If you are searching for the cheapest Cosequin in the UK, you are probably weighing up a joint supplement for a dog who has started to slow down, and you want a tub that lasts. That is a sensible thing to want. Joint support is best thought of as a steady, daily routine, so the cost over several months matters more than the price on any single day.
Here is the honest starting point: a pack price on its own tells you very little. The same 120-tablet tub can last a few weeks for a large dog or several months for a small one. The version you buy, the higher starter dose, delivery charges and stock changes all shape what you really spend.
So rather than naming a "winner" (prices change constantly, and we would not want to quote one that is out of date), this guide shows you how to work out the real daily cost for your own dog. We also cover what the label says, how the dosing works and when a supplement is not the right next step.
Cheapest Cosequin or cheapest per day? Check the actives too
The lowest pack price is only half the answer, because a tub's real cost depends on how many days it lasts and what is inside it. Cosequin is the product you searched for, so it is worth knowing how the alternatives compare on contents.
The table below is for that. It sets MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, our own product, against five other UK joint supplements, starting with a score for key joint actives.
UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
Cosequin is not one of the columns, but the same test works for it. Take the label on the pack you are considering and count how many of the six key actives it lists: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. MedPaw is the only one of the six products in the table to list all six.
That matters when you are working out cost per day. A price per tablet or chew only means something if you know what each daily dose actually delivers. MedPaw brings all six actives, plus omega-3, vitamins C and E and zinc, into a single soft chew, so you are not topping up with extras.
For a 20kg dog the label says 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks. Divide the tub price by the days it lasts to get your daily cost. The 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save can help you keep to the 2 to 3 months recommended for optimal results.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Check the current tub price and your dog's daily amount, then work out the cost per day for your own dog.
What Cosequin is, and why the version matters
Cosequin is a joint supplement for dogs made by Nutramax Laboratories in the USA. Each country has its own distributor and packaging can vary, although one source states the product's properties stay the same. That is a good reason to buy from a reputable UK stockist and read the label on the pack you receive.
The sources describe at least two versions, and they are not interchangeable. Checking which one you are buying is the first step to finding the cheapest sensible option.
Cosequin DS
Cosequin DS is described as a food supplement containing chondroitin sulphate and glucosamine. It comes as a flavoured tablet, with a 120 count and a 300 count both mentioned. The sources we have do not give per-tablet amounts or a full dose table for DS, so please check the label on your pack for exact figures and directions.
Cosequin Maximum Strength Plus MSM and HA
The Maximum Strength version is a chewable tablet, sold in a 120 count. It adds MSM and hyaluronic acid to the glucosamine and chondroitin found in DS, and its dosing is different. Per tablet, the listing gives:
- Glucosamine hydrochloride: 600mg
- Sodium chondroitin sulfate: 300mg
- MSM (methylsulfonylmethane): 250mg
- Hyaluronic acid (HA): 6mg
- Other ingredients listed: dextrose, magnesium stearate, sodium chloride and yeast
It is described as suitable for dogs of all sizes and can be given whole as a treat or divided between meals. Formulas and directions can be revised, so treat the current label as the final word on anything the sources do not cover.
Work out cost per day, not cost per pack
The most useful habit when comparing supplements is a simple one. Divide the pack price by the number of days the pack will last for your dog's weight. A cheaper tub that runs out in six weeks may cost more over a year than a slightly pricier one that lasts three months.
Both packs mentioned in the sources hold 120 tablets, so the dose is what changes the answer. Here are the Cosequin Maximum Strength directions as given in the sources. Always follow the label on your pack or your vet's advice.
Cosequin Maximum Strength directions by dog weight, as given in the sources
| Dog weight | First 4 to 6 weeks | Then |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 6.8kg (15lb) | Half a tablet daily | Half a tablet every other day |
| 7 to 13.5kg (16 to 30lb) | 1 tablet daily | Half a tablet daily |
| 14 to 27kg (31 to 60lb) | 2 tablets daily | 1 tablet daily |
| Over 27kg (60lb) | 3 tablets daily | 1 to 2 tablets daily |
For guidance only, not a diagnosis. Always follow your pack label or vet.
The weight bands in the source leave small gaps, for example between 13.5kg and 14kg. If your dog sits near a boundary, check the label or ask your vet which dose suits them.
What that means in real days
These examples count tablets only, using a 120-tablet pack, to show how much your dog's size changes the picture. They are illustrations, not a promise of how your own pack will behave.
- Dog of 14 to 27kg: a 4-week starter at 2 tablets a day uses 56 tablets, leaving 64 for maintenance at 1 a day. That is about 92 days in total. With a 6-week starter (84 tablets), 36 remain, giving about 78 days in total.
- Dog over 27kg: at 3 tablets a day, one pack lasts only 40 days during the starter phase.
- Dog of 7 to 13.5kg: a 6-week starter at 1 a day uses 42 tablets, leaving 78 for maintenance at half a tablet a day. That is 156 days of maintenance, roughly 198 days in total.
The takeaway is that a larger dog costs noticeably more to supplement, and a pack that looks like a bargain may not last long. Smaller dogs get far more days from the same tub. When you compare listings, always do the sum for your own dog.
Plan for the starter phase
Both the Maximum Strength and DS directions use a higher dose to begin with, for around 4 to 6 weeks, and then a lower maintenance dose. This is where many owners get caught out, because the first pack disappears faster than expected.
One distributor describes the DS directions like this: given once daily, directly or mixed into food or hidden in a treat. It describes a double dose for the 4 to 6 week starter, then a gradual reduction to half until the right level is found for the dog's condition and activity. If your dog is stable, the maintenance dose can be given once every two days. The same source describes use either continuously or in 1 to 2 month cycles repeated 3 or 4 times a year. It mentions weight bands of 10 to 25kg and 25 to 50kg without giving the doses, so the label on your pack is the place to confirm them.
If you are budgeting, count the starter phase first. Buying a second pack at the same moment can be sensible if it saves on delivery, but only if you are confident you will keep using it.
Delivery, stock and offers
A low pack price can lose its advantage at the checkout. Here is what the sources suggest watching for:
- Delivery charges. One UK retailer sets a free-delivery threshold and charges for smaller orders, with faster options at extra cost. A single small tub can end up costing more than it first appeared.
- Stock levels. One source flagged "last items in stock", and one marketplace listing showed no featured offers. Stock and offers move quickly, so check the live listing.
- First-order discounts. One source advertised a first-order discount code. Terms change, so confirm them at checkout before you rely on one.
- Multi-pack options. Where available, these may reduce the cost per tablet, but they only help if your dog will use them within a sensible time.
Try not to lean on marketplace star ratings as a shortcut. One listing shows shopper ratings, but a rating describes the buying experience for some people, not how well a supplement suits your dog.
Buy the right pack for the UK
Because packaging differs between countries, buy from a reputable UK stockist and check the label for directions and ingredients when it arrives. If the pack in your hand does not match what the listing described, ask the seller before you start feeding it.
You may also see claims about the brand. The manufacturer says it has been available for over 20 years, from a company operating since 1992, made in line with good manufacturing practice and quality control. It also cites published veterinary studies, though the sources give no results, so we cannot comment on them. In the USA, the brand is promoted as the number one veterinarian-recommended retail joint supplement brand, based on a US survey. That is a US marketing claim and says nothing about the UK market. Treat all of this as manufacturer information rather than independent proof.
What to expect once you start
Joint supplements are intended to support joint health and comfortable movement, and any effect is gradual. You should not expect a change on the day you start, which is why the initial period runs 4 to 6 weeks. Try not to judge a tub after the first week or two, and every dog is different.
- Tummy upsets. One source says some dogs may have mild digestive upset when starting, similar to changing food, and suggests giving it with a meal. If it persists, speak to your vet.
- Dog food already contains joint ingredients. One distributor says the amounts in normal dog food may not match the amounts in supplements, and that processing can affect levels. That is one source's view, so ask your vet if you are unsure.
- Long-term use. One source says Maximum Strength is formulated for ongoing daily use at maintenance level, with periodic veterinary review recommended.
- Other medication. Check with your vet first, particularly if your dog takes prescribed anti-inflammatories or pain relief.
- Format. Cosequin Maximum Strength is a chewable tablet, which matters if you are comparing it with soft chew products.
A supplement is a complementary feed. It sits alongside your vet's care, along with a healthy weight, gentle exercise and a comfortable home, and does not replace any of them.
When to see a vet instead
Sometimes the right next step is an appointment, not a tub. Stiffness that is gently creeping up is a different situation from signs of pain, and a supplement cannot give a diagnosis or pain relief.
How quickly to speak to your vet
Mild, steady stiffness
Slower to get going after rest but still keen to walk. Mention it at your next routine check and ask whether a supplement suits your dog.
Getting worse, or a recent change
Stiffness is increasing, your dog has had surgery or an injury, or they take prescribed medicines. Book a vet appointment before starting anything new.
Signs of pain
Limping, struggling to get up, yelping or crying out, or suddenly reluctant to walk. See your vet promptly for a diagnosis and pain relief.
Your vet can confirm the cause, advise on weight, exercise and pain relief, and say whether a supplement is a good fit for your dog.
If Cosequin is not the right fit
If the cost per day works out higher than you hoped, or the format does not suit your dog, it is perfectly reasonable to look at other options. The fairest way to compare is by label: the actives, the format, the feeding guide and the guarantee. Prices change too often to make a lasting comparison, so work out the daily cost for your dog on the day you buy.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and complementary feed. Its joint ingredients are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata, with omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc. Feeding is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5 to 17kg and 2 to 3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended. It comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.
Other brands differ again. YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet with a 6-week guarantee, and NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet with a 90-day guarantee. None of these details apply to Cosequin, and Cosequin's details do not apply to them, so read each label for itself.
The cheapest Cosequin, summed up
The cheapest Cosequin is the one that is the right version for your dog, lasts the right number of days at your dog's dose, and arrives without costly postage. Check which version you are buying, do the cost-per-day sum for your dog's weight, allow for the starter phase and read the delivery terms before you pay.
Always check the current label, follow your vet's advice, and see a vet promptly if your dog shows pain or a sudden change in mobility. A steady daily routine and a calm, well-informed choice are a better use of your energy than chasing the lowest price on the day.
Where can I buy Cosequin in the UK?
Cosequin is sold through a range of UK stockists, including online retailers, marketplaces and some pet shops, and stock changes often. Buy from a reputable UK stockist and check the label on the pack that arrives, because packaging and directions can differ between countries. Check the live listing for the current price, pack size and delivery charge before you pay.
Is Cosequin DS the same as Cosequin Maximum Strength?
No, they are different versions and should not be treated as interchangeable. The sources describe Cosequin DS as containing chondroitin sulphate and glucosamine. The Maximum Strength Plus MSM and HA chewable tablet adds MSM and hyaluronic acid and has its own dosing. Always check the label on your pack for the exact figures and directions.
How do I work out the real daily cost of Cosequin for my dog?
Divide the pack price by the number of days the pack will last at your dog's dose. A 120-tablet tub lasts far longer for a small dog than for a large one, and the higher starter dose for the first 4 to 6 weeks uses tablets faster. Add any delivery charge to the pack price before you divide, so you compare like with like.
Why does the first tub run out faster than I expected?
Cosequin directions begin with a higher starter dose for around 4 to 6 weeks, then move to a lower maintenance dose. For a dog over 27kg, the Maximum Strength starter dose of 3 tablets a day means a 120-tablet pack lasts about 40 days. It helps to budget for the starter phase first, and to follow the label on your pack or your vet's advice.
How many MedPaw chews would a 20kg dog need, and how long does a tub last?
On the printed label, a dog of 18kg and over has 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks. At 20kg that is 2 chews a day, so one 60-chew tub lasts 30 days, or 3 chews a day for 20 days. For the first three weeks the dose doubles to 4 to 6 chews a day, so a tub runs out sooner during that period. The label recommends 2 to 3 months of daily use.
Should I speak to my vet before starting a joint supplement?
Yes, it is a sensible step, especially if your dog takes prescribed medicines, has had surgery or an injury, or their stiffness is getting worse. A supplement is a complementary feed and does not replace veterinary care or pain relief. If your dog is limping, yelping or struggling to get up, see your vet promptly for a diagnosis.


