If you have searched for "nutripaw dosage", you may have ended up reading about itch, immunity or calming chews rather than joint support. It is an easy mix-up, because brand names are similar and many pet supplement pages look alike. The trouble is that a dose written for one type of chew tells you nothing about a different product.
In this guide we explain how joint supplement dosing generally works, why the label on the pack in your hand is the only guide that counts, and how to give a daily joint chew sensibly. We also set out MedPaw's own feeding guide clearly, as MedPaw's own and nobody else's.
A joint supplement is a complementary feed. It supports comfort and mobility alongside veterinary care, a healthy weight and suitable exercise, and it does not replace any of them.
Which joint chew gives your dog the fullest set of actives?
Once you know a dose only makes sense for the exact product on the pack, the next question is what each daily amount actually contains. That is where the comparison below helps.
It sets MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, our own product, against NutraPaw Joint Support, YuMOVE, Seraquin, Synoquin EFA and Nutraquin+, starting with a count of the six key joint actives.
UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the quickest read. MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. NutraPaw lists four of six, with no chondroitin or Boswellia. Whichever product you use, the dose should always come from its own pack.
For a dog whose dose depends on weight, a single soft chew format with that many actives keeps the routine simple. MedPaw is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg and 2-3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks. We suggest 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results.
MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care, a healthy weight and suitable exercise. If you would like to try it, the 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save are there to make that easier.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Read the full feeding guide and ingredients for the soft chew that combines all six key joint actives in one daily serving.
Why a brand search can lead you to the wrong dose
Search results for a brand name often pull up every product that brand makes. A page about an itch chew or a calming chew may rank well, and its feeding table can look very convincing. It is still a table for that product only.
The same applies to NutraPaw Joint Support. From the manufacturer's published information, it is a tablet containing glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen, with omega-3 from the mussel and manganese. It has a 90-day guarantee. We do not have verified feeding amounts for it, so we will not guess at them here. For its dose, check the pack or the manufacturer's website, or ask your vet.
The general rule is simple. Never borrow a dose from a different product, even one from the same brand. Chew sizes, ingredient levels and weight bands all differ.
How weight-based dosing works
Most dog supplements are dosed by body weight. The pack groups dogs into bands, such as small, medium and large, and tells you how many chews or tablets to give each day for each band. The idea is that a bigger dog needs a larger amount to get a comparable intake.
Each manufacturer sets its own bands, so two products can give very different instructions for the same dog. A dog that takes two of one product may take one or three of another. That is perfectly normal, and it says nothing about which is better.
Weigh, do not guess
Size and breed are poor guides to weight. A fluffy coat can make a dog look bigger than it is, and a lean working dog can weigh more than it looks. Pop your dog on the scales at home, or ask your vet practice whether you can call in to weigh them.
Re-weigh every few months
If your dog gains or loses weight, they may move into a different band. Checking every few months keeps the dose matched to the dog you have now, not the dog you had last spring.
MedPaw's feeding guide
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed for dogs. Here is the feeding guide for this product only.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max: daily chews by dog weight
| Dog weight | Chews per day | First three weeks |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 4kg | 1 | Double the daily amount |
| 5 to 17kg | 2 | Double the daily amount |
| 18kg and over | 2 to 3 | Double the daily amount |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis. Always follow the pack.
We recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use. The joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The chews also include omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and they are made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.
The first three weeks
The starter phase means giving double the usual amount for the first three weeks, then dropping to the standard amount. Follow it exactly as the pack describes. There is no need to extend it, and it is not a reason to go above the label later on.
If your dog sits between 4kg and 5kg
The guide above does not cover dogs between 4kg and 5kg. If yours falls in that gap, check the pack or contact MedPaw before you start, rather than rounding up or down yourself.
Consistency and patience matter more than the exact moment
Joint supplements are a daily habit, not an occasional extra. The ingredients are there to support your dog's joints over time, so a regular routine matters more than any single dose. Giving the chew at the same time each day, perhaps with breakfast or dinner, makes it easy to remember.
Timescales are measured in weeks. For MedPaw, we recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use, so judging it after a week or two is too soon. Gaps in the routine also make things harder. If you run out for a few days, it becomes much trickier to tell what is going on.
A simple diary helps. Jot down, with dates, how your dog manages the following:
- Getting up after a rest
- Stairs and getting into the car
- Walk length and willingness to play
- Stiffness first thing in the morning
It gives you something concrete to show your vet, and it is far more reliable than memory.
Does the format make a difference?
It can, because a supplement can only support your dog's joints as part of a routine if your dog actually takes it. MedPaw's is a soft chew that can be given like a treat. If your dog is fussy about anything new, your vet can talk you through ways to help them settle into a routine.
Other joint products come in different forms, based on each manufacturer's published information. NutraPaw Joint Support and YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max are tablets, and Synoquin EFA comes as a tablet or capsule. Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet, and Nutraquin+ is a capsule. Some dogs take these without fuss, while others need them hidden in food. Neither format is wrong. It is about what suits your dog.
Ingredients differ too, so it is worth reading labels side by side. NutraPaw Joint Support, for example, lists turmeric and collagen but does not list chondroitin or Boswellia, whereas MedPaw lists both of those. Guarantees vary as well. MedPaw offers a 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save, and NutraPaw states 90 days. Pick the one that fits your dog, your vet's advice and your routine.
Practical tips for dosing well
- Read the label for your dog's weight band. Do not guess from size or breed.
- Do not borrow another product's dose. A guide that says one thing for a 20kg dog on one product says nothing about another.
- Do not go above the label without vet advice. Some brands allow extra servings for certain products. That is their own rule, not a general one. Extra servings can mean extra calories and, with some ingredients, an upset tummy.
- Count the calories. Chews add a little to the daily intake, so adjust meals if needed. A lean dog carries less load on their joints, so keeping weight in check is one of the kindest things you can do for them.
- Change one thing at a time. If you start a supplement, a new food and a new exercise routine all in the same week, you will not know which one made the difference.
- Plan for pack length. How long a tub lasts depends on how many chews your dog needs each day. A large dog gets through a pack much faster than a small one, so work out the cost per day before you compare products.
Check suitability before you start
Talk to your vet before starting any joint supplement if your dog:
- Is on medication or under veterinary supervision
- Is pregnant or nursing
- Has a health condition or known allergies
- Is a puppy or a growing large-breed dog
Joint supplements are mainly intended for adult and older dogs, so younger dogs need a conversation with the vet first. Check the ingredient list against any known sensitivities too. Green-lipped mussel and fish oil, for instance, may matter for dogs with a shellfish or fish sensitivity.
If your dog develops digestive upset, itching or any other reaction after starting a new supplement, stop it and call your vet.
When to see your vet
A supplement cannot diagnose anything, and it is not a substitute for a proper examination. Joint problems are not only an older-dog issue, so younger dogs with mobility changes need checking too. Early advice gives your vet more options.
How quickly to act on mobility changes
Mention at the next check-up
Slightly slower on walks, a little stiff after a long rest, or less keen on jumping than before, but otherwise happy and eating well.
Book an appointment
Stiffness that lasts or worsens, difficulty rising, reluctance on stairs or getting into the car, a "bunny hopping" gait, behaviour changes such as becoming withdrawn or snappy when handled, or no improvement after the recommended trial period.
Call your vet promptly
Sudden lameness, refusing to put weight on a leg, yelping or crying when touched or moving, or a swollen, hot or painful joint.
Reduced appetite, weight loss or tiredness alongside mobility changes are also worth a call. If you are ever unsure, ringing your vet practice for advice is always a sensible step.
The short version
Whichever joint supplement you choose, the label on the pack you are holding is the guide to follow, together with your vet's advice. Weigh your dog, match the band, give it daily and allow enough time. For MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, that means 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5 to 17kg and 2 to 3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended.
Keep your dog lean, keep the exercise gentle and regular, and keep notes on how they are moving. Those small habits, alongside your vet's guidance, help support a comfortable, active life.
Is there a NutriPaw dosage I can follow for a joint supplement?
We do not have a verified NutriPaw feeding guide, so we will not guess at one. Many owners searching this name are actually looking at a different product, such as NutraPaw Joint Support, which is a tablet. Whatever you use, the label on the pack in your hand, or the manufacturer's website, is the guide to follow, and your vet can help if anything is unclear.
How many MedPaw chews should a 20kg dog have each day?
From the MedPaw label, a dog of 18kg and over has 2 to 3 chews a day, so a 20kg dog falls in that band. For the first three weeks the daily amount is doubled, then it drops back to the standard amount. We recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use, and your vet can advise on where in the 2 to 3 range suits your dog.
Can I use another brand's dose for my dog's joint chews?
No, it is best not to. Chew sizes, ingredient levels and weight bands differ from one product to the next, so a dose written for one tells you nothing about another, even from the same brand. Always follow the feeding guide on the pack you are actually giving.
What if my dog weighs between 4kg and 5kg?
The MedPaw feeding guide covers up to 4kg, then 5 to 17kg, so a dog between the two sits in a gap. Rather than rounding up or down yourself, check the pack or contact MedPaw before you start. Your vet can also help you decide.
How long should I give a joint supplement before judging it?
Joint supplements work on a timescale of weeks, not days. For MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max we recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use, so judging it after a week or two is too soon. Keeping a simple diary of how your dog gets up, manages stairs and copes on walks gives you something concrete to share with your vet.
Should I check with my vet before starting a joint supplement?
Yes, particularly if your dog is on medication, is pregnant or nursing, has a health condition or known allergies, or is a puppy or growing large-breed dog. A supplement is a complementary feed and does not replace veterinary care. If you notice stiffness, limping or any change in how your dog moves, speak to your vet rather than relying on a supplement.


