If you have searched for a brand name plus "dosage", you are probably standing in the kitchen with a tub of joint supplement in one hand, wondering how much to give your dog. It is a sensible question. You want to get the amount right for a product you are paying for.
The honest answer is that there is no single dose for dog joint supplements. Each product has its own ingredients, its own strength per serving and its own feeding guide. The right amount for one product tells you nothing about another.
In this article we explain how joint supplement dosing generally works, how to find the right guide for the product you have, and what to watch for along the way. We also set out the feeding guide for MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, clearly labelled as ours, so you can see what a typical weight-based guide looks like.
Dose by weight, and what each daily amount actually contains
A weight-based guide only tells you how much to give. It says nothing about what that amount contains. Two products can ask for the same number of daily servings and still deliver very different sets of joint actives.
So before you settle on a dose, it helps to see what is inside. Here is how MedPaw, which is our own product, compares with five other well-known UK joint supplements.
Key joint actives in the UK's leading dog joint supplements
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the quickest read. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The others list between two and four. So the same daily routine with MedPaw covers the widest range of ingredients.
The MedPaw guide is simple to follow by weight. That is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg and 2-3 for 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and 2-3 months of daily use is recommended for optimal results. A 20kg dog would sit in the 2-3 chew band.
Because it is a soft chew, most dogs take it like a treat, which makes a daily habit easier to keep up. MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care. If you would like to try it, the 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save are there to help.
Check the MedPaw feeding guide See the full MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max feeding guide and pick the weight band that matches your dog.
Why there is no universal dose
Joint supplements come in several formats, including soft chews, tablets, chewable tablets, capsules and powders. They also differ in what they contain and how much of each ingredient is in a serving. A single chew from one brand and a single tablet from another simply cannot be compared.
That is why a figure from a forum, or from a friend whose dog takes a different product, is not a reliable guide. The only dose that counts is the one the manufacturer sets out for that exact product, for your dog's weight.
Joint supplements are complementary feeds. They are designed to support joint health as part of a daily routine, alongside good care and your vet's advice. They are not medicines, and they are not a stand-in for a diagnosis.
Start with the label for your exact product
The most reliable source is always the pack, the leaflet inside it or the manufacturer's official product page. Check that you are looking at the right product and the right size or strength, because ranges often include several versions with different guides.
One small caution. When you search a brand name with "dosage", you can land on pages for entirely different products. Worming tablets, flea treatments and other licensed medicines often sit under the same brand name. Those are strict, weight-based doses set for a different purpose, and they must never be carried over to a joint supplement. The reverse is also true, so never use a supplement guide to dose a medicine.
If you cannot find a feeding guide, or the pack and website seem to disagree, contact the manufacturer or ask your vet before you start.
Most feeding guides are based on weight
Almost every joint supplement guide works from your dog's bodyweight. A small dog gets fewer chews or tablets than a large one. That means the number on the scales really matters, and guessing is where many owners go slightly wrong.
Dogs can gain or lose weight gradually without anyone noticing, especially older dogs or those who are less active than they used to be. A dog who has crept up a weight band may be getting a little less than the guide intends. A dog who has slimmed down may be getting a little more.
How to weigh your dog
- Vet scales: many practices let you pop in and weigh your dog without an appointment. It is always worth asking.
- Pet shop scales: some larger pet shops have walk-on scales.
- Hold and subtract: for dogs you can lift, weigh yourself, then weigh yourself holding your dog, and subtract the first figure from the second.
Re-weigh every month or two, particularly if your dog is losing or gaining weight. Keeping to a healthy weight is an important part of keeping joints comfortable, so the scales do double duty.
Loading phases and daily consistency
Many guides include a loading phase. This means a higher amount for the first few weeks, followed by a lower daily amount for ongoing use. Not every product does this, and the length of the phase varies, so check your label rather than assuming.
If your product has one, follow it as written and move to the lower amount when the guide says so. Carrying on with the higher amount for longer than the label suggests does not make the supplement work harder. It just means the tub runs out sooner.
After that, the aim is consistency. Joint supplements are meant for regular daily use, not occasional top-ups. Manufacturers usually suggest several weeks to a few months before you judge how your dog is getting on, so give it time. Tying the chew to a mealtime or setting a phone reminder makes it much easier to stay on track.
MedPaw's feeding guide
To show what a weight-based guide looks like in practice, here is the guide for MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max. This applies to MedPaw only. It is a daily soft chew, given as a complementary feed.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max: daily chews by bodyweight
| Dog's weight | Daily chews (ongoing) | First three weeks |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 4kg | 1 chew | Doubled |
| 5 to 17kg | 2 chews | Doubled |
| 18kg and over | 2 to 3 chews | Doubled |
For guidance only. Always check the pack for your dog.
The guide does not cover dogs between 4kg and 5kg. If your dog falls in that gap, check the pack or get in touch with us rather than guessing.
We recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you would like deliveries to arrive without having to remember to reorder.
What is in the chew
The key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The chew also provides omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, along with vitamins C and E and zinc. It is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.
Format matters more than you might think
The best supplement is the one your dog will actually take every day. Some dogs gobble a soft chew like a treat. Others spit out tablets or become experts at eating around them.
Different brands use different formats, according to their published information from September 2026:
- NutraPaw Joint Support and YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max are tablets.
- Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet.
- Synoquin EFA comes as a tablet or capsule.
- Nutraquin+ is a capsule.
Ingredients differ too. Some list chondroitin and some do not, and some include ingredients such as turmeric, krill oil or collagen that others leave out. Because contents and strengths vary, so does the dose, and each maker's own guide is the one to follow. Compare ingredient lists and feeding guides rather than treating products as interchangeable.
A capsule can suit a dog who takes pills hidden in food, whilst a soft chew or chewable tablet may suit a fussier dog. Choose what fits your dog and your routine, because consistency is what makes a daily supplement worthwhile.
Practical habits that make dosing easier
- Find the right guide. Use the pack or official product page for the exact product and size you bought.
- Weigh your dog. Re-check every month or two, especially if their weight is changing.
- Follow any loading phase. Then move to the ongoing amount when the label says so.
- Be consistent. Daily use at the stated amount is usually the aim.
- Introduce gradually if your dog has a sensitive stomach. Mention it to your vet if loose stools or vomiting occur.
- Do not double up. Avoid giving two joint supplements together without checking first, as they often contain overlapping ingredients.
- Give it time. Judge how your dog is doing after weeks of regular use, not days.
Allergies, medication and telling your vet
Some joint supplements contain shellfish-derived or fish-derived ingredients, such as green-lipped mussel. If your dog has a known food allergy or sensitivity, read the label carefully before you start.
It is also a good habit to tell your vet about any supplement your dog takes. This matters especially before surgery, if your dog is on prescribed medication, or if your dog is pregnant or nursing.
Speak to your vet before starting a supplement if your dog:
- is a puppy of a large breed
- is on pain relief or other medication
- has kidney, liver or diabetic conditions
- has had reactions to food or supplements in the past
Support the basics at home
A supplement is only one part of looking after your dog's joints. Several everyday things make a real difference to comfort:
- Keeping your dog at a healthy bodyweight, which eases the load on their joints.
- Regular, low-impact exercise, such as steady lead walks, rather than occasional bursts.
- Non-slip flooring or rugs on slippery surfaces.
- A supportive orthopaedic bed.
- Ramps or steps for the sofa and the car.
These small changes sit alongside a daily joint supplement and your vet's advice.
When to see your vet instead
A joint supplement supports your dog's joints as part of their routine. It is not a way to deal with pain or a new problem. If you notice any of the signs below, book a vet visit rather than waiting to see whether a supplement helps.
How quickly to speak to your vet
Slower on walks or a little stiff
Mention it at your next check-up, and keep up good routines and weight management. Ask your vet whether a supplement suits your dog.
Signs that persist or worsen
Limping that lasts more than a day or two or comes and goes, stiffness that does not ease after rest, reluctance to jump or climb stairs, or licking at a joint. Book an appointment.
Sudden or severe changes
Refusing to put weight on a leg, yelping when touched, swollen or hot joints, collapse, or persistent vomiting or diarrhoea. Contact your vet the same day.
Other signs worth a call include muscle wasting, a "bunny hop" gait, a dropped back end, snapping when picked up, or behaviour changes such as restlessness at night or loss of appetite. Your vet can find the cause of any discomfort and recommend suitable care, which may include prescribed medication, weight management, physiotherapy or hydrotherapy.
The short version
There is no universal dose for dog joint supplements, so the one that matters is the one on your product's own label. Weigh your dog, follow any loading phase, give the supplement consistently and allow plenty of time before you judge how things are going.
A joint supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside veterinary care. Your vet should always lead on diagnosis and treatment, and they are the best person to ask if you are unsure about any dose.
How much Bob Martin joint supplement should I give my dog by weight?
The amount depends on the exact Bob Martin product you have, so the feeding guide on that pack or on Bob Martin's own UK product page is the one to follow. We do not have Bob Martin's weight bands in our verified information, so we would rather not guess at them. If the pack and the website seem to disagree, contact the manufacturer or ask your vet before you start.
Is a Bob Martin dosage for worming or flea tablets the same as for a joint supplement?
No. Brands such as Bob Martin sell licensed medicines like worming and flea treatments as well as supplements, and their doses are set for a completely different purpose. Never carry a dose from one product over to another, and never use a supplement guide to dose a medicine. If you are unsure which product you are looking at, check the pack or ask your vet.
How many MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max does a 20kg dog need?
On the printed label, dogs of 18kg and over have 2 to 3 chews a day, so a 20kg dog has 2 to 3 chews daily. For the first three weeks the amount is doubled, which means 4 to 6 chews a day. After that you go back to 2 to 3 a day, and your vet can advise if you are unsure which amount suits your dog.
How long does one tub of MedPaw chews last for a 20kg dog?
A tub holds 60 chews. At the doubled starting amount of 4 to 6 chews a day, a tub lasts about 10 to 15 days. At the ongoing 2 to 3 chews a day, it lasts about 20 to 30 days, so the exact length depends on where in the 2 to 3 range you feed.
Do I need to give a loading phase, and how long should I keep going?
Not every joint supplement has a loading phase, so check the label for your product. With MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, the amount is doubled for the first three weeks, then you move to the ongoing amount for your dog's weight. We recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use, and carrying on with the higher amount for longer does not mean the chews work harder.
Can I give two joint supplements together if my dog is on Bob Martin?
We would not combine two joint supplements without checking first, as they often contain overlapping ingredients. Speak to your vet before adding or switching products, especially if your dog is on medication, has a known allergy or has kidney, liver or diabetic conditions. Your vet can also look into any stiffness or limping, which a supplement is not designed to deal with.


