If your vet has suggested physiotherapy for your dog, one of the first questions is usually the simplest: how much is this going to cost? Prices vary widely across the UK, and it is not always obvious what you are paying for or how many sessions you will need.
This guide sets out typical UK prices for canine physiotherapy in 2026, from the first assessment to follow-up sessions and hydrotherapy, using published price lists and insurer data. We also cover how pet insurance usually treats physio, how to find a properly qualified practitioner, and where a daily joint supplement fits alongside.
If you want to know what actually happens during a session, our guide to what to expect from canine physiotherapy covers that. Here we focus on cost.
Where a Daily Supplement Fits, and How the Options Compare
Physiotherapy is usually a course with an end point, while a joint supplement is something you give every day, before, during and after a course of sessions. Many owners use both, so it is worth knowing what the popular UK supplements contain.
MedPaw is our own product. The table uses each brand's published ingredient list.
UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
MedPaw is the only one of these six that lists all six key joint actives. That means one daily chew supports cartilage, joint fluid and everyday comfort while the physio works on strength and movement.
Unlike a course of sessions, the cost is spread across the month, it needs no appointments, and the soft chew format means no wrestling with tablets on top of home exercises. A 60-day money-back guarantee lets you judge it over a typical course of physio.
Explore MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max to give your dog daily joint support alongside their physio plan.
Typical UK Dog Physiotherapy Prices in 2026
There is no national price list for animal physiotherapy, so costs depend on where you live, who you see and what setting they work in. To give you a realistic picture, we looked at published 2026 price lists from UK clinics and data from pet insurer ManyPets.
ManyPets reports average UK prices of around £73 for an initial physiotherapy consultation, around £51 for a follow-up physiotherapy session and around £36 for a hydrotherapy session. Published price lists we found sit either side of those averages, from a university teaching clinic charging £41 for an initial consultation to a large referral hospital charging £85 for a physio outpatient revisit.
Typical UK costs for canine physiotherapy, 2026
| Service | Typical range | What affects the price |
|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £40 to £90 | Length (often 60 to 90 minutes), gait or stance analysis, written report |
| Follow-up physio session | £35 to £85 | Session length, clinic or referral hospital, home visit |
| Hydrotherapy session | £20 to £75 | Pool or underwater treadmill, session length, clinical or fitness use |
| Block or package booking | Often one session free per block | Some clinics discount blocks of five or more |
| Home visit | Session price plus travel | Distance and mileage charges |
| Referral hospital rehab | Higher, often combined with a vet consultation | Specialist vet and physio together, pain clinic services |
Typical ranges based on 2026 published price lists from UK clinics (including Harper Adams Veterinary Rehab Centre, Company of Animals Pet Centre and Langford Vets) and ManyPets average UK prices. Prices vary by region and practice; always ask for a quote.
The Initial Assessment
The first appointment is almost always the most expensive because it takes longest. The physio will take a history, watch your dog move, examine muscles and joints, and agree goals with you. Some clinics include stance or gait analysis and a printed report in the price. You should leave with a plan for the number and frequency of sessions and exercises to do at home.
Follow-Up Sessions
Follow-ups are usually shorter, often 45 to 60 minutes, and cheaper. They may include manual therapy, electrotherapy such as laser or TENS where appropriate, and progression of exercises. The number of sessions depends entirely on why your dog is there, so ask the physio for an estimate after the first appointment.
Hydrotherapy as an Add-On
Many physio plans include hydrotherapy, either in a pool or on an underwater treadmill. Hydro is often priced separately, and clinical sessions at a referral centre cost more than fitness swims at a local pool. For more on the benefits, see our hydrotherapy guide, and for a cost comparison against supplements, see joint supplement vs hydrotherapy cost.
What a Course Might Cost: A Worked Example
Because session numbers vary so much, it helps to run your own sums. Here is an illustrative example using mid-range prices from the table above. It is not a quote, just a way of seeing how costs add up.
Illustrative cost of a short physio course
Initial assessment: around £70
Full examination, goals agreed and a home exercise plan. Ask how many sessions the physio expects your dog to need.
Five follow-ups: around £250
Five sessions at around £50 each. Add hydrotherapy if recommended, which might add £35 or so per session.
Maintenance: varies
Some dogs need occasional top-up sessions. Home exercises, weight management and daily joint support carry on between visits.
In this example, an assessment and five follow-ups come to roughly £320 before any hydrotherapy. Using the lower and upper ends of the typical ranges instead, the same course could cost anywhere from about £215 to about £515. Block bookings, insurance and the setting you choose can all move that figure.
Does Pet Insurance Cover Dog Physiotherapy?
Often, yes, but with conditions. Many UK lifetime and time-limited policies include cover for physiotherapy and hydrotherapy, but it is usually treated as a complementary or alternative therapy with rules attached. Common points to check in your policy:
- Vet referral. Most insurers only pay if your vet has diagnosed the problem and referred your dog for physio.
- A separate limit. Complementary therapy cover often has its own cap, which may sit within your overall vet fee limit rather than on top of it. ManyPets, for example, says its complementary therapy limit forms part of the overall vet fee limit.
- Qualified practitioners. Some policies require the physio to be a member of a recognised professional body.
- Pre-existing conditions. If the joint problem started before the policy began, physio for it may be excluded.
- Excess. Your policy excess will usually apply to the claim.
Call your insurer before the first appointment, tell them what your vet has recommended, and ask what they will pay. Many physios will help with claim forms.
How to Find a Properly Qualified Physio
"Veterinary physiotherapist" is not a protected title in the UK, so anyone can use it regardless of training. That makes it worth checking credentials before you book. Two registers are useful starting points:
- ACPAT (the Association of Chartered Physiotherapists in Animal Therapy) lists chartered physiotherapists who have gone on to postgraduate training in animal physiotherapy.
- RAMP (the Register of Animal Musculoskeletal Practitioners) lists physiotherapists, chiropractors and osteopaths who meet its standards for treating animals.
Both have search tools on their websites to find practitioners near you. Under the Veterinary Surgery (Exemptions) Order 2015, a physio can only treat your dog with your vet's consent, so your vet will usually be involved anyway and can often recommend someone local. A good physio will ask for your vet's details and send them updates.
When comparing practitioners, ask what is included in the price, how long sessions last, whether they offer block discounts or home visits, and whether your insurer recognises their qualification. If cost is a barrier, ask about home exercise plans too. Our guide to rehabilitation exercises at home shows the kind of work owners can do between sessions, under the physio's direction.
Where a Daily Supplement Fits Alongside Physio
Physiotherapy and joint supplements do different jobs, which is why many owners use both. Physio provides hands-on treatment, structured exercise and professional monitoring. A joint supplement provides daily nutritional support for normal joint structure and function, every day of the week, including the days between appointments.
From a cost point of view, a supplement is a small daily amount rather than a block of session fees, and it continues once a physio course has finished. If you are still deciding which to prioritise, our guide to supplement or physio for dogs looks at that choice in more detail. Tell your physio and vet about any supplement your dog takes so they have the full picture.
When to See Your Vet
Your vet should always be your first stop, both because physio needs their consent and because some mobility problems need treatment that physio alone cannot provide. Contact your vet if:
- your dog suddenly becomes lame or will not put weight on a leg
- a joint is swollen, hot or painful to the touch
- stiffness is getting steadily worse, or your dog is struggling to get up or use stairs
- your dog seems in pain during or after physio or home exercises
- you are considering physio after surgery or injury and need a referral
How much does dog physiotherapy cost in the UK?
Typical UK prices in 2026 are around £40 to £90 for an initial assessment and £35 to £85 for each follow-up session, with hydrotherapy sessions ranging from about £20 to £75. ManyPets reports averages of around £73 for an initial physio consultation and £51 for a follow-up. Referral hospitals usually charge more than independent or teaching clinics.
How many physio sessions will my dog need?
It depends on why your dog needs physio, their age and how they respond. Ask the physio for an estimate after the initial assessment, and whether they offer block bookings, which some clinics discount.
Will my pet insurance pay for dog physiotherapy?
Many UK policies do, usually as a complementary therapy that requires a vet referral and has its own limit, which may sit within your overall vet fee limit. Check whether the condition is pre-existing and whether your insurer requires the physio to belong to a recognised professional body.
Do I need a vet referral for dog physio?
Yes. Under the Veterinary Surgery (Exemptions) Order 2015, a physiotherapist can only treat an animal with veterinary consent. Your vet can also recommend a qualified local practitioner, and insurers generally require a referral before they will pay.
Can I give my dog a joint supplement during physiotherapy?
Many owners do, as supplements and physio work in different ways. A daily supplement such as MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max provides nutritional support for joints between sessions. Let your vet and physio know what your dog is taking.


