‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
Cortaflex dosage guide: how much to give by weight
Share this article

Cortaflex dosage guide: how much to give by weight

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Cortaflex comparison

Thinking about Cortaflex for your dog?

Tap your dog's size to see how Cortaflex compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how Cortaflex compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    Cortaflex dosage guide: how much to give by weight

    If you have typed "cortaflex dosage" into a search bar, you are probably standing in the kitchen with a pack in your hand, wondering how much your stiff or slowing-down dog should have. It is a sensible question, and the short answer may not be the one you hoped for. The serving printed on a human joint supplement is a human serving, and it cannot be turned into a dog dose.

    The human capsule supplement described in the information we reviewed is sold as a food supplement for people. Its pack gives a serving of 2 capsules a day for an adult, and it says nothing about dogs. There is no weight chart and no veterinary guidance, so any "dog share" would be a guess.

    In this guide, we explain why human doses do not carry over, how dog joint supplement dosing normally works, and how to read a label with confidence. We also cover when a chat with your vet is the right next step.

    Once you know the dose, compare what is in the scoop

    Getting the daily amount right starts with your dog's current weight and a label written for dogs. The next question is what each product actually contains, because two products with similar names can have very different formulas.

    The table below sets out the declared joint actives in five popular UK dog supplements alongside MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, which is our own product. It opens with a score out of the six key joint actives.

    MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. NutraPaw lists four, YuMOVE and Nutraquin+ three each, and Seraquin and Synoquin EFA two each. For a dog whose routine is built around supporting stiff joints, that range in one daily product is simple to manage.

    The feeding guide follows your dog's weight: 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5-17kg, and 2-3 for 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and we suggest 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results. It is a complementary feed that supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care.

    The soft chew also takes the fuss out of a daily routine, since most dogs take it like a treat. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you want a steady supply.

    See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Check the full feeding guide for your dog's weight and see how all six actives come together in one soft chew.

    Why a human dose is not a dog dose

    Dogs vary enormously in size. A small terrier might weigh a few kilograms, and a large retriever or shepherd might weigh well over 30kg. A single fixed serving written for an adult person cannot suit that whole range.

    Human supplements are also not formulated or labelled with dogs in mind. Cutting a capsule down or giving "about half" is unreliable, because you cannot know how much of each ingredient your dog is actually getting. Some human products contain concentrated plant extracts or added vitamins and minerals that need careful thought for a dog. Others use ingredients that matter if your dog has a food sensitivity.

    The human product in our sources, for example, notes crustacean-derived ingredients and possible traces of milk and fish. That is useful for a person with allergies, but it tells you nothing about what suits your dog.

    The safer route

    • Choose a product made and labelled for dogs, with its own feeding guide.
    • Match the dose to your dog's current bodyweight, not a guess.
    • Check with your vet first, especially if your dog has a health condition or takes medication.

    If you are looking at a product with a similar name that is actually sold for dogs, the same rule applies. Follow the dog feeding guide on that pack, and tell your vet what you are giving.

    How dog joint supplement dosing normally works

    Most dog joint supplements follow a similar pattern, which takes much of the worry out of it. Once you know the pattern, any label becomes easier to read.

    • Bodyweight bands. The daily amount is set by weight range. Weigh your dog before you start rather than estimating, as many of us underestimate a dog we see every day.
    • A higher starting amount. Many products suggest more for the first few weeks, then a lower daily amount. Always follow the pack.
    • Daily, ongoing use. A joint supplement is a complementary feed that supports your dog's joints as part of their routine. It is not a one-off.
    • Consistency. Give it at the same time each day, with food if the label allows.
    • No extras to "speed things up". Never go above the stated amount hoping for faster results.

    Dogs take time to settle into a routine, and so do owners. A reminder on your phone or a spot beside the food bowl can help you stay consistent.

    A simple checklist for reading any dog supplement label

    Whichever product you are considering, these seven checks will help you choose it and dose it properly.

    1. Is it labelled for dogs? Look for a dog-specific feeding guide.
    2. Find the bodyweight table and match it to your dog's current weight.
    3. Check for a loading period, meaning a higher amount at the start, and how long it lasts.
    4. Check the format. Soft chews, tablets and capsules suit different dogs. Chews are often easier for fussy eaters, while tablets can be hidden in food.
    5. Check allergens and sensitivities. If your dog has a shellfish or fish allergy, read the ingredients closely and ask your vet.
    6. Check the guarantee, and how long the maker suggests giving the product before you judge it.
    7. Tell your vet what you are giving, including the amounts.

    Common joint ingredients in plain English

    Labels can read like a chemistry exam. Here is what the most common names mean. None of these is a treatment, and a supplement sits alongside veterinary care.

    • Glucosamine and chondroitin: natural components of cartilage, commonly included in joint supplements for support.
    • Hyaluronic acid: a natural component of joint fluid, often included for support.
    • Boswellia serrata: a plant extract used in some joint supplements.
    • Turmeric (curcumin): a plant extract found in some joint products. The human product in our sources pairs it with black pepper extract, which its maker describes as an absorption enhancer.
    • Vitamin C and manganese: nutrients involved in normal connective tissue and cartilage, according to the human product's labelling.

    The same ingredient name can appear in very different amounts and forms from one product to the next. That is one more reason a dog-specific feeding guide matters.

    The MedPaw feeding guide

    MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed for dogs. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.

    The feeding guide is set by weight, so there are no sums or splitting involved.

    MedPaw daily feeding guide by bodyweight

    Dog's weight Chews a day First three weeks
    Up to 4kg 1 Double the daily amount
    5 to 17kg 2 Double the daily amount
    18kg and over 2 to 3 Double the daily amount

    For guidance only, not a diagnosis.

    After the first three weeks, you drop to the daily amount in the table. We recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use so the routine has time to settle in. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you would like deliveries on a schedule.

    Green-lipped mussel and its omega-3 are part of the formula. If your dog has a known shellfish or fish allergy, please speak to your vet before starting.

    Comparing formats and ingredients fairly

    Dog joint products are not interchangeable. Going by each maker's published information (September 2026), formats and ingredient lists differ quite a bit.

    • NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet. It lists glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen, and it does not list chondroitin or Boswellia. It has a 90-day guarantee.
    • YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet. It lists glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with chondroitin only via the mussel. It has a 6-week guarantee.
    • Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet containing glucosamine, chondroitin and turmeric.
    • Synoquin EFA comes as a tablet or capsule and lists glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil, plus vitamin C and zinc.
    • Nutraquin+ is a capsule listing glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia, plus vitamin C and zinc.

    The best product is one your dog will take every day and that suits their needs, so compare the labels and talk it through with your vet. Try not to assume that two products with "joint" on the front are the same inside.

    Everyday support alongside a supplement

    A supplement works best as one part of a wider routine. These steps are practical and vet-friendly.

    • Keep your dog at a healthy weight. Extra weight puts more load on joints. Ask your vet to check your dog's body condition.
    • Choose regular, moderate exercise. Several shorter walks usually suit a stiff or older dog better than one long outing. Avoid sudden, high-impact activity such as repeated ball chasing.
    • Provide comfortable bedding. A supportive, warm bed helps dogs who feel stiff after rest.
    • Improve traction and access. Rugs or mats on slippery floors, and ramps or steps for cars and sofas, can reduce strain.
    • Keep a simple diary. Note how your dog gets up, manages stairs and copes with walks. It helps you and your vet spot changes.

    Small changes at home can help a dog feel more comfortable as they move through the day, and they are easy to put in place.

    When to see your vet

    Joint supplements are not a substitute for veterinary care. If your dog shows any of the signs below, book an appointment rather than adjusting the supplement.

    How quickly to seek advice

    Low

    Slower or a little stiff

    Takes longer to get up, or is less keen on stairs or jumping. Mention it at your next check-up, start a movement diary and ask about joint support.

    Watch

    Limping or changes that persist

    Limping that lasts more than a day or two, swollen, hot or tender joints, repeated licking of a joint, irritability, hiding or a dip in appetite. Book a vet visit.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe signs

    Crying out when touched or moved, sudden inability to stand, dragging the back legs, wobbling or losing balance. Seek urgent veterinary attention.

    Puppies and young dogs deserve a mention too. An unusual gait, or "bunny hopping" when running, is worth raising with your vet early. And if your dog already takes medication or has a health condition, please talk to your vet before starting any supplement.

    The short version

    Weigh your dog, choose a product made for dogs, and follow its feeding guide by bodyweight. Keep the routine steady, and tell your vet exactly what your dog is having.

    The 2-capsule serving on a human pack belongs to people, not dogs. Your vet can look into what is behind any stiffness and advise on the right support, with a daily supplement sitting alongside that care.

    How much Cortaflex should I give my dog by weight?

    Follow the weight table printed on the pack in your hand, or on Cortaflex's own UK product page, as that is the only reliable source for the current amounts. Weigh your dog first rather than estimating, because many of us underestimate a dog we see every day. If your dog is on any medication or has a health condition, check with your vet before you start.

    Can I use a human joint supplement serving for my dog?

    No. A serving written for an adult person cannot be scaled down to suit a dog, because dogs range from a few kilograms to well over 30kg and you cannot know how much of each ingredient they would get. Choose a product made and labelled for dogs, with its own bodyweight feeding guide, and tell your vet what you are giving.

    Is there a higher starting dose for the first few weeks?

    It depends on the product, so check the feeding guide on the pack for any loading period and how long it lasts. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, for example, doubles the daily amount for the first three weeks, then drops to the standard amount. Whichever product you use, follow its own label rather than copying another brand's pattern.

    How many MedPaw chews does a 20kg dog need each day?

    A 20kg dog is in the 18kg and over band, which is 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks (so 4 to 6 chews a day). With 60 chews in a tub, one tub lasts 10 to 15 days during those first three weeks. After that, it lasts 20 to 30 days at 3 or 2 chews a day. MedPaw is a complementary feed, so please speak to your vet if your dog has a health condition.

    How long should I give a joint supplement before deciding if it suits my dog?

    Joint supplements are a daily routine rather than a quick fix, so consistency matters more than speed. For MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max we recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use, and there is a 60-day money-back guarantee. Keeping a short diary of how your dog gets up, manages stairs and copes with walks can help you and your vet see any changes.

    Can I give extra to speed things up?

    No, please never go above the amount stated on the pack hoping for faster results. A supplement supports your dog's joints as part of their daily routine and works alongside veterinary care, not in place of it. If your dog is limping, stiff for more than a day or two, or seems in discomfort, book a vet appointment rather than increasing the dose.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.