If you are looking for the cheapest way to buy Joint Aid for dogs in the UK, you are probably thinking about a supplement for a dog who is slowing down, and a monthly cost that needs to make sense. That is a sensible thing to do. The lowest price on the label is not always the lowest cost once you factor in how much your dog eats each day.
This article is about Joint Aid, a third-party product, not a MedPaw product. We did not find any prices on the manufacturer and retailer pages we reviewed, so we will not quote any. Instead, we will show you how to work out the real cost per day for your own dog, and what to check before you buy.
Everything we say about the formula comes from those product pages only. Where the details differ between sources, or are not covered, please check the current label on the pack.
Cheapest Joint Aid price, and what else your money could buy
Price is only half of the sum when you are weighing up Joint Aid for a slowing dog. The other half is what each day's serving actually gives your dog's joints. The table below puts six key joint actives in one place, so you can judge value rather than just the figure on the pack.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is our own product, and it leads the table. Joint Aid is not one of the brands listed, so use the table as a yardstick when you check its label.
Key joint actives in the UK's leading dog joint supplements
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the one to read first. MedPaw is the only product of the six with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The other five list between two and four. Hold Joint Aid's current label up against those six and see how many it declares.
Once you know your dog's weight, a daily cost is easy to work out. Most dogs over 18kg have 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended for optimal results. MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care, and it is a soft chew with no scooping or mixing into meals.
If you are comparing costs, the 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save are worth factoring in. They lower the risk and the long-term cost of trying MedPaw for the full recommended period.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Get all six key joint actives in one daily soft chew, backed by a 60-day money-back guarantee.
What Joint Aid for Dogs is, according to the sources
Joint Aid is described as a joint and muscle supplement for dogs, built around glucosamine and designed to support freedom of movement. The sources also mention a "Muscle Maintenance" element, intended to support muscular structure and activity.
It is not a tablet or a chew. It is a scoop-fed supplement in 2mm pellets, which owners typically mix into their dog's food. The sources say it is suitable for all breeds, sizes and life stages, including pregnant, whelping and lactating dogs. If your dog is pregnant, on medication or has a health condition, please ask your vet before starting any supplement.
The formula in plain English
The two sources do not fully agree on how many active ingredients there are. One page says "32 active ingredients" and the other says "22 active nutraceuticals". Both are marketing counts, so the label on your pack is the safest guide.
The 22-nutraceutical list includes:
- five amino acids, described as important for muscle tissue
- chondroitin and glucosamine
- a collagen matrix
- curcumin, with piperine black pepper extract, described as supporting retention of some actives such as curcumin
- glutamic acid, used as a flavour enhancer
- hemp oil derived omega-3 fatty acids
- MSM (methylsulfonylmethane)
- selenium, manganese and magnesium
- vitamins C and E
- four Oatinol components: galactolipid emulsifiers, tocotrienol antioxidants, oat-derived beta glucans and phospholipids
The other page also mentions hyaluronic acid, and says glycine and proline provide components for collagen synthesis. Hyaluronic acid does not appear in the 22-item list on the first page. That is another good reason to read the current pack label rather than rely on a website summary.
Plant-based and shellfish-free
This is one of the more distinctive features. The sources state that the glucosamine is made by fermentation rather than from shellfish, and that the formulation is completely vegetable based with no animal by-products. They also say it does not contain green-lipped mussel, that its omega-3 comes from plant sources (hemp oil is named), and that it is a non-GM, soya-free formula.
That matters if you want to avoid shellfish or marine ingredients. It also means the formula is quite different from mussel-based supplements, so it is worth comparing like with like rather than assuming all joint products are interchangeable.
The Oatinol Delivery System
Joint Aid uses what the manufacturer calls the Oatinol Delivery System, an oil-based system supplying emulsifiers, antioxidants, beta glucans and phospholipids. The manufacturer describes it as intended to support gut lining integrity and the absorption of the active ingredients. That is the maker's own description, not independent evidence, so treat it as information rather than proof.
Other label details given
- 5% vegetable oils and fat
- 1% MSM
- Piperine pepper extract at 1100mg/kg
- Vitamin C at 1000mg/kg and vitamin E at 2500mg/kg
- Manganese at 240mg/kg and selenium at 1mg/kg
- Maize gluten (prairie) meal listed as an ingredient
- Store in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight
Why cost per day beats pack price
The sources give feeding in "measures", where one measure is a 10g scoop. The amounts listed for smaller dogs are 1/4 measure (2.5g), 1/2 measure (5g), 1 measure (10g) and 2 measures (20g) a day. A higher level runs 1/2 measure (5g), 1 measure (10g), 2 measures (20g) and 3 measures (30g) a day.
These two sets appear to match the "Maintenance" and "Full Support" levels. The sources do not show which weight band goes with which amount, so you will need to read the pack or product page for your dog's weight.
Because daily amounts vary so much, the same pack can be good value for a small dog and expensive for a giant breed. That is why the headline price tells you very little on its own.
The simple formula
Pack price ÷ (pack weight in grams ÷ daily grams) = cost per day. For example, at 10g a day, a 500g pack gives 50 days. Divide the pack price by 50 and you have the daily cost.
How long each pack lasts at different daily amounts
| Daily amount | 250g pack lasts | 500g pack lasts |
|---|---|---|
| 2.5g (1/4 measure) | 100 days | 200 days |
| 5g (1/2 measure) | 50 days | 100 days |
| 10g (1 measure) | 25 days | 50 days |
| 20g (2 measures) | About 12 days | 25 days |
| 30g (3 measures) | About 8 days | About 16 days |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis. Always follow the feeding guide on your pack.
Maintenance or Full Support
The sources recommend "Maintenance" for general upkeep from any age, and "Full Support" for elderly and working dogs, or dogs with reduced muscle mass. Feeding the lower level, where it is appropriate, is one honest way to keep costs down. It only works if it genuinely suits your dog, though. If you are unsure which level is right, ask your vet.
Practical ways to save money without cutting corners
Once you know your dog's daily amount, a few simple habits can keep the overall cost sensible.
- Work out the daily amount first. Check the weight-based guide on the pack, then calculate the cost per day. Compare that figure, not the headline price.
- Compare pack sizes by cost per gram. Larger packs may work out cheaper per day, but only buy what your dog will finish while the product is in good condition, and store it as directed.
- Check delivery costs. One online retailer in the sources states free standard shipping to mainland UK postcodes, with exceptions for remote areas such as the Scottish Highlands and Islands. It also says it may ask for extra fees on some products or destinations. Postage can change which seller is cheapest, so compare the total at checkout.
- Ask for a sample. The manufacturer says samples are available on request, limited to one per customer or household. That can help a fussy dog trial it before you commit to a full pack.
- Check stock with stockists. The manufacturer advises contacting stockists before you travel, as stock can vary. Online retailers may also have stock inaccuracies or back orders, so allow time for delivery.
Understand the guarantee before relying on it
The manufacturer states a money-back satisfaction guarantee on 250g and 500g packs only. If there is no change in your dog "whatsoever" after the pack has been used, the purchase cost is refunded, minus postage where applicable. Please read the full terms and conditions first.
Smaller packs are not covered, so a cheaper small pack may not carry the guarantee. That is worth weighing up if you are trying Joint Aid for the first time.
Introducing it and avoiding doubling up
For fussy or sensitive dogs, the manufacturer suggests building up over 10 days, starting at 50% of the recommended amount. Otherwise it says a gradual introduction is not usually needed.
The manufacturer also says there can be ingredient crossover with its other supplements, and advises caution if your dog also has fortified complete feeds or other multivitamin and mineral products. Tell your vet about everything your dog takes, so nothing is accidentally doubled up.
Be realistic about timescale
The sources suggest finishing a pack before judging results. Keep a simple diary of your dog's mobility, stairs, jumping and walks, so you can look back fairly rather than relying on memory. A few lines each week is plenty.
When to start a joint supplement
The manufacturer suggests that around 6 months is a good time to begin a joint supplement for general upkeep, and earlier for large or joint-prone breeds. It also says very young puppies under 6 months will not usually need one unless there is an injury or a family history of joint problems. If you have a puppy, please speak to your vet before starting anything.
How other joint products differ
If you are comparing options, it helps to know that formats, ingredients, daily amounts and guarantees all differ. A lower pack price does not always mean a lower cost per day, or the same formula. These details come from each maker's published information (September 2026).
- Joint Aid is a scoop-fed pellet, which suits owners who prefer mixing a supplement into food. Per its sources, it is plant-based and does not contain green-lipped mussel.
- MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed. Its joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata, with omega-3, vitamins C and E and zinc. It comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save. Feeding is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg and 2-3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2-3 months of daily use recommended.
- NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet with glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen, with a 90-day guarantee.
- YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet with glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with a 6-week guarantee.
- Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet with glucosamine, chondroitin and turmeric.
- Synoquin EFA is a tablet or capsule with glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil.
- Nutraquin+ is a capsule with glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia.
The right choice depends on your dog's preferences, any ingredient sensitivities, and how easily you can give it every day. A supplement your dog will actually take consistently is usually better value than a cheaper one that gets left in the bowl.
Supporting your dog beyond a supplement
A joint supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside veterinary care. It supports your dog's joints and mobility, but it is not a medicine. Several low-cost steps can make a real difference to day-to-day comfort:
- keeping your dog at a healthy weight, which your vet can help you assess
- regular, steady exercise rather than occasional intense bursts
- non-slip flooring or rugs on slippery floors
- a supportive, warm bed
- ramps or steps for cars and sofas
- short, frequent walks for stiff or older dogs
When to see a vet
The manufacturer itself says to consult your vet first if you suspect any health issue. A supplement should never delay a proper diagnosis. Use the guide below to decide how quickly to act.
How quickly should you speak to your vet?
Mild slowing down
A little slower on walks or less keen to jump. Mention it at your next routine visit and start your mobility diary.
Persistent stiffness or change
Stiff after rest, slow to get up, reluctant on stairs, licking a joint, muscle loss, a change in gait or "bunny hopping". Book an appointment.
Severe or sudden signs
Severe pain, unable to bear weight, collapse, or a swollen, hot joint. Seek urgent veterinary advice.
Please also speak to your vet if your dog is limping or lame, yelps or flinches when touched, is losing weight or going off their food, or seems to be getting worse rather than better while on a supplement. Puppies and large-breed youngsters with unusual movement should be checked too.
Always tell your vet about any supplement your dog takes, and ask before starting one if your dog has a health condition, takes medication or is pregnant.
The short version
- No prices appear in the sources, so compare cost per day using pack weight and your dog's daily grams.
- Joint Aid is a scoop-fed pellet, described as plant-based, shellfish-free and without green-lipped mussel.
- Ingredient counts and lists differ between the sources, so check the current label.
- The manufacturer's guarantee applies to 250g and 500g packs only.
- Your vet should look into any mobility problem. A supplement is a supportive extra, not a substitute for veterinary care.
Where is the cheapest place to buy Joint Aid for dogs in the UK?
We did not find current prices on the manufacturer and retailer pages we reviewed, so we cannot name a cheapest seller. The best approach is to check the manufacturer and the retailers you trust, then compare the total at checkout including delivery. Work out the cost per day for your own dog rather than relying on the headline pack price.
How do I work out the real cost per day of Joint Aid?
Divide the pack weight in grams by your dog's daily grams to see how many days it lasts, then divide the pack price by that number. For example, at 10g a day a 500g pack lasts 50 days. Check the weight-based feeding guide on your pack, as the amount varies with your dog's size and the support level used.
Does Joint Aid have a money-back guarantee?
The manufacturer states a money-back satisfaction guarantee on 250g and 500g packs only, so smaller packs are not covered. Please read the full terms and conditions before you buy. Postage may be deducted where applicable.
Is Joint Aid the same as a chew like MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max?
No, they are different products. Joint Aid is a scoop-fed pellet that the sources describe as plant-based and without green-lipped mussel. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed with glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata, backed by a 60-day money-back guarantee.
How many MedPaw chews would a 20kg dog need, and how long does a tub last?
The label says 2-3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2-3 months of daily use recommended. A tub holds 60 chews, so at 2 a day it lasts 30 days and at 3 a day it lasts 20 days. During the doubled first three weeks, a tub lasts fewer days, so it is worth planning your next order ahead.
Should I see my vet before starting a joint supplement?
Yes, it is sensible to speak to your vet first, especially if your dog is on medication, is pregnant or has a health condition. If your dog is limping, stiff after rest or seems to be getting worse, please book an appointment rather than relying on a supplement. A joint supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside veterinary care and is not a medicine.


