Quick answer: Pooch & Mutt's Joint Tablets give more glucosamine and chondroitin per tablet and add collagen, but they have no green-lipped mussel or Boswellia, lactose is the first ingredient, bigger and older dogs need a lot of tablets, and there's no published money-back guarantee. Its Mobile Bones powder doesn't publish how much of each active is in a dose. MedPaw is a soft chew with all six key joint actives and a 60-day guarantee. If your dog won't take tablets or powder, or you want a broader formula, we'd recommend MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews.
Transparency note: this page is written by MedPaw, which makes a competing joint supplement. Pooch & Mutt details come from its own product pages, and MedPaw's from our label. Everything was checked on 8 October 2026, and we've been clear where Pooch & Mutt comes out ahead.
MedPaw vs Pooch & Mutt at a glance
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews vs Pooch & Mutt Joint Tablets and Mobile Bones
| MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews | Pooch & Mutt Joint Tablets | Pooch & Mutt Mobile Bones | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Format | Soft chicken and bacon chew | Tablet, small or large (2g) | Powder, mixed into food by the teaspoon |
| Glucosamine | 170mg per chew | 334mg per large tablet | 1.4% (amount per teaspoon not published) |
| Chondroitin | 70mg per chew | 150mg per large tablet | Not listed |
| MSM | 185mg per chew | 100mg per large tablet | 1.4% (amount per teaspoon not published) |
| Green-lipped mussel | 70mg per chew | Not listed | Not listed |
| Hyaluronic acid | Yes, amount not published | 10mg per large tablet | Not listed |
| Boswellia | 30mg per chew | Not listed | Not listed |
| Other | Vitamin C 33mg, vitamin E 24 IU, zinc 3mg | Hydrolysed collagen 200mg, vitamin C 10mg | Fish oil 1.5%, yucca, evening primrose oil, vitamins |
| Loading phase | Double for the first three weeks | None stated; double for seniors and injured dogs | None stated |
| Allergens and ingredients to note | Mollusc, gluten (brewer's yeast); chicken and bacon flavour | Lactose (first ingredient), hydrolysed liver and collagen (source not stated); no allergen statement | Maize, maize gluten meal, yeast, fish oil; described as chicken-free |
| Pack size | 60 chews | 100g (small or large) or 230g (large); tablet count not stated on the official page | 200g |
| Guarantee | 60 days from delivery, any reason, nothing to send back | No terms published; returns only if unopened, within 30 days | "Money back guarantee" in the page description, no terms published |
| Subscription | Pause, change or cancel any time from your account or by email | Manage in your account; with several products, cancel each one separately | |
| Where to buy | medpaw.co.uk | poochandmutt.co.uk, Ocado | poochandmutt.co.uk, Ocado, PDSA Pet Store |
Sources: Pooch & Mutt's Joint Tablets, Mobile Bones, returns and subscription pages. Pooch & Mutt publishes per-tablet amounts for the large tablet only.
Where Pooch & Mutt falls short
Two key actives missing
The Joint Tablets cover glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM and hyaluronic acid, plus collagen, but not green-lipped mussel or Boswellia. Mobile Bones is a broad food-style powder where glucosamine and MSM are 1.4% each, with no amount per teaspoon. MedPaw contains all six key joint actives in every chew.
A lot of tablets for bigger, older dogs
The large tablet is 1 per 10kg a day, doubled for seniors and injured dogs, so a 30kg senior needs 6 tablets every day. Reviewers have complained about tablet counts and pots running out quickly. MedPaw is 2 to 3 chews a day for dogs 18kg and over, after doubling for the first three weeks.
Getting it into your dog
In the low-star Feefo reviews we read, about 1 in 3 were about dogs refusing the tablets or leaving food with Mobile Bones on it. Lactose is also the first ingredient in the tablets, which one reviewer blamed for their dog's diarrhoea. MedPaw is a soft chew most dogs take from your hand like a treat. See our Pooch & Mutt reviews for the full set of complaints.
No guarantee once it's opened
Pooch & Mutt's returns page only takes back unopened products within 30 days, so if your dog won't eat it or it doesn't help, an opened pot can't go back. MedPaw's guarantee runs for 60 days from delivery, for any reason, and you keep the tub.
Why Pooch & Mutt customers switch to MedPaw
The issues that make owners look for a Pooch & Mutt alternative
| The issue | Pooch & Mutt | MedPaw |
|---|---|---|
| Dog won't take it | Tablet or powder on food | Soft chew, given like a treat |
| Green-lipped mussel and Boswellia | Not in either product | Both, in every chew |
| Daily count for a 30kg senior | 6 large tablets, every day | 2 to 3 chews (after the first three weeks) |
| If it doesn't suit your dog | Opened products can't be returned | 60-day money-back guarantee, keep the tub |
Our recommendation: if your dog spits out tablets or turns its nose up at powder, you're counting out a handful of tablets every day, or you want green-lipped mussel and Boswellia in the mix, choose MedPaw. Try MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews.
When Pooch & Mutt might suit your dog instead
- Your dog has a shellfish allergy. Pooch & Mutt's tablets list no shellfish, while MedPaw contains green-lipped mussel.
- You want the most glucosamine and chondroitin per tablet, plus collagen and a stated amount of hyaluronic acid. The large tablet has more of each per tablet than a MedPaw chew.
- Your dog happily eats tablets, or you want a chicken-free option: Mobile Bones is described as chicken-free, and MedPaw is chicken and bacon flavoured.
Switching from Pooch & Mutt to MedPaw
Swap rather than stack: stop Pooch & Mutt and start MedPaw the next day, with no gap. Follow MedPaw's normal feeding guide, including the first three weeks at double the usual amount. Give it six to eight weeks, and keep a weekly note of how your dog gets up, walks and handles stairs. If you're not happy, email bark@medpaw.co.uk within 60 days of delivery and we'll refund you. Check with your vet first if your dog takes any medication.
If nothing has worked so far
If your dog is still stiff or sore after a fair trial of any supplement, see your vet. They may suggest pain relief, weight loss or an omega-3 fish oil at a proper dose, which has the strongest evidence for dogs with arthritis. Neither Mobile Bones (1.5% fish oil) nor MedPaw is a high-dose omega-3. Read what you can safely give a dog for joint pain and the best fish oil for dogs' joints.
More on Pooch & Mutt: Pooch & Mutt ingredients explained and Pooch & Mutt Mobile Bones vs YuMOVE.
Is MedPaw better than Pooch & Mutt?
For most dogs we'd recommend MedPaw: it's a soft chew, it contains all six key joint actives including green-lipped mussel and Boswellia, bigger dogs need fewer a day, and it has a 60-day money-back guarantee. Pooch & Mutt's large tablet has more glucosamine and chondroitin per tablet and adds collagen, and it contains no shellfish.
Which Pooch & Mutt product is for joints?
Pooch & Mutt sells Joint Tablets (small and large) and Mobile Bones, a powder you mix into food. The tablets carry glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, hyaluronic acid and collagen; Mobile Bones has glucosamine, MSM and fish oil at 1.4 to 1.5% each.
Does Pooch & Mutt contain green-lipped mussel?
No. Neither the Joint Tablets nor Mobile Bones lists green-lipped mussel or Boswellia. MedPaw contains 70mg green-lipped mussel and 30mg Boswellia per chew.
Can I give MedPaw and Pooch & Mutt together?
There's no need, as they overlap on glucosamine and MSM. Swap rather than stack. If you want to add something, ask your vet about an omega-3 fish oil.
Does Pooch & Mutt have a money-back guarantee?
We couldn't find published terms for one. Its returns page accepts products only if they're unopened and returned within 30 days. MedPaw's guarantee lasts 60 days from delivery and you don't need to send anything back.
Can I switch from Pooch & Mutt to MedPaw straight away?
Yes. Stop Pooch & Mutt and start MedPaw the next day. There's no need for a gap, and you shouldn't give both. Check with your vet first if your dog takes any medication.


