‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
Synoquin vs Antinol: which is right for your dog?
Share this article

Synoquin vs Antinol: which is right for your dog?

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Synoquin comparison

Synoquin or Antinol? See which suits your dog

Tap your dog's size to see how Synoquin compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how Synoquin compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    If your dog has started to hesitate at the bottom of the stairs or lag behind on walks, you have probably spent a fair while reading supplement labels. Two names that come up often are Synoquin EFA and Antinol. They look similar on a shelf, but they are built on quite different ideas.

    This article looks closely at Synoquin EFA, using the manufacturer's published information from September 2026. We then compare it fairly with Antinol, based on what Antinol's maker says about its own product. Those are the maker's statements, not independent findings. We also cover MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max as an alternative for owners whose dogs might suit a different format.

    Neither product is a medicine. Both are complementary feeds that sit alongside veterinary care, so the right choice depends on your individual dog and what your vet has found.

    Where Synoquin EFA sits among six joint formulas

    Synoquin EFA is one of the names you are weighing up, so it helps to see its formula next to others in one place. The table below compares it with MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, which is our own product, and four other well-known options.

    The first row counts how many of six key joint actives each product lists: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The rows beneath show the format and guarantee.

    UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Synoquin EFA NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 2 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✗ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✗ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Krill oil Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Vit C, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet or capsule Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days Not stated 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    Synoquin EFA lists glucosamine and chondroitin, with krill oil as its omega source, which gives it 2 of 6 key actives. The table shows no MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid or Boswellia for it. MedPaw is the only product of the six that lists all six.

    For a dog who is slowing down on walks or hesitating on the stairs, that wider spread is the point. MedPaw brings together six joint-focused ingredients, plus omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E and zinc, to support joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care.

    It is also a soft daily chew rather than a tablet or capsule, which many owners find easier to fit into the day. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save if you decide to keep going. We suggest 2 to 3 months of daily use for optimal results.

    See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Take a look at the full MedPaw formula and feeding guide to see how it could fit your dog's daily routine.

    What is Synoquin EFA?

    Synoquin EFA is sold as a tablet or capsule. According to the manufacturer's published information, it contains glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil, plus vitamin C and zinc. The information available to us does not state a money-back guarantee.

    It is a fairly focused formula. Here is what each part is generally there for.

    Glucosamine and chondroitin

    These are the two joint ingredients most owners have heard of. They are often described as "building blocks" of cartilage, the smooth, cushioning tissue inside joints. Synoquin EFA keeps its joint line-up centred on these two.

    How much difference they make varies from dog to dog, and the evidence on these ingredients is debated. A supplement like this is best seen as one part of a wider plan to support comfort and mobility, not a stand-alone answer.

    Krill oil as the omega source

    The "EFA" in the name points to essential fatty acids, and in this product the omega-3 comes from krill oil, a marine source. Marine omega-3s such as EPA and DHA are often discussed as a useful option for dogs, though opinions vary on how they compare with plant-based sources. It is a fair reason to look at a marine oil, but not a reason to expect any particular result.

    Vitamin C and zinc

    Vitamin C and zinc round out the formula. They are supporting nutrients rather than the headline joint ingredients.

    What Synoquin EFA does not list

    It helps to know what is absent, particularly when you are comparing labels. Synoquin EFA does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen.

    That is not a flaw. A short ingredient list suits some owners, especially those who like a simple formula. Owners who want a wider spread of joint-focused ingredients may prefer a different product.

    Dosing and loading

    Dose depends on your dog's weight and the size version you buy, so follow the pack guidance. Check whether the pack describes an initial higher-dose "loading" period, as many joint supplements do. It affects how long a pack lasts, which matters when you work out the real cost per day.

    What does Antinol's maker say?

    Antinol takes a different route. The points below come from Antinol's own published information, so please read them as the manufacturer's statements.

    • Format: a softgel capsule. The maker says it chose a softgel rather than a chew to protect the oils from air, heat and light.
    • Main active: PCSO-524, a concentrated green-lipped mussel oil. The maker states each softgel delivers 50mg of this marine lipid extract.
    • Other ingredients: extra virgin olive oil and vitamin E as a preservative, with no fillers or other additives, according to the maker.
    • Fatty acids named: EPA, DHA, ETA and OTA.
    • Dose: 50mg for a small dog and 100mg for a larger dog, with a loading feed for the first 15 days, then maintenance.
    • Age: the maker says it can be given from 12 weeks of age.
    • Guarantee: a 60-day money-back guarantee. You use it as directed for 60 days and can contact the company within 90 days for a refund.
    • Fussy dogs: the maker suggests piercing the capsule and squeezing the oil onto food, and notes the oil has a mild fish smell.

    A fair reading of those claims

    The maker says its research base is "15+ studies" for the specific ingredient and serving size. We have not been given those studies, so we cannot report any results from them. If you would like to weigh that evidence, your vet is the best person to ask.

    The maker also argues that glucosamine and chondroitin have weak evidence and are no longer recommended by vets. That is a strong claim from a competitor, and opinion on these ingredients is divided. The honest position is that the evidence is debated, and your own vet is best placed to advise on your dog.

    Antinol's own page says it is a supplementary feed and not a veterinary medicine, and that owners should speak to a vet about any suspected joint or mobility issue. That is the right framing for any supplement.

    How the two approaches differ

    The practical difference is simple. Synoquin EFA is a structural-ingredient formula with a marine oil added. Antinol is built around a single concentrated marine oil extract.

    • Format: Synoquin EFA is a tablet or capsule. Antinol is a softgel capsule.
    • Core idea: Synoquin EFA centres on glucosamine and chondroitin. Antinol centres on concentrated green-lipped mussel oil, and does not list glucosamine or chondroitin.
    • Omega source: krill oil for Synoquin EFA, mussel-derived fatty acids for Antinol.
    • Extras: vitamin C and zinc for Synoquin EFA, olive oil and vitamin E for Antinol.
    • Guarantee: not stated for Synoquin EFA in the information available to us, and 60 days for Antinol, according to its maker.

    Neither is automatically right for every dog. Size, age, appetite, allergies and your vet's findings all count for more than which label sounds more impressive.

    Where MedPaw fits as an alternative

    Some dogs simply will not take a tablet or capsule, and some owners would like a wider range of ingredients in one daily dose. That is where MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max may suit.

    It is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed. Its joint ingredients are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. Omega-3 comes from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, and it also contains vitamins C and E and zinc. It is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.

    Factual differences from Synoquin EFA

    • Format: MedPaw is a soft chew, which can suit dogs that refuse tablets or capsules.
    • Breadth: MedPaw includes MSM, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia, which Synoquin EFA does not list.
    • Omega source: MedPaw's omega-3 comes from green-lipped mussel and flax seed. Synoquin EFA lists krill oil, which MedPaw does not.
    • Shared ground: both contain glucosamine, chondroitin, vitamin C and zinc.
    • Guarantee: MedPaw has a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.

    The feeding guide is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg, and 2-3 for 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and we recommend 2-3 months of daily use. Like any supplement, it supports joints and mobility alongside veterinary care and is not a substitute for it.

    Compared with Antinol, MedPaw uses green-lipped mussel as one ingredient among several, whereas Antinol's mussel oil is a concentrated single extract. Again, that shows what each formula contains rather than which is better.

    Practical advice for choosing and using a joint supplement

    Whichever product you lean towards, a few habits make the decision easier and safer.

    1. Start with the vet. Stiffness can have causes that a supplement will not help, such as arthritis, cruciate problems, or hip or elbow dysplasia. A proper diagnosis comes first.
    2. Pick one product. Please do not combine two joint supplements. The overlapping ingredients add little and may raise the chance of a stomach upset.
    3. Do not double the dose. More is not faster. Follow the pack guidance for your dog's weight, and follow any loading schedule exactly.
    4. Give it time. A joint supplement is a gradual, daily routine rather than a quick fix. Judge a product over the full period the manufacturer recommends.
    5. Keep a simple diary. Note stairs, walk length, getting up and down, and play. Small changes are easy to miss day to day.
    6. Check for allergies. Krill and green-lipped mussel are both marine ingredients. Dogs with a known shellfish or fish allergy should only try them on a vet's advice. This applies to Synoquin EFA and Antinol alike.
    7. Watch for mild stomach upset. Loose stools, wind or a poorer appetite can occur with any supplement. If it persists, stop and ask your vet.
    8. Match the format to your dog. A supplement your dog refuses is no use to anyone. Dogs that spit out tablets may do better with a chew or a food-mixed option.
    9. Compare cost per day, not per pack. Include any loading period, and check what guarantee applies.
    10. Tell your vet what you give. This matters especially before surgery or when starting prescribed medication.

    The basics still matter most

    Weight control, regular moderate exercise, non-slip flooring, a supportive bed and ramps or steps for the car and sofa are all important ways to support your dog's comfort. A supplement works best as one piece of that wider picture.

    When to see a vet

    A supplement should never be the first step when you are worried. Early signs are worth a chat with your vet, not just a new product. These include a pause at the bottom of the stairs, hesitating on hills, less enthusiasm for walks, or a drop in stamina. The guide below can help you judge how quickly to act.

    How quickly should you call the vet?

    Low

    Early, subtle changes

    A pause before stairs, less stamina, or slower to get going. Mention it at a routine appointment and ask whether a joint supplement suits your dog.

    Watch

    Persistent or worsening stiffness

    Stiffness lasting beyond a day or two, difficulty getting up or into the car, licking at a joint, irritability when touched, or a young or large-breed dog bunny-hopping. Book an appointment promptly.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe signs

    Sudden lameness, a leg held up, crying or yelping, a visibly swollen or deformed joint, collapse, or loss of appetite. Also vomiting, diarrhoea, facial swelling or itching after starting a new supplement. Contact a vet urgently.

    For guidance only, not a diagnosis.

    Choosing with your vet

    Synoquin EFA suits owners who want a short, focused formula built around glucosamine and chondroitin with a krill oil omega source. Antinol, according to its maker, suits owners drawn to a single concentrated mussel oil. MedPaw suits owners whose dogs prefer a soft chew, or who want a broader ingredient list in one daily dose.

    Whichever you consider, talk it through with your vet, especially if your dog has allergies, takes other medication or has a diagnosed joint condition. Give the product the full time the manufacturer recommends, keep a note of how your dog moves, and focus on the everyday comforts that help your dog enjoy their walks.

    What is the main difference between Synoquin EFA and Antinol?

    Synoquin EFA is a tablet or capsule built around glucosamine and chondroitin, with krill oil as its omega source, plus vitamin C and zinc. Antinol, according to its maker, is a softgel capsule built around a concentrated green-lipped mussel oil and does not list glucosamine or chondroitin. Both are complementary feeds, so your vet is the best person to help you decide which suits your dog.

    Does Synoquin EFA contain MSM, green-lipped mussel or hyaluronic acid?

    No. Based on the manufacturer's published information, Synoquin EFA lists glucosamine, chondroitin, krill oil, vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. A shorter ingredient list suits some owners, whilst others prefer a wider spread.

    Does Synoquin EFA or Antinol come with a money-back guarantee?

    Antinol's maker states a 60-day money-back guarantee, where you use it as directed for 60 days and contact the company within 90 days. The information available to us does not state a guarantee for Synoquin EFA. It is worth checking each manufacturer's current UK page before you buy.

    My dog will not take tablets or capsules. Are there other formats?

    Some dogs simply refuse tablets and capsules, and a soft chew can be an easier option. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed, with a 60-day money-back guarantee. Whichever format you choose, it only helps if your dog will take it every day.

    How many MedPaw chews would a 20kg dog have each day?

    Under the printed feeding guide, dogs of 18kg and over have 2-3 chews a day, and the amount is doubled for the first three weeks. We recommend 2-3 months of daily use to support mobility and comfort. Please check the label for the exact amount and ask your vet if you are unsure.

    Should my dog have a joint supplement if they are stiff or limping?

    Stiffness or limping should be looked at by your vet first, as it can have causes that a supplement is not designed to address. Joint supplements are complementary feeds that support mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care, not in place of it. If you see sudden lameness, crying out or a swollen joint, contact your vet promptly.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.