If you have searched for Pooch & Mutt dosage because your dog is stiff, slowing down or simply getting older, it helps to know what the available information actually covers. The Pooch & Mutt sources behind this article are about daily food amounts: general feeding guidelines, a puppy feeding guide and the Health & Digestion dry food. They do not describe a joint supplement or give a supplement dose.
So we won't invent a Pooch & Mutt joint dose, because there isn't one to quote. What we can do is explain how the feeding guidelines work, why portion control matters for your dog's joints, and how a complete food differs from a joint supplement. For exact amounts and ingredients, please check the current label and product page, as formulas and feeding tables can change.
If your dog is limping, struggling to get up or just not themselves, the best next step is a conversation with your vet, rather than a bigger bowl or a new product.
Where a joint supplement fits beside your Pooch & Mutt feeding
Pooch & Mutt's published amounts are daily food portions, so there is no joint supplement dose to quote. If you are weighing up a chew to go alongside the bowl, the table below shows how some UK joint supplements compare.
MedPaw is our own product, so it sits in the first column. The others are listed with the same facts, including where they list fewer of the six key joint actives.
Key joint actives in the UK's leading dog joint supplements
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the quickest read. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is the only product here with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. NutraPaw lists four of six, YuMOVE and Nutraquin+ three, and Seraquin and Synoquin EFA two each.
Weight matters for dosing, and MedPaw's feeding guide is easy to follow. It is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg and 2-3 for 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks. A 20kg dog would have 2-3 chews a day, then settle into daily use.
Because MedPaw is a soft chew, it is simple to give alongside your dog's usual food. We recommend 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you would like it to arrive regularly.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max If you would like all six key joint actives in one daily soft chew, you can see the full MedPaw details here.
Is there a Pooch & Mutt joint supplement dose?
Not in the sources we have. The "dosage" information for Pooch & Mutt is about how many grams of food to feed per day, based on the specific diet, your dog's weight and age. That is a feeding guideline, not a dose of a chew, tablet or powder.
If you see a figure online described as a Pooch & Mutt dose, check which product it refers to. Different Pooch & Mutt foods have different amounts, so the chart or calculator for the exact product and your dog is the only reliable guide.
How Pooch & Mutt feeding amounts work
Daily guidelines, not fixed doses
Each diet has a feeding guideline on the pack and online. It takes into account the food's nutrient profile and calories, plus your dog's weight and age. A staff reply in the sources confirms the amounts are per day, and how you split them across meals is up to you.
For the Health & Digestion food, the feeding table is described as "a rough guide". The right amount depends on activity, breed, age and whether your dog is over or underweight. It can be fed dry or slightly moistened, and fresh water should always be available.
A starting point, not the finish line
The sources are clear that every dog has their own metabolism and activity level. Two dogs of the same weight can need quite different amounts. The guideline gets you started, then you watch your dog and adjust.
The tool for that is Body Condition Score. You should be able to feel the ribs under a light covering of flesh, and see a waist when you look down from above. Recheck every few weeks and adjust slowly.
Feed for the target weight
If your dog weighs 20kg but should weigh 18kg, use the amount for 18kg. The same applies in reverse for an underweight dog. Your vet can help you work out a sensible target weight, which matters most for dogs who have crept up over the years.
Weigh the food
The source says a kitchen scale is far more accurate than eyeballing or using a measuring cup. A scoop that is a little heavy each day adds up over weeks, and for a smaller dog the difference can be surprisingly large.
Why portion size matters for joints
Your dog's joints carry their body weight every time they stand, walk, jump or climb. The puppy guide in the sources says excess weight puts too much pressure on the joints, and that overweight puppies are much more likely to become obese adults.
That is why feeding amounts belong in a joint health article. Keeping your dog at a healthy weight is one of the most practical things you can do for their comfort, and it costs nothing. It also makes any other support you add, whether a supplement or gentle exercise, more worthwhile.
Do not forget the extras
Treats should be no more than 10% of daily calories. A dog who regularly leaves food in the bowl may be getting plenty of calories from treats and dental chews. If your dog leaves food, trim the treats first, not the meals.
Training rewards count too. Using a few pieces of their daily kibble as rewards is an easy way to keep the total steady.
What the sources say about Health & Digestion
Health & Digestion is described as a complete, grain-free, chicken-free dry food for sensitive stomachs, suitable from 12 weeks old. It is not marketed as a joint product. It comes up here because its composition panel lists a few ingredients people often associate with joint care.
- Glucosamine (0.026%) and chondroitin sulphate (0.016%)
- Salmon oil (1.5%) and linseed (1.5%)
- Omega-3 at 0.5% and omega-6 at 1.5%
- Added zinc (100 mg/kg), manganese (43 mg/kg) and vitamin E (400 mg/kg)
The main ingredients are fresh salmon (25%), sweet potato (22%) and salmon protein (16.2%). Analytical constituents are crude protein 24%, crude fat 12%, crude fibre 3.0% and 3,570 kcal/kg metabolisable energy. It also contains prebiotics and postbiotics, psyllium husk and parsley for digestive support.
The glucosamine and chondroitin here are small inclusions in a complete food. It is best not to think of this food as a joint supplement, and the sources give no joint-specific dose. For a fuller look at the recipe, see our Pooch & Mutt ingredients explained guide, and for anything not covered here, check the current label.
What about Slim & Slender?
Slim & Slender is described as a low-calorie, low-fat, grain-free food suited to weight management and joint support. A lower-calorie food can be a sensible part of helping an overweight dog get to a healthy weight, though results vary from dog to dog. Your vet can help you set a target and a pace.
Worked examples from staff replies
The sources include a couple of examples. They are illustrations only, not instructions for your dog, because they relate to specific foods and specific dogs.
- A staff reply for a working cocker spaniel gave a range of 120 to 270g a day across an 11 to 30kg band, roughly just under 1% of body weight. The reply stressed these are guidelines.
- A 16kg whippet and greyhound cross, with an expected adult weight of 17 to 18kg, was advised about 100g of dry food plus one pack of wet food a day. The wet cartons weigh 375g.
The second example shows why mixed diets need a little care. If you add wet food, count its weight and reduce the dry amount so you are not doubling up on calories.
Puppies, growth and joints
Growth is where feeding and joints are most closely linked. Puppies grow far faster than adult dogs, and many double in weight within a few months. Larger breeds keep growing until about 12 to 18 months, and giant breeds take years.
Pooch & Mutt puppy guidelines are based on expected adult weight. For small puppies, the guidance is to soak the kibble in warm water. Large breed puppy food should contain a minimum of 30% high quality protein, with calcium and phosphorus matched to growth.
Puppy meal frequency, as described in the sources
| Age | Meals a day | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Very young puppy | At least four | Small, frequent meals |
| From about 3 months | Three | Keep amounts based on expected adult weight |
| From about 6 months | Two | Adults may stay on two meals or move to one |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis.
Switching from puppy to adult food
The switch can happen anywhere from 9 months to 2 years, depending on breed and size. Moving too early or too late can both cause problems, so ask your vet when the time is right. Please do not keep an adult dog on puppy food. The source says this risks nutritional imbalance and excess weight, which adds load to the joints.
Whenever you change foods, do it gradually over 5 to 7 days, or longer for sensitive dogs. If stools soften, step back a stage. Rushed changes risk tummy upsets and can put dogs off the new food.
A simple routine for joint-friendly feeding
- Find the right guide. Use the chart or calculator for the exact product you feed.
- Agree a target weight with your vet. Feed for that weight, not today's number on the scales.
- Weigh daily portions on kitchen scales, including any wet food.
- Count the extras. Keep treats, dental chews and training rewards under 10% of daily calories.
- Check body condition every few weeks. Adjust slowly rather than making big cuts.
- Keep to a routine. Consistent meal times and amounts make it easier to spot changes in appetite or mobility.
For large and giant breed puppies, monitor weight weekly and avoid overfeeding, as fast growth and extra weight are not kind to developing joints.
How a complete food differs from a joint supplement chew
A complete food and a joint supplement do different jobs, and it helps to keep them separate in your mind.
Pooch & Mutt Health & Digestion is a complete food, with small amounts of glucosamine and chondroitin as part of its recipe. It is designed to be the whole diet.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed, so it sits alongside a complete diet rather than replacing it. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc. It is made to support joint comfort and mobility alongside veterinary care.
The MedPaw feeding guide is:
- 1 chew a day for dogs up to 4kg
- 2 chews for 5 to 17kg
- 2 to 3 chews for 18kg and over
- Doubled for the first three weeks
- 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended
MedPaw comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available. Each product has its own ingredients, format, guarantee and feeding guide, so always follow the label of whichever one you use. Please do not double up on products without checking with your vet first.
When to see a vet
Feeding well is only part of the picture. Some signs need a proper diagnosis and are not something to manage with diet or a supplement alone.
When to talk to your vet
Before changing the routine
Ask before adding any supplement, particularly if your dog is on medication, has a health condition, or is pregnant or nursing. Ask too when to move a puppy to adult food.
Changes in weight, appetite or stools
A sudden or significant weight change, a dog who keeps leaving food or always seems hungry, or loose stools, vomiting or lost appetite after a food change. Large or giant breed puppies growing very quickly or overweight also need early advice.
Pain or mobility changes
Limping, stiffness, difficulty rising, reluctance to jump, climb stairs or walk as far as usual, or snapping when touched. Book a vet visit rather than waiting.
Dogs with a chronic condition such as inflammatory bowel disease, kidney disease, diabetes or pancreatitis generally need vet-prescribed diets, which should not be started without medical advice. One staff reply in the sources mentions the fat level of Health & Digestion in relation to pancreatitis, but the same source says to seek vet advice, so please do not treat it as a dietary option for that condition.
For exact amounts and ingredients, check the current Pooch & Mutt label and product page. And before you change a diet or add a supplement, speak to your vet, who knows your dog best.
Is there a Pooch & Mutt joint supplement dose I can follow by weight?
The Pooch & Mutt information behind this article covers daily food amounts, not a joint supplement dose. The feeding guideline depends on the specific food, your dog's weight and age, so the chart or calculator for the exact product is the only reliable guide. Please check the current label and product page, as feeding tables can change.
How much Pooch & Mutt food should I feed my dog each day?
Each Pooch & Mutt diet has its own feeding guideline, based on your dog's weight and age. The amounts are per day and you can split them across meals however suits you. Treat the table as a starting point, then check your dog's body condition every few weeks and adjust slowly. Your vet can help if you are unsure.
Should I feed for my dog's current weight or their target weight?
If your dog is carrying extra weight, feed for the target weight rather than the number on the scales today. For example, a 20kg dog who should be 18kg would be fed the amount for 18kg. Your vet can help you set a sensible target and pace, which matters because excess weight adds load to your dog's joints.
Do the glucosamine and chondroitin in Pooch & Mutt Health & Digestion work as a joint supplement?
Health & Digestion is a complete dry food, and its composition panel lists small amounts of glucosamine (0.026%) and chondroitin sulphate (0.016%). These are inclusions within a complete diet, and the sources give no joint-specific dose. It is best not to think of it as a joint supplement, so check the current label for anything not covered here.
How many MedPaw chews does a 20kg dog need each day?
On the MedPaw label, dogs of 18kg and over have 2 to 3 chews a day, and the amount is doubled for the first three weeks. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a complementary feed that sits alongside a complete diet, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended. With 60 chews per tub, the label amounts decide how many days one tub lasts.
Can I give a joint supplement alongside a complete food like Pooch & Mutt?
A complementary feed is designed to be given alongside a complete diet rather than replace it. Each product has its own ingredients and feeding guide, so follow the label of whichever one you use. Please speak to your vet before adding a supplement, particularly if your dog is on medication or has a health condition, and book a visit if you notice limping or stiffness.


