‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
How long does Antinol take to work?
Share this article

How long does Antinol take to work?

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Antinol comparison

Waiting on Antinol for your dog? See how MedPaw compares

Tap your dog's size to see how Antinol compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how Antinol compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    How long does Antinol take to work?

    If you have just started your dog on Antinol, or you are thinking about it, the first question is usually the same: how long before I see a difference? It is a fair thing to ask, especially when you are watching a stiff old friend struggle up from their bed.

    The honest answer is that it varies from dog to dog. The only detailed timing information we could find comes from the manufacturer's own product and FAQ pages, not from independent research. So everything below about timelines is the manufacturer's guidance, and it is not guaranteed or independently proven. We will be clear about that throughout.

    This guide covers what the manufacturer says, why the first 15 days are different, how to judge progress fairly, and when to call your vet instead of waiting.

    Waiting on Antinol? How other joint chews compare

    If you are weighing up Antinol, you are probably also wondering how long any joint supplement needs before you can judge it. Patience matters whichever you choose, so it helps to know what is actually in each option.

    The table below is from MedPaw, our own product, set against five other well-known UK joint supplements. It opens with a score for the six key joint actives.

    MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    Antinol is not one of the products in this table, so check its manufacturer's current label for its exact formula. What the table does show is how much the declared joint actives vary. MedPaw is the only one of the six listed with all six: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata.

    That matters when you are waiting for results, because you want to know your dog is getting a broad range of support from day one. MedPaw is a soft daily chew, with 2-3 chews a day for a 20kg dog, doubled for the first three weeks. We suggest 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results.

    A 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save are available, so you can give it a fair run alongside your vet's advice without rushing to judge it.

    Meet MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max See the full ingredient list and feeding guide for the soft chew that supports your dog's joints, mobility and comfort every day.

    What the manufacturer says about timing

    The manufacturer says each pet is different. Its guidance gives three rough markers, which we have set out below so they are easy to scan.

    Antinol timing, as stated by its manufacturer (not independent findings)

    Figure What it refers to Worth knowing
    3 to 4 days Earliest point at which changes may be seen Not something to expect, and many dogs will take longer
    Within 15 days When most owners are said to notice a difference Matches the end of the double-amount period
    Up to 60 days Time the manufacturer suggests allowing before judging The manufacturer's suggested monitoring window
    First 15 days Period of double the normal amount Check your pack for the amount for your dog

    For guidance only, not a diagnosis.

    The manufacturer also says timing may vary with your individual dog's situation. Its advice is to keep giving it and to monitor your dog for 60 days before drawing any conclusions.

    What Antinol is, according to its manufacturer

    Antinol is a daily supplement for dogs, and a cat version also exists. For dogs, the sources describe it as one capsule a day.

    It is formulated around PCSO-524, described as a proprietary marine lipid complex cold-extracted from New Zealand green-lipped mussels (Perna canaliculus). The manufacturer describes it as a concentrated oil extract rather than a standard mussel powder. It is said to be naturally rich in omega-3 fatty acids, including ETA, DHA and EPA, along with other marine lipids.

    The capsule itself is made from gelatin derived from beef. The manufacturer says the product is made in New Zealand and is intended to support everyday joint care, mobility and coat health, as well as joint metabolism. It also states that it is suitable for long-term daily use.

    The sources we have do not include a weight-based dosing table, the capsule strength or a full ingredient list beyond what is above. Please check the current label and packaging for the dose for your dog's weight and for the complete ingredient list.

    Why the first 15 days are different

    The manufacturer recommends feeding double the normal amount for the first 15 days. Its stated reason is to reach the appropriate nutritional level. After that, you move to the usual daily amount.

    This matters for two reasons. First, it explains why the 15-day marker appears so often in the guidance. Second, it means the early weeks need a little more attention from you. If you skip the double amount, or forget doses, you are no longer following the plan the timelines are based on.

    Always read the current pack for the exact amount for your dog, as the sources we reviewed do not give a dosing table.

    Why "how long?" has no single answer

    Even with a clear manufacturer timeline, no two dogs start from the same place. This is general context rather than a claim from the manufacturer, but it is helpful to keep in mind.

    • Dogs differ. Age, size, weight, activity level and the cause of the stiffness all play a part. A routine that suits one dog may show a different pattern in another.
    • Changes can be gradual. Mobility often shifts slowly, so you may only notice in hindsight, for example when your dog starts hopping into the car again without a pause.
    • Many things affect movement. Weight, exercise, floor surfaces, weather and any prescribed treatment all matter. If several change together, it is hard to say what made the difference.

    That last point is why a calm, methodical approach tends to give you a more reliable picture than simply hoping and watching.

    How to judge fairly: baseline and diary

    A little preparation before day one makes the 60 days far easier to read. None of it takes long.

    Record a baseline first

    Before the first dose, note how your dog gets up in the morning, manages stairs, jumps into the car, and how far they walk before slowing down. Take a short video of them walking and trotting on a flat surface. Memory is a poor judge of slow change, and a video does not drift.

    Keep a simple weekly diary

    Once a week, jot down a few quick scores. Useful things to track include:

    • Stiffness after rest, such as first thing in the morning or after a nap
    • Willingness to go for a walk and how they behave towards the end of it
    • Playfulness and interest in their usual games
    • Ease on stairs, ramps and getting onto the sofa or into the car

    Review your notes at around 15 days and again at 60 days, which fit the manufacturer's own markers. Compare them with your baseline video as well as your memory.

    Give it the full monitoring period

    The manufacturer advises 60 days of consistent daily use before judging. A handful of missed or irregular doses can muddy the picture, so a reminder on your phone or pairing it with breakfast can help. Try to change only one thing at a time. That means avoiding a new diet, a new exercise routine and a new supplement all in the same week.

    Support the basics alongside any supplement

    A supplement is only one part of looking after a stiff or slowing dog. Day-to-day habits often count for a great deal.

    • Healthy weight. Extra weight puts more load on joints, so keeping your dog lean is one of the kindest things you can do for them.
    • Steady, gentle exercise. Regular, consistent walks usually suit stiff joints better than a long weekend adventure after a quiet week.
    • Safer surfaces. Non-slip rugs on hard floors give paws something to grip.
    • Comfort and access. A supportive bed, plus ramps or steps for the car or sofa, can take pressure off tired joints.

    Do tell your vet about every supplement your dog takes, and ask them to add it to their record. This matters most if your dog is on prescribed medication or has other health conditions.

    Safety and allergy information from the manufacturer

    The manufacturer describes side effects as rare. When they do occur, they may include digestive signs such as diarrhoea or vomiting.

    There are two allergy points to check before you start:

    • Shellfish. Because the product contains fatty acids from mussels, the manufacturer says not to give it to a dog known to be allergic to shellfish.
    • Beef. The capsule is made from beef-derived gelatin. For a dog allergic to beef or cow products, the manufacturer suggests giving only the internal oil and not the outer capsule. Please talk to your vet before doing this.

    If you suspect an allergic reaction, the manufacturer says to consult a vet immediately.

    The guarantee, as published by the manufacturer

    Antinol's manufacturer publishes a 60-day money-back guarantee for new customers who buy a Starter Pack and complete the 60 days as directed, including double capsules for the first 15 days. It is stated as valid for up to 90 days from the date the Starter Pack was bought.

    Terms can change, so check the current conditions with the seller before you buy. This is Antinol's guarantee only and applies to no other product.

    A different product for comparison

    Joint supplements have different formulas, formats and recommended timescales, so one product's timeline should never be assumed for another. Whichever you choose, follow that product's own label and allow a realistic trial period.

    For context, MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a separate product. It is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed, with glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata among its key actives. It also provides omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, plus vitamins C and E and zinc.

    Its feeding guide is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 chews for 5 to 17kg, and 2 to 3 chews for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks. We recommend daily use for 2 to 3 months, and it comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee, with Subscribe & Save available. None of those details describe Antinol.

    When to see your vet

    A supplement sits alongside veterinary care and is not a replacement for a diagnosis. Many different conditions can look like simple stiffness, so a proper check should come first.

    Before starting

    • Your dog has not yet had a vet check for stiffness, limping or slowing down
    • Your dog is pregnant, nursing, very young, has other health conditions or takes prescribed medicines
    • Your dog has a known allergy to shellfish or beef

    How quickly to act

    When to contact your vet during a supplement trial

    Mention

    Raise it at your next visit

    Mild, steady stiffness, or no change at all by the end of the recommended trial period. Your vet can review the cause, other options and the overall plan.

    Book

    Make an appointment soon

    Ongoing vomiting or diarrhoea after starting, loss of appetite, lethargy, changes in drinking or toileting, mobility getting worse, or a change in temperament such as snapping when touched or hiding, which may point to pain.

    Urgent

    Call your vet straight away

    Sudden or severe lameness, refusing to put weight on a leg, crying out in pain, a hot, swollen or misshapen joint, collapse or back legs giving way, or signs of an allergic reaction such as facial swelling, hives, intense itching, vomiting or difficulty breathing.

    Please do not wait out the full 60 days if you are worried. The monitoring window is for steady, mild stiffness, not for anything that looks like pain or a sudden change.

    The bottom line

    According to the manufacturer, some owners may notice changes within days, most are said to notice a difference within about 15 days, and it suggests allowing up to 60 days before judging. That is guidance from the company, not a promise, and your dog may sit anywhere along that range.

    Take a baseline, follow the double-amount start if the label says so, keep a weekly diary, and give it a consistent trial. Check the current label for the dose for your dog's weight and for the full ingredient list, as the sources we reviewed do not cover everything. And if something feels wrong, your vet is always the right next call.

    How long does Antinol take to work?

    The manufacturer says some owners may notice changes within 3 to 4 days, that most notice a difference within about 15 days, and that you should allow up to 60 days before judging. That is the company's own guidance rather than independent research, and every dog is different. Your dog may sit anywhere along that range.

    Why does Antinol recommend double the amount for the first 15 days?

    The manufacturer says the double amount in the first 15 days is to reach the appropriate nutritional level, after which you move to the usual daily amount. Check the current pack for the exact amount for your dog's weight, as we do not have a dosing table from the sources we reviewed. If you skip the double amount or miss doses, you are no longer following the plan the timelines are based on.

    What should I do if I see no change after 8 to 12 weeks?

    First check that doses were given consistently and that you compared your dog against a baseline video and your weekly diary, not just memory. Then speak to your vet, who can review the cause of the stiffness, other options and the overall plan. Please do not wait that long if your dog seems to be in pain or is getting worse, as that is a reason to call the vet sooner.

    How can I tell if a joint supplement is helping my dog?

    Look for gradual changes such as easier rising after rest, more willingness on walks, and less hesitation on stairs or getting into the car. Recording a short video and jotting down a few weekly notes makes slow progress much easier to spot. Try to change only one thing at a time, so you know what made the difference.

    How long does MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max take, and how many chews at 20kg?

    MedPaw recommends daily use for 2 to 3 months. At 20kg the label says 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks. A 60-chew tub would last about 20 to 30 days at the standard amount, and a shorter time during the first three weeks. It is a complementary feed that supports mobility and comfort, so please speak to your vet about any stiffness or limping.

    Should I tell my vet my dog is taking a supplement?

    Yes, always. Ask your vet to note it on your dog's record, especially if your dog takes prescribed medicine or has other health conditions or allergies. A supplement sits alongside veterinary care and never replaces a diagnosis or treatment.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.