to address, or extra weight putting strain on the joints. We will go through each one calmly, explain what Joint Aid's published information says about its formula, and cover when it is time to talk to your vet.
A joint supplement is a complementary feed. It sits alongside veterinary care, and it does not replace a diagnosis or treatment.
Thinking of switching from Joint Aid? What to look for
If Joint Aid has not given you the change you hoped for, it is worth checking the basics first: the feeding level, the length of the trial and your dog's weight. Once those are covered, it is reasonable to look at what else is available.
The table below compares MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, which is our product, with five well-known UK joint supplements. It starts with how many of six key joint actives each one lists.
MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
Joint Aid for Dogs is not one of the products in this table, so check its current label against the six actives in the first row: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. MedPaw is the only product here that lists all six, scoring 6 of 6. The next highest is NutraPaw at 4 of 6.
For a dog who is still slow to get up, a wider spread of actives in one daily chew gives joint comfort and mobility support from several angles. MedPaw also adds omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, plus vitamins C and E and zinc.
Dose and timing matter with any supplement. For a dog of 18kg and over, MedPaw is 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended. It is a soft chew, backed by a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.
Explore MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Read the full feeding guide and ingredients, and see how a soft daily chew could fit your dog's routine alongside your vet's advice.
What Joint Aid's published information says
The details below come only from the maker's own published information. Ingredient amounts, pack sizes, the form of the product and the full feeding table are not covered here, so please check the current label for those.
- Formula: described as having 32 active ingredients, including glucosamine and hyaluronic acid. The glucosamine is made by fermentation rather than from shellfish.
- Muscle support: the formula includes the amino acids arginine, isoleucine, leucine, lysine and valine, plus glycine and proline, and is marketed with a "Muscle Maintenance" element.
- Other named ingredients: curcumin (the turmeric component), vitamins C and E, selenium, manganese and magnesium.
- Omega-3: from plant-based sources. It does not contain green-lipped mussel, and it is described as shellfish free with no animal by-products.
- Delivery system: the Oatinol Delivery System, described as natural and oil-based, supplying galactolipids, tocotrienols, oat-derived beta glucans and phospholipids. The stated aim is to support gut absorption of the other ingredients.
The maker also describes it as suitable for all life stages. It says puppies under 6 months do not usually need a joint supplement unless there is an injury or a family history of joint problems. No known side effects are stated when it is fed to the guidelines, unless a dog is allergic to an ingredient.
Five common reasons a supplement seems not to work
Here is a quick overview, followed by more detail on each one.
Common reasons a joint supplement seems to make no difference
| Possible reason | What it can look like | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| The cause of the stiffness is not what you assumed | No change, or signs that get worse | Ask your vet for a diagnosis |
| Expecting a quick or complete fix | Only small changes, or none you can spot | Keep a mobility diary and give it time |
| Extra weight on the joints | Slow on walks, tiring easily | Ask for a body condition check and feeding plan |
| Dose or level is off | Inconsistent results | Re-check the label against current weight |
| The ingredient mix does not suit the dog's needs | Little change despite correct use | Talk to your vet about the wider plan |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
1. The problem is not what you think it is
Owners often use "hip dysplasia" and "arthritis" as though they mean the same thing, but they are different. Arthritis is a gradual, inflammatory joint disease in which cartilage wears away over time. Hip dysplasia is an inherited deformity that leaves the joint loose, which leads to wear and discomfort.
A US veterinary school source notes that some studies suggest supplements may help dogs with hip dysplasia, while others show minimal to no benefit. Where surgery is an option, it is described as the gold standard. Otherwise, weight management, suitable exercise, physiotherapy and prescribed medication are the mainstays.
Slowing down, stiffness and limping can also come from injury, ligament problems or other conditions entirely. A vet check is the only way to know which applies to your dog.
2. Supplements are not a quick fix
A UK veterinary charity describes joint supplements as useful for some pets but not all, and suggests speaking to your vet. The US source says that few supplements, other than fish oil, have been definitively proven to slow joint degeneration. It adds that glucosamine and chondroitin may help, and that supplements may work better as support before problems develop than once damage is advanced.
In practice, a supplement may help a dog feel more comfortable as part of a wider plan. It cannot rebuild worn cartilage or correct a deformity, so it is kinder to expect gradual, modest changes rather than a dramatic one.
3. Weight puts a lot of strain on joints
Extra weight contributes to both the onset and the progression of joint disease. For overweight dogs, the US source says weight loss alone often brings significant comfort. If your dog is carrying a little extra weight, this may be the most useful change you can make, and no supplement will fully offset it.
You should be able to feel your dog's ribs easily without pressing hard. If you are unsure, ask your vet or a vet nurse for a body condition check, and for a safe target weight and feeding plan.
4. The level, dose or consistency is off
There is no universal recommendation for how much of each joint ingredient a dog needs each day. The US source also points out that supplements are not regulated like medicines, so what is on the label may not always match what is in the product. Reputable manufacturers are more likely to include sensible levels, and a recognised quality scheme can be a useful signal. Joint Aid's information states Universal Feed Assurance Scheme registration.
Run through these checks:
- Follow the label for your dog's current weight, not an estimate. Weigh your dog if you are unsure.
- Check you are using the right level. Joint Aid has "Maintenance" and "Full Support" levels, and Full Support is recommended for elderly or working dogs, or dogs with reduced muscle mass.
- Measure accurately and feed it every day, as missed days make it hard to judge any effect.
The maker's amounts are given in measures, and the full feeding table is not reproduced here. That is why the pack itself is the only reliable guide.
5. The ingredient mix may not suit the dog's needs
Products differ, and the research behind individual ingredients varies. The US source describes omega-3 fatty acids from fish oil as the supplement with the most support in the literature, though omega-3 amounts in many supplements are fairly low. It also describes green-lipped mussel as having several studies in dogs with arthritis. Glucosamine and chondroitin are thought to help, but the evidence is not definitive.
Joint Aid's omega-3 comes from plant sources, and it does not contain green-lipped mussel. That does not make it ineffective. It does mean a dog with established arthritis may need a different or additional approach, and that is a conversation for your vet. Please do not add a separate omega-3 product without asking first. It is possible to overdo it, and fish oil is high in calories, so it is not usually advised for overweight dogs until they reach a healthy weight.
It is also fair to say research is still developing. Many early claims were built on a small number of studies, some of them funded by manufacturers, though more good-quality studies are now appearing.
Practical steps if Joint Aid does not seem to be helping
Rather than stopping abruptly or switching products straight away, try a short, structured review first.
- Check how long you have given it. Note the date you started, and keep a simple diary of how your dog moves from week to week.
- Re-read the feeding guide. Confirm the level, your dog's current weight and the measure size.
- Introduce it gradually if needed. For fussy or sensitive dogs, the maker advises building up over 10 days, starting at 50% of the recommended amount.
- Record what you see. Note how easily your dog gets up, uses stairs, jumps into the car, and how they are after walks. Short videos are very helpful for your vet.
- Look at weight and body condition. Ask your practice for a check if you are not sure.
- Review exercise. Regular, controlled, low-impact exercise is usually kinder on joints than the occasional long walk. A vet or vet physiotherapist can suggest a plan.
- Make home easier. Non-slip flooring, ramps and orthopaedic bedding can all help your dog's comfort.
- Avoid stacking products without advice. Overlapping supplements can lead to overdosing, so check with your vet first.
A note on the guarantee
Joint Aid has a UK money-back guarantee, but only on its 250g and 500g packs. The dog must be fed to the recommendation, and the refund applies if there is no change whatsoever once the pack is used. Postage costs may be deducted. If you are thinking of making a claim, read the full terms and conditions first.
When to see your vet
A supplement is never a substitute for a proper check. The guide below can help you decide how quickly to act.
How quickly to seek veterinary advice
Mild stiffness, little change
Your dog is comfortable overall but slow to get going. Keep your diary, review the dose and weight, and mention it at their next routine check.
Persistent or worsening signs
Ongoing limping, reluctance to jump or climb stairs, muscle loss in the back legs, or no improvement despite consistent use. Book a vet appointment.
Sudden or severe signs
Your dog suddenly cannot put weight on a leg, cannot stand, has a swollen or hot joint, or seems in severe pain. Seek veterinary help straight away.
Other signs worth a vet visit include yelping or flinching when touched, licking or chewing at a joint, an unusual gait such as "bunny hopping" or a swaying back end, and changes in behaviour, appetite or sleep. The same applies if your dog is already on pain relief and still seems uncomfortable, or if a young dog, or a breed known for joint problems, is showing signs of discomfort.
Take the supplement pack or label with you so your vet can review the ingredients and amounts. Depending on the diagnosis, they may suggest imaging, pain relief, a weight plan, physiotherapy or, in some cases, surgery.
A UK veterinary charity notes that joint supplements are not associated with major side effects, can be given over a long period, and can generally be given alongside common arthritis medicines. Even so, please check with your vet first, and any change to your dog's medication should only ever be made by them.
Comparing labels when choosing a joint supplement
Formulas differ widely, so it pays to compare labels carefully and ask your vet which approach suits your dog. For reference only, and separate from Joint Aid: MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed containing glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata, with omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, plus vitamins C and E and zinc. It comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee, and its feeding guide recommends 2-3 months of daily use. None of this describes Joint Aid.
What matters most is that the product suits your individual dog, that you can feed it consistently, and that it sits within a wider plan of weight control, suitable exercise and veterinary guidance.
Key takeaways
- Joint supplements are there to support comfort and mobility, and results vary from dog to dog.
- Get a diagnosis first, because arthritis, hip dysplasia and other causes of stiffness are managed differently.
- Weight control, suitable exercise and vet-led care often make the biggest difference to comfort.
- Check the dose, the level, the consistency and the time on the product before deciding it has not worked.
- For anything not covered here about Joint Aid, check the current label or contact the maker.
How long should I give Joint Aid for Dogs before deciding it is not working?
Joint supplements are generally seen as gradual support rather than a quick fix, so a few days or a couple of weeks is rarely enough to judge. Note your start date, follow the feeding guide on the current label, and keep a simple weekly diary of how your dog gets up, manages stairs and copes after walks. If you see no change after a consistent trial, or signs are getting worse, speak to your vet.
Could I be feeding the wrong amount of Joint Aid for Dogs?
It is worth checking. Joint Aid's published information describes a Maintenance level and a Full Support level, and the right amount depends on your dog's current weight, so weigh your dog rather than estimating. The full feeding table is not covered here, so please check the current label or contact the maker for the exact amounts.
Does Joint Aid for Dogs contain green-lipped mussel?
According to the maker's published information, no. Its omega-3 comes from plant-based sources and it is described as shellfish free. Other products take a different approach, for example MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max contains green-lipped mussel alongside glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. Always check each product's current label to compare.
Why might my dog still be stiff even though I give a joint supplement every day?
Stiffness can come from several causes, including arthritis, hip dysplasia, an injury or a ligament problem, and a supplement is not designed to address all of them. Extra weight can also put a lot of strain on the joints. If your dog is still slow, limping or reluctant to jump, please book a vet check so the cause can be identified.
Can I add another supplement if Joint Aid does not seem to help?
Please speak to your vet before stacking products. Overlapping supplements can lead to overdosing, and something like fish oil is high in calories, so it is not always suitable for every dog. Your vet can advise whether a different approach or an addition makes sense for your dog.
How much would I feed of MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max for a 20kg dog?
The label says 2-3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks, and 2-3 months of daily use is recommended. For a 20kg dog that means 4-6 chews a day for the first three weeks, then 2-3 a day. A tub holds 60 chews, so it lasts 10-15 days at the doubled rate and 20-30 days at the standard rate. MedPaw is a complementary feed and does not replace veterinary care, so check with your vet if you have any concerns about your dog's joints.


