‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
Antinol vs Dasuquin: which is right for your dog?
Share this article

Antinol vs Dasuquin: which is right for your dog?

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Antinol comparison

Antinol or Dasuquin? See what suits your dog

Tap your dog's size to see how Antinol compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how Antinol compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    Antinol vs Dasuquin: which is right for your dog?

    If you are weighing up Antinol and Dasuquin for your dog, you have probably noticed a bit less spring in their step. Perhaps they hesitate at the bottom of the stairs, or take a slower first few minutes after a nap. It is a worry, and it is natural to want a clear answer about which product is the better choice.

    This article is a fair, careful look at the question. We have the manufacturer's published information for Antinol, so we can describe what it says about its own product. We hold no verified information about Dasuquin, so we will not guess at its ingredients, format or dose. Instead, you will get a practical way to compare any two joint supplements by reading the current label.

    We do not rank either product here. What suits one dog may not suit another, and your vet is the best person to help you decide.

    Where MedPaw sits next to Antinol and Dasuquin

    Choosing between Antinol and Dasuquin usually comes down to what each daily dose actually contains. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is our own product, and it gives you a useful yardstick for reading any joint supplement label.

    The table below compares it with five other well-known joint supplements on six key joint actives. Antinol and Dasuquin are not columns in it, so treat it as a checklist to hold up against their labels.

    Key joint actives in the UK's leading dog joint supplements

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    The first row is the one to read. MedPaw is the only one of the six products shown with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The others list between two and four. For a dog who is slower on the stairs, a broad blend in one daily dose is a sensible thing to want.

    When you read Antinol's label, count how many of those six you can find, then do the same for Dasuquin. MedPaw is a soft chew, comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee and has Subscribe & Save. We suggest 2-3 months of daily use, to support joints, mobility and comfort alongside your vet's care.

    Take a closer look at MedPaw Chews Max See the full list of actives and the feeding guide for your dog's weight before you decide.

    What this article can and cannot tell you

    Everything we say about Antinol below comes from the manufacturer's own published information. We write "the manufacturer states" because we have not independently verified it. Labels and pack details can change, so please check the current Antinol label for anything we do not cover.

    For Dasuquin, we have nothing to report. Please read the current label and the manufacturer's published information directly. Wherever you see a gap in this article, that is the reason. We would rather leave a gap than offer you a half-remembered detail.

    A quick word on what joint trouble actually is

    Arthritis, also called degenerative joint disease, is the joint's response to damage. It can involve inflammation, wearing of the cartilage, damage to the joint lining, and extra scar tissue and bone growth as the body tries to repair the problem.

    Common underlying causes include joint instability, ligament and tendon damage, and broken bones. Your vet can examine your dog, usually with x-rays, to help identify what is going on. They can also advise whether any underlying problem needs specific veterinary attention.

    Arthritis is a long-term condition, but there is a lot owners can do to help keep a dog comfortable. Every dog needs a plan designed for them, and a supplement is just one part of it. It sits alongside veterinary care and never replaces a diagnosis.

    What the maker of Antinol states

    Format and formula

    Antinol is a softgel capsule rather than a chew. The manufacturer says it chose a softgel for stability and preservation, and describes it as protecting the oil from air, heat and light. Shelf life is stated as 3 years from the date of manufacture.

    According to the manufacturer, each capsule contains 50mg of PCSO-524, a patented, concentrated green-lipped mussel oil. The oil is blended with extra virgin olive oil, with vitamin E as a preservative. The manufacturer states there are no fillers or other additives.

    The fatty acids it names are EPA, DHA, ETA and OTA. The manufacturer highlights ETA as a less common omega-3. It also states that the oil is extracted from green-lipped mussels in New Zealand within two hours of harvest.

    Dose and getting started

    The manufacturer states it can be given to dogs from 12 weeks of age. The dose is described as depending on weight, with 50mg for a small dog and 100mg for a larger dog. The sources we hold do not give weight bands, so please check the current label for your own dog's weight.

    A "loading" phase is recommended for the first 15 days, using the extra capsules in the starter pack. The pack is then continued for 60 days. It helps to factor this in when you work out how long a pack will last.

    If your dog will not take the capsule whole, the manufacturer suggests piercing it and squeezing the contents onto food. It notes the oil has a mild fish smell, and that a little wet food can help a fussy dog.

    Guarantee and regulatory position

    The manufacturer states a 60-day money-back guarantee on starter packs. Its guarantee wording says to use the product as directed for 60 days and to contact the company within 90 days for a refund. Two different figures can be confusing, so read the current terms before you buy.

    The manufacturer describes Antinol as a supplementary feed, not a veterinary medicine. Owners of dogs with a suspected or diagnosed joint problem are advised to speak to their vet first.

    How to read the manufacturer's comparative claims

    Antinol's maker compares its product with other approaches. It says a concentrated oil delivers more fatty acids than green-lipped mussel powder, and that powder can lose fatty acids through air exposure during manufacture and storage. It also says its ingredient has been the subject of published studies, and that one concentrated ingredient can deliver more than a multi-ingredient product, where each active may be present in a smaller amount.

    The manufacturer also makes statements about the evidence for other joint ingredients, including glucosamine and chondroitin. We cannot verify these, because the sources do not name the trials behind them, so we are not going to repeat them as fact. Other manufacturers take a different view, and many UK joint supplements are built around those very ingredients.

    The fair way to read all this is as one company's position on competing approaches. If a claim worries or excites you, ask your vet about it. They can advise on what suits your dog.

    Dasuquin: what we cannot tell you

    We have no source information on Dasuquin's ingredients, format, dose, guarantee or availability, so we will not say what it contains or leaves out. If you are considering it, the current label and the manufacturer's published information are the right places to look.

    The good news is that you do not need us to describe it. The comparison method in the next section works for any two products, and it only takes a few minutes with both labels in front of you.

    A fair way to compare any two joint supplements

    Joint supplements take different approaches. Some rely on a single concentrated ingredient. Others combine several, such as glucosamine, chondroitin, green-lipped mussel, MSM, hyaluronic acid or Boswellia. These are different routes, not a simple good-versus-bad choice.

    Questions to ask of any joint supplement label

    Question What to look for Why it matters
    What are the named actives? A clear list, with amounts where given Single-ingredient and multi-ingredient products are different approaches
    What form is it? Soft chew, tablet, capsule or softgel Affects how easily your dog takes it, especially a fussy eater
    How much per day? A feeding guide matched to bodyweight Dose should suit your dog's weight, not a guess
    Is there a loading phase? A higher amount for the first weeks Changes how long a pack lasts
    How long before judging? Manufacturers typically suggest weeks to months Judging after a few days is rarely fair
    What are the guarantee terms? Time limit, how to claim, which packs qualify Terms can differ more than the headline suggests
    Does it suit your dog? Allergies, medication, fish or shellfish sources Worth raising with your vet before starting

    Two of these deserve a little extra attention. First, check that the product is a complementary feed that sits alongside veterinary care. Second, if your dog has ever reacted to fish, mussel or shellfish, tell your vet before starting anything derived from them.

    A labelled reference point: where MedPaw fits

    MedPaw is not the subject of this comparison, but it may help to see a different approach laid out clearly. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed for dogs. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata.

    It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine. Feeding is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg, and 2-3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks. We recommend daily use for 2-3 months. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.

    None of this describes Antinol or Dasuquin. It simply shows that "joint supplement" covers very different formulas, formats and feeding routines. Other UK products differ again. Based on each manufacturer's published information from September 2026, NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet with glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen. Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet with glucosamine, chondroitin and turmeric. Compare labels rather than assuming products are alike.

    Practical steps you can take whichever you choose

    The product matters, but so does everything around it. These steps help whatever your dog takes.

    • Start with a vet visit if your dog is slowing down. Your vet can rule out other causes and advise on the right overall plan before you choose a supplement.
    • Keep a simple mobility diary for two to four weeks beforehand. Note hesitation on stairs, the pace of walks, stiffness on rising and willingness to jump into the car.
    • Change one thing at a time where possible, so you can tell what is making a difference.
    • Follow the label dose for your dog's weight, and finish any loading phase as directed.
    • Give it long enough. Manufacturers suggest weeks to months, so try not to judge after a few days.
    • Check the guarantee terms before buying, including the claim window and whether the offer applies to starter packs only.

    Everyday support at home

    • Keep a healthy weight. Extra weight puts more load on joints, and your vet can suggest a target.
    • Keep exercise gentle and consistent rather than occasional long, intense bursts. Ask your vet what is right for your dog.
    • Make the home easier with non-slip rugs on hard floors, a supportive bed, and ramps or steps for cars and sofas.
    • Tell your vet about any supplement your dog takes, including products from the fish or shellfish family.

    When to see a vet

    A supplement is never the right first step if your dog seems to be in pain or is getting worse. Use this as a rough guide, and when in doubt, ring your vet.

    How quickly to seek veterinary advice

    Low

    Slowing down a little

    Less enthusiasm for walks, or reluctance on hills or jumps they used to manage. Book a routine appointment and start a mobility diary.

    Watch

    Signs that persist or return

    Stiffness after rest, difficulty rising, a recurring limp, licking at a joint, a swollen or warm joint, or irritability and reluctance to be touched. Book an appointment promptly.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe changes

    Sudden lameness, refusing to put weight on a leg, crying out in pain, swelling after an injury, weak back legs, being unable to stand, or going off food and drink. Seek urgent veterinary advice.

    Please also speak to your vet before starting any supplement if your dog is on medication, is pregnant or nursing, has a diagnosed condition, or has a history of allergies.

    Key takeaways

    • Antinol and Dasuquin are different products. We hold information only on Antinol, so check the current label for each.
    • The Antinol details here are the manufacturer's own: a softgel with 50mg of concentrated green-lipped mussel oil, olive oil and vitamin E, with a loading phase and a stated guarantee.
    • Claims about other ingredients come from a competing manufacturer and are not independently verified here, so treat them as one company's view.
    • Compare on ingredients, form, dose, loading, time to judge and guarantee terms, rather than on marketing claims.
    • Supplements are complementary feeds that sit alongside veterinary care, and your vet should lead on diagnosis and management.

    If you are still unsure after reading both labels, take them along to your vet appointment. Your vet knows your dog, and can help you choose a plan that suits their age, weight and health.

    What is the main difference between Antinol and Dasuquin?

    They are different products with different formulas, so the most reliable way to compare them is to read each current label. The Antinol manufacturer states it is a softgel capsule with 50mg of PCSO-524, a concentrated green-lipped mussel oil, blended with extra virgin olive oil and vitamin E. We hold no verified information on Dasuquin, so please check its label and the manufacturer's published information rather than relying on us.

    How long does Antinol take to work, and how long should I try it?

    The manufacturer states a loading phase for the first 15 days, using the extra capsules in the starter pack, followed by continued use of the pack for 60 days. Manufacturers of joint supplements generally suggest weeks to months, so judging after a few days is rarely fair. If your dog seems stiff or uncomfortable, speak to your vet rather than waiting on a supplement.

    Can I give my dog Antinol if they will not swallow capsules?

    The manufacturer suggests piercing the softgel and squeezing the contents onto food. It notes the oil has a mild fish smell, and that a little wet food can help a fussy dog. If your dog has ever reacted to fish, mussel or shellfish, tell your vet before starting.

    How many MedPaw chews would a 20kg dog have, and how long does a tub last?

    On the printed label, a dog of 18kg and over has 2-3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks. For a 20kg dog at 2 chews a day, that is 4 a day for the first three weeks, so about 84 chews. The remaining 36 chews in a 60-chew tub then last 18 days at 2 a day, so one tub lasts around 39 days, or fewer at 3 chews a day. Daily use for 2-3 months is recommended.

    How do the guarantees compare between Antinol and MedPaw?

    The Antinol manufacturer states a 60-day money-back guarantee on starter packs, with wording about contacting the company within 90 days, so read the current terms before buying. MedPaw offers a 60-day money-back guarantee too. We hold no verified guarantee details for Dasuquin, so check its manufacturer's page.

    Should I speak to my vet before choosing a joint supplement?

    Yes, it is a sensible first step, especially if your dog is slowing down, limping or seems sore. Your vet can look for the underlying cause and advise on the right overall plan. A supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside veterinary care and never replaces a diagnosis or treatment, so mention anything your dog takes, particularly if they are on medication or have allergies.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.