When your dog starts to slow down on walks, or takes a moment to get up from their bed, it is natural to look at everything you do for them. Food is usually the biggest regular spend, so many owners review it first. Most of us want a good quality natural food without paying more than we need to.
This guide looks at how to buy a premium natural dog food for less, using Lily's Kitchen as the worked example. We use real listed prices and simple cost-per-100g maths. We also cover why portion size and a healthy weight matter so much for joints, and where a joint supplement and your vet fit in.
One honest point first. The pricing pages we looked at say nothing about joint health, and we are not suggesting this food, or any food, does the job of a joint supplement. The link is a practical one. Sensible feeding costs and a lean dog both support your dog's mobility.
Cheaper Lily's Kitchen, and a joint option worth weighing up
If you are hunting for the lowest price on Lily's Kitchen, you are already watching the monthly budget closely. It makes sense to ask the same question of any joint supplement you are weighing up for a stiff or slowing dog, because the cheapest option is only good value if it covers what you want.
MedPaw is our product, so we have set it beside five well-known UK joint supplements. The table starts with a score for the key joint actives, so you can see what each formula lists before you look at cost.
MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the clearest point. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is the only one of the six listing all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. The others list between two and four. For a dog whose food budget you are already managing, one formula covering all six means fewer gaps to fill.
It also comes as a soft daily chew, which many owners find easier than a tablet or capsule. Subscribe & Save is available, and a 60-day money-back guarantee means you can see how your dog gets on with a calm, steady routine.
MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside a healthy weight, sensible portions and your vet's advice. It is a complementary feed, not a substitute for veterinary care. The label suggests 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Take a look at the full ingredient list and feeding guide to see how the chews would fit your dog's daily routine.
Why feeding costs matter when your dog is stiff
Dogs with stiffness, older dogs and heavier dogs often need a little more thought about diet. Quality matters, and so does the amount you feed. Portion size has a direct effect on body weight, and body weight affects how hard the hips, knees and elbows have to work.
That can leave owners feeling stuck. A better food can cost more, but cutting portions or switching to something you are unsure about is not the answer. A kinder route is to pay less for the same food by being smart about pack sizes, subscriptions and delivery.
What the brand says about itself
Lily's Kitchen is a premium natural brand, founded in 2008 by an owner who struggled to find honest, natural food for her own dog. The brand says its recipes use freshly prepared named meat, fish, vegetables, fruit and botanicals. It also says it leaves out artificial colours, flavours and preservatives, meat derivatives and fillers.
The range covers wet food, dry food and treats for all life stages, from puppy to senior. One retailer states that the brand is recommended by UK veterinary practices and is a certified B Corp. These are retailer and brand claims, so please treat them as the brand's own account and not as independent findings.
Retailers describe the food as priced above mainstream supermarket food. They put that down to fresh meat as the main ingredient, organic ranges and welfare-assured sourcing. A premium price is not a reason to avoid it, but it is a good reason to shop carefully.
The price maths: cost per 100g
The headline price on a multipack tells you very little. The useful figure is the cost per 100g, which lets you compare different pack sizes fairly. Here are the brand's own listed prices, with per-100g figures worked out by us from those prices.
Listed prices, sale versus standard, with approximate cost per 100g at the sale price
| Pack | Sale price | Standard price | Approx. per 100g (sale) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classic multipack 6 x 400g | £21.45 | £22.20 | about 89p |
| Classic multipack 12 x 400g | £42.00 | £44.40 | about 87.5p |
| Classic multipack 6 x 150g | £9.45 | £10.20 | about 105p |
| Classic multipack 24 x 150g | £37.80 | £40.80 | about 105p |
| Fresh recipe 300g (single) | £3.95 | n/a | about £1.32 |
Prices are a snapshot and promotions change often. Check the current listing before you buy.
What the table shows
- The larger 400g tins cost less per 100g than the 150g tins.
- The 12-pack of 400g tins is slightly cheaper per 100g than the 6-pack, and the saving against the standard price is larger (£2.40 versus 75p).
- The 24 x 150g pack works out at the same per-tin price as the 6 x 150g pack, about £1.575 a tin. The saving is against the standard price, not an extra saving per tin.
- The fresh 300g recipes are the most expensive per 100g of the lines listed.
So if your dog does well on the larger tins, the 12 x 400g pack is the cheapest option in this snapshot. Smaller tins can still make sense for little dogs or for freshness. You just pay a little more for the convenience.
Ways to pay less without cutting corners
There are several ways to lower the price that do not involve feeding your dog less. Each one is worth checking before you place an order.
- Subscription. One source says a regular top-up subscription gives 20% off. Another retailer offers a subscription discount on the first and repeat orders, with no lock-in and the option to pause or cancel. The size of that second discount is not stated, so check it at the checkout.
- Multipacks and larger bags. Both sources say that buying in bulk lowers the cost per serving, and the table above bears that out.
- Promotions. One retailer listing shows a "buy one get one half price" offer on the brand's dog food. Terms and dates are not given, so read the small print before you rely on it.
- Delivery thresholds. The brand's own store lists free delivery over £29, otherwise £4.95 standard, taking 1 to 4 days. One retailer lists free delivery over £59.99 and next-day delivery for orders placed before 7pm. For a small order, a lower threshold can be the cheaper route even if the product price looks identical.
One retailer also says a cheaper natural brand and a mid-premium brand sit below this one in price. That is a retailer's opinion, so use it as a rough guide only.
Compare cost per day, not per pack
The most honest comparison is what it costs to feed your dog for a day. Work out the daily amount for your dog's weight and activity from the pack guidance. Then divide the pack price by the number of days it lasts.
A cheaper tin that needs bigger portions can cost more per day than a pricier one that goes further. It is also worth checking the storage guidance before you buy in bulk. Large packs only save money if the food gets used while it is fresh.
Two more sensible habits:
- Do not stockpile a new food before your dog has shown they tolerate it.
- Switch foods gradually over about a week or more, mixing the new with the old, to avoid stomach upset.
Keep your dog lean: the joint-friendly saving
This is one of the most useful joint-related steps an owner can take, and it costs nothing. Extra body weight puts more load on the hips, knees and elbows. A dog who is a little lighter often moves more comfortably, simply because there is less to carry.
A few practical habits help:
- Weigh the food on kitchen scales rather than using a scoop or guessing. Scoops vary more than most people expect.
- Count treats within the daily allowance and reduce meals slightly to make room for them.
- Ask your vet or practice nurse to score your dog's body condition and agree a target weight. Some practices offer free weight checks, so it is worth asking.
If budget is tight, please resist the urge to cut quality or portions in a way that leaves your dog under-fed or poorly nourished. Use the savings routes above instead, and let your vet guide the amount.
Other low-cost mobility habits
Several small changes around the home can make daily life easier for a stiff or older dog. Small, steady changes are often the easiest to keep up:
- Keep walks regular and steady rather than occasional and intense.
- Put rugs or non-slip mats on slippery floors.
- Provide a supportive bed that is easy to step into and out of.
- Use a ramp for the car or steps if your dog hesitates.
- Keep nails trimmed, as long nails can affect how a dog places their feet.
Where a joint supplement fits
Food and supplements do different jobs. A complete dog food provides the diet. A joint supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside it and alongside veterinary care. Nothing in the sources we reviewed suggests this food replaces a joint supplement, and we would not claim that, or the reverse. Please check with your vet before adding any supplement, particularly if your dog has a health condition or takes medication.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed for dogs. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also provides omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.
The feeding guide is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for dogs of 5 to 17kg, and 2 to 3 for dogs of 18kg and over. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks. We recommend daily use for 2 to 3 months, because a supplement is designed to support joints and mobility through consistent use over weeks, not days. There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.
Other options, factually
Other joint supplements are made differently. These details come from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026:
- NutraPaw Joint Support is a tablet with glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen, with omega-3 from the mussel and manganese. It does not list chondroitin or Boswellia. It has a 90-day guarantee.
- YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet with glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with chondroitin only via the mussel, plus vitamins C and E and manganese. It does not list MSM, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. It has a 6-week guarantee.
- Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet with glucosamine, chondroitin and turmeric. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, omega-3 or collagen. The guarantee is not stated.
- Synoquin EFA comes as a tablet or capsule, with glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil, plus vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. The guarantee is not stated.
- Nutraquin+ is a capsule with glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia, plus vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, omega-3, turmeric or collagen. The guarantee is not stated.
Choosing with confidence
Start with format, since a supplement works best when your dog will happily take it every day. Then compare the ingredient lists and the guarantee length, and allow the full recommended trial period before judging. If you are unsure which suits your dog, your vet is the best person to ask.
When to see your vet
Adjusting food or adding a supplement is not a substitute for a vet appointment. Only a vet can diagnose the cause of mobility problems, which can range from arthritis to injury or other illness, and decide on treatment. Diet changes and joint supplements are supportive extras alongside that advice.
How quickly to act on mobility changes
Mild changes worth mentioning
Slightly slower on walks, less keen to play, or weight creeping up. Raise it at your next visit and ask for a body condition score and a target weight.
Book an appointment
Limping or favouring a leg for more than a day or two, or limping that keeps returning. Stiffness after rest, difficulty rising, or reluctance to jump, climb stairs or get into the car. A bunny hop gait, a wobbly back end, licking or chewing at a joint, swelling, heat, yelping or snapping when handled, or a sudden change in behaviour. Unexplained weight loss, weight gain that is hard to control, or changes in appetite, thirst or toileting alongside mobility changes.
Seek same-day help
Sudden inability to stand or walk, severe pain, a swollen or dangling limb after a fall or accident, or any collapse. Call your vet or an emergency clinic straight away.
Prices and promotions change often, so check the current listing and work out the cost per 100g before you buy. The food brand claims in this article are the brand's own. A lean dog, a comfortable home and regular vet input are the foundations of good mobility, and everything else sits on top of them.
Where is Lily's Kitchen cheapest in the UK?
There is no single answer that stays true for long, because retailer prices and promotions change often. The most useful check is the cost per 100g, which lets you compare pack sizes fairly. In the prices we looked at, the larger 400g tins cost less per 100g than the smaller 150g tins. Check the current listing, the delivery threshold and any subscription discount before you order.
Does a Lily's Kitchen subscription work out cheaper?
Possibly. One source we reviewed says a regular top-up subscription gives 20% off, and another retailer offers a subscription discount with no lock-in and the option to pause or cancel. The size of that second discount was not stated, so check it at the checkout. Only subscribe once you know your dog does well on the food.
Is Lily's Kitchen a joint supplement?
No. Lily's Kitchen is a dog food brand, and the pricing pages we looked at say nothing about joint health. A food provides the diet, whereas a joint supplement is a complementary feed that sits alongside it. If you are unsure what suits your dog, your vet is the best person to ask.
Does feeding less food save money and help a stiff dog?
Cutting portions to save money is not a good idea, as your dog could end up under-fed or poorly nourished. A healthier route is to weigh the food on kitchen scales, count treats within the daily allowance and use savings routes such as multipacks and subscriptions. Ask your vet or practice nurse to score your dog's body condition and agree a target weight, as a lean dog puts less load on the joints.
How many MedPaw chews does a 20kg dog need each day?
From the label, dogs of 18kg and over have 2 to 3 chews a day, and the amount is doubled for the first three weeks. A tub contains 60 chews, so at 2 a day it lasts 30 days, and at 3 a day it lasts 20 days. Daily use for 2 to 3 months is recommended, as a supplement is designed to support joints and mobility through consistent use. Please check with your vet before adding a supplement, particularly if your dog has a health condition or takes medication.
My dog is limping or slow to get up. Should I just change their food or supplement?
Please speak to your vet first. Only a vet can find the cause of mobility changes, which can range from arthritis to injury or other illness, and advise on treatment. Diet changes and supplements are supportive extras alongside that advice, not a substitute for it.


