If you have been searching for the cheapest place to buy Johnson's 4Joints, you are probably doing what many careful owners do: trying to look after a stiff or ageing dog without letting the monthly cost creep up. That is a sensible instinct. Joint supplements are usually given every day for weeks and months, so the cost adds up.
We cannot point you to a "cheapest" seller. Prices change often and vary by retailer, and we have no verified, dated prices to share, so we will not guess. What we can do is show you how to work out the real cost per day for your own dog, how to read a supplement label, and when a vet visit is the better next step.
We also make a joint supplement ourselves, MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, so we will say plainly when we are describing our own product. Everything we say about other products comes from their published information, and we have tried to keep it fair.
Price per pack versus what is actually inside it
A low price only helps if the pack contains what you want your dog to have. So before you compare checkouts, it is worth comparing formulas.
The table below puts MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, our own product, next to five other UK joint supplements. It starts with a count of six key joint actives.
UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the quickest way to judge value. MedPaw is the only one of the six products with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The others list between two and four.
For a stiff or ageing dog who will be on a supplement for months, that matters. Daily use is the point, so one soft chew that brings all six together can be better value than a cheaper pack that covers fewer of them. It supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care.
MedPaw is dosed by weight, with the amount doubled for the first three weeks, and 2 to 3 months of daily use is recommended for optimal results. The 60-day money-back guarantee and Subscribe & Save both help you manage the cost across that time.
Check MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max See the full MedPaw formula and current price, then work out what a day of all six actives costs for your own dog.
Why the lowest price is only half the story
A low price on the shelf tells you very little by itself. A cheap pack that your dog refuses, or that runs out in half the time you expected, can cost more per day than a dearer pack that lasts. And a product that does not contain what you were hoping for is poor value at any price.
Four things change what a supplement really costs you:
- The daily amount for your dog. Many supplements are dosed by bodyweight, so a large dog can get through a pack much faster than a small one.
- Any higher starting amount. Some products ask you to give more for the first few weeks, which uses up the first pack sooner.
- How long you plan to use it. Joint supplements are normally given daily over weeks and months, not a few days.
- Whether your dog will take it. A format your dog eats happily every day is worth more than one that ends up in the bin or hidden in cheese.
Delivery costs and subscription terms matter too. We have no information on them for any seller, so check them before you buy.
What we can say about Johnson's 4Joints
Johnson's 4Joints is a nutritional supplement marketed to support joint mobility and joint and cartilage function, including in older pets. The details below come from retailer product listings. They are not MedPaw's details, and they are a starting point rather than a substitute for the pack in your hand.
What the listings mention
- Species: both listings describe it as suitable for dogs and cats. Make sure the product, the size of animal and the amount all match what the label says for your dog.
- Pack size: one listing gives 30 tablets per pack.
- Ingredients named: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM and vitamin C. One listing's composition panel also names green-lipped mussel, omega-3 and brewer's yeast.
- Not stated in the information we reviewed: a feeding guide by bodyweight, a guarantee, and whether it includes hyaluronic acid or Boswellia.
Where the listings disagree
The two listings do not fully agree with each other. One describes the product as tablets, while the other uses "tablets" in the title and "capsules" in the description. The ingredient amounts also appear on different bases, and it is not clear whether a figure refers to a tablet, a measure or a bodyweight.
For that reason, we are not going to quote amounts here. If you are considering this or any supplement, rely on the pack label and the manufacturer, not a retailer summary. If anything is unclear, ask your vet or the manufacturer before you start.
How to work out cost per day
This is the most reliable way to compare any two joint supplements, and it only takes a few minutes with a calculator.
- Find the daily amount for your dog's weight. Use the feeding guide on the pack. If you have not weighed your dog recently, do that first, as it is easy to guess too high or too low.
- Count how many days one pack lasts. Divide the number of tablets or chews in the pack by the number your dog needs each day. A 30-tablet pack lasts 30 days only if your dog needs one a day.
- Allow for a starting phase. If the guide asks for a higher amount at the start, work that out separately. For example, MedPaw's guide doubles the daily amount for the first three weeks.
- Divide the pack price by the days it lasts. That is your cost per day. Add delivery if it applies, and spread it across the pack.
- Think in courses, not packs. We recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use for MedPaw, and many owners give any joint supplement a similar length of time. Work out what the full course would cost, not just the first box.
- Check subscriptions and guarantees. Some sellers offer repeat-order savings, and guarantee lengths vary a lot between brands.
Doing this for two or three products side by side often changes which one looks cheapest. It also shows you how much you are really committing to before you buy.
What to check on any joint supplement before you compare prices
| What to check | Why it matters | What to look for |
|---|---|---|
| Made for dogs | Some products are sold for dogs and cats, and amounts differ between species | Clear dog dosing on the label for your dog's weight |
| Format | A dog that refuses it will not get the daily routine you are paying for | Tablet, capsule or soft chew, whichever your dog takes happily |
| Ingredient list | Products differ in which joint ingredients they list | The actual names on the pack, not just a general "joint support" claim |
| Daily amount | Decides how fast a pack runs out | The amount for your dog's weight, plus any starting phase |
| Guarantee | Gives you a way out if your dog will not take it | A stated length and clear terms, or a note that none is given |
| Allergies | Some joint ingredients come from shellfish or fish | A word with your vet first if your dog has known food allergies |
How supplements differ in what they list
Joint supplements are not all alike. Going by each manufacturer's published information (September 2026), here are a few differences that may help when you are reading labels:
- NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet listing glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen, with omega-3 from the mussel and manganese. It does not list chondroitin or Boswellia. It has a 90-day guarantee.
- YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet listing glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with chondroitin only via the mussel, plus vitamins C and E and manganese. It does not list MSM, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. It has a 6-week guarantee.
- Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet listing glucosamine, chondroitin and turmeric. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, omega-3 or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.
- Synoquin EFA comes as a tablet or capsule and lists glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil, plus vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.
- Nutraquin+ is a capsule listing glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia, plus vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, omega-3, turmeric or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.
None of this makes one product right for every dog. It simply shows that a lower price may come with a shorter ingredient list, and a longer list is not automatically better for your dog either. What matters is whether the product suits your dog, your budget and your vet's advice.
Where MedPaw fits
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is one option among several. It is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed for dogs. The key joint ingredients are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.
The feeding guide is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 chews for 5 to 17kg, and 2 to 3 chews for 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, and we recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available. We make no claim that it is better than any other product. We simply set out what is in it so you can compare properly.
Looking after joints beyond the supplement
A supplement is only one part of joint care. It is there to support your dog's joints and mobility alongside the basics, and the basics do a lot of the work. None of these need a special product.
- Keep your dog lean. Extra weight puts more load on every joint. Your vet or practice nurse can help you set a target weight and a feeding plan.
- Keep exercise steady. Regular, moderate walks usually suit stiff or older dogs better than the occasional long outing. Avoid sudden bursts of hard play, and ease off if your dog seems sore afterwards.
- Make the home easier. Non-slip rugs on hard floors, a supportive orthopaedic-style bed, and ramps or steps for the car and sofa all reduce strain.
- Warm up and cool down. A gentle walk before and after exercise is kinder than going straight to a sprint.
- Keep nails trimmed. Overlong nails can change how a dog stands and walks.
- Tell your vet what your dog takes. This matters most if your dog is on medication or has a health condition.
Keep a simple record
Note how easily your dog gets up, how they manage stairs or jumping into the car, and how long any stiffness lasts after rest. A short phone video of your dog walking, taken from the side and from behind, can be very helpful to show your vet.
Be patient, too. Joint supplements are given daily over weeks and months, so judge them over a sensible period, and talk to your vet if you are not sure what you are seeing.
When it is time to see a vet
A supplement cannot tell you why your dog is struggling. Many conditions look alike from the sofa, and some need prompt treatment or prescription medicine that no supplement can replace. Only a vet can diagnose the cause of a mobility problem.
How quickly should you act? A rough guide to what you might see
Mild stiffness that eases as your dog warms up
Mention it at your next vet visit, keep a short diary, and review weight, exercise and bedding at home.
Limping that lasts more than a day or two, keeps returning or is getting worse
Book a vet appointment. This includes reluctance to jump, climb stairs or walk, difficulty getting up, licking at a joint, or changes in appetite, mood or sleep.
Sudden inability to put weight on a leg, collapse, severe pain, or rapid hind-leg weakness
Contact a vet the same day. The same applies after a fall or accident.
Other signs that deserve an appointment include yelping or snapping when touched, and swollen, hot or misshapen joints. Struggling to squat or take up the right position to toilet is another.
Bringing it together
If you came looking for the cheapest Johnson's 4Joints, the most useful thing we can offer is a method. Check the pack label for the daily amount for your dog, work out the cost per day across a full course, and compare what each product actually lists. Then weigh up the guarantee and delivery terms. Remember that 4Joints is sold for both dogs and cats, and that the listings we reviewed disagree on format and amounts, so the label in your hand is the one to trust.
Above all, a supplement sits best as one part of a bigger picture that includes a healthy weight, sensible exercise, a comfortable home and regular check-ups. It complements veterinary care and does not replace it, so if you are worried about your dog's mobility, your vet is the best place to start.
Where is the cheapest place to buy Johnson's 4Joints in the UK?
We cannot name a cheapest seller, because prices change often and we have no verified, dated prices to share. The best approach is to check the pack size and price at each retailer on the day you buy, then divide the price by the number of days the pack lasts for your dog. Remember to include delivery and any subscription terms.
How do I work out the cost per day of a joint supplement for my dog?
Find the daily amount for your dog's weight on the pack label, then divide the number of tablets or chews in the pack by that daily amount to get the number of days it lasts. Divide the pack price by those days. If the guide asks for a higher amount at the start, work that phase out separately so your first pack is not a surprise.
Is Johnson's 4Joints made only for dogs?
The retailer listings we reviewed describe it as suitable for dogs and cats, so check that the product, your dog's size and the amount all match what the pack label says. Because listings can differ on format and amounts, rely on the label and the manufacturer rather than a retailer summary. If anything is unclear, ask your vet before you start.
How many MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max would a 20kg dog have each day?
The printed label says 2 to 3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over, and the amount is doubled for the first three weeks. We recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use. Each tub holds 60 chews, so at 2 a day a tub lasts 30 days, and at 3 a day it lasts 20 days, with the doubled first three weeks using a tub faster.
Does a cheaper joint supplement mean fewer ingredients?
Not always, but products do differ in what they list, so it is worth reading the label rather than comparing price alone. For example, some list glucosamine and chondroitin only, while others add green-lipped mussel, MSM or hyaluronic acid. A longer list is not automatically better for your dog, so choose what suits your dog, your budget and your vet's advice.
When should I see a vet instead of trying a supplement?
Speak to your vet if your dog has limping that lasts more than a day or two, keeps returning or is getting worse, or if they struggle to get up, climb stairs or jump. Sudden inability to put weight on a leg, collapse or severe pain needs a vet the same day. A supplement is a complementary feed that supports mobility and comfort, and it does not replace veterinary care.


