‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
The best Zesty Paws alternatives in the UK
Share this article

The best Zesty Paws alternatives in the UK

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free Zesty Paws comparison

Comparing Zesty Paws for your dog? Find out in 30 seconds

Tap your dog's size to see how Zesty Paws compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how Zesty Paws compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    The best Zesty Paws alternatives in the UK

    If you are searching for a Zesty Paws alternative, you are probably standing in front of a very crowded shelf. Perhaps your dog is slower on the stairs, or stiffer after a nap, and you want a joint supplement you can trust. You may be wondering whether the one you have seen advertised is really the right fit.

    This article is not here to crown a single winner. We want to help you compare joint supplements fairly, on the things that matter: ingredients, format, feeding guide, guarantee and the quality of the claims behind them. We will be clear about what we know of Zesty Paws and what we do not.

    One thing before we start. A joint supplement is a complementary feed that supports joints and mobility alongside veterinary care. Your vet remains the best person to ask about any concern, from stiffness to a change in how your dog moves.

    Weighing up Zesty Paws alternatives on joint actives

    Switching from Zesty Paws, or still deciding, is easier when you compare what each joint supplement actually lists. The question to ask is how many of the key joint actives sit in one daily dose.

    The table below uses MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, which is our own product, and five other well-known UK options. Zesty Paws is not in it, so check its composition on the brand's UK product page.

    UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max NutraPaw Joint Support YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 4 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ ✗ Via mussel ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel Mussel, fish oil ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Manganese Vit C, Vit E, manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 90 days 6 weeks Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    The top row is the quickest guide. MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. NutraPaw lists four of six, YuMOVE and Nutraquin+ three, and Seraquin and Synoquin EFA two.

    When you look at your current supplement's label, count how many of those six actives it names and which are missing. For a dog who is slower on the stairs, a formula that brings all six together in one soft chew is a sensible place to start. Used daily, MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care.

    There is no commitment either. MedPaw comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if your dog settles in well. We suggest 2-3 months of daily use for the best results.

    See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Take a look at the full ingredient list and feeding guide to see how all six key joint actives fit into one daily chew.

    What owners are really comparing

    When people look for an alternative to a well-known brand, the question underneath is rarely "which is best?". It is usually more practical than that. Will my dog actually take it? Does the ingredient list look sensible? What happens if it does not suit us?

    Those questions come down to five things:

    • Ingredients: which joint-related actives are listed, and in what amounts per daily dose.
    • Format: a soft chew, a tablet, a capsule or a powder.
    • Feeding guide: how much, based on your dog's weight, and for how long.
    • Guarantee: how long it lasts and how you claim.
    • Trust signals: clear labelling, third-party checks and claims that show their evidence.

    Once you line products up on those points, the choice usually becomes much clearer, and much calmer.

    What we can and cannot say about Zesty Paws

    We hold no verified product facts for Zesty Paws. So we will stick to what the brand itself publishes about its range, and we will be honest about the gaps.

    What the brand states

    Zesty Paws organises its UK range by need. The categories include gut health, skin health, calming support, multivitamins, mobility, oral health, immunity and urinary health. So a Mobility category does exist.

    The brand also makes several claims about itself. It says it is a member of UK Pet Food and B Corp certified. It describes its products as "vet formulated", with "clinically proven ingredients" and "pet approved taste". It says it is loved by pet owners worldwide, and it offers free delivery and a "100% Satisfaction Guarantee".

    The brand also says its products are recommended by vets. The footnote explains that this comes from a survey of UK vets who own cats or dogs, commissioned by the brand's parent group. Vets who answered "probably" or "certainly" recommend were counted.

    These are the brand's own claims. A company-commissioned survey is not independent evidence, and it helps to know how many vets took part and how the question was asked. That does not make the claim meaningless, but it is worth reading with that context in mind.

    What you will need to check yourself

    The published information we have does not name or describe a specific Zesty Paws joint product. So we cannot tell you its active ingredients, the amount of each, its format, its feeding guide by weight, or the length and terms of its guarantee. The "100% Satisfaction Guarantee" is described as "love it or your money back", but no time limit or terms were given.

    The sensible approach is to look up the exact product you are considering and read the current label and product page. Check the actives, the dose for your dog's weight, the full ingredient list and any allergens.

    A small caution. Other Zesty Paws products you may have seen, such as probiotic chews, are digestive products. They tell you nothing about the brand's mobility range, so it is best not to judge one by the other.

    A label checklist that works for any joint supplement

    Whichever brand you are weighing up, the same basic checks apply. They are the kind of things vets and independent reviewers commonly suggest looking for in any pet supplement.

    What to look for on any joint supplement label

    Check Why it matters What good looks like
    Active ingredients Tells you what the product actually lists for joint support Named ingredients, not just a general "joint blend"
    Amount per daily dose An ingredient is only useful to compare if you know how much you are giving Clear quantities, with a feeding guide by body weight
    Format Your dog has to take it every day for it to be a fair trial A format your dog accepts without a daily battle
    Full ingredient list Helps you spot allergens or ingredients your dog should avoid Everything listed, including oils, binders and flavourings
    Expiry and storage Supports quality and safe use A visible date and clear storage instructions
    Quality checks Independent testing helps you judge quality Recognised schemes or third-party testing, where relevant
    Guarantee Gives you a fair window to see how your dog gets on Clear length and simple claim terms

    A general guide for comparing labels.

    Print it, screenshot it, or simply keep it in mind when you open each product page. It works just as well for chews, tablets and capsules.

    Format matters more than most people expect

    The best ingredient list in the world will not help if your dog turns their nose up at it. Format is often the deciding factor.

    • Soft chews tend to suit dogs that dislike tablets or powders, and many dogs treat them as a daily treat.
    • Tablets and capsules can suit dogs that eat anything, or owners who prefer to hide the dose in food.
    • Powders can work for dogs that eat from a bowl without fuss, but not every dog will.

    Consistency counts. Joint supplements are usually given daily for weeks before you can judge how your dog seems. A format your dog accepts is one you will actually keep up.

    How the UK alternatives differ

    Here is what each manufacturer publishes about its product, as of September 2026. We are describing, not ranking. Each of these products lists a different mix, and each may suit a different dog and owner.

    NutraPaw Joint Support

    This is a tablet. It lists glucosamine, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, turmeric and collagen, with omega-3 from the mussel and manganese. It does not list chondroitin or Boswellia. The guarantee is 90 days.

    YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max

    Also a tablet. It lists glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with chondroitin only via the mussel, plus vitamins C and E and manganese. It does not list MSM, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. The guarantee is six weeks.

    Seraquin Joint

    A chewable tablet that lists glucosamine, chondroitin and turmeric. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, omega-3 or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.

    Synoquin EFA

    Available as a tablet or capsule. It lists glucosamine, chondroitin and krill oil, plus vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.

    Nutraquin+

    A capsule that lists glucosamine, chondroitin and Boswellia, plus vitamin C and zinc. It does not list MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid, omega-3, turmeric or collagen. A guarantee is not stated.

    You will notice the same few ingredients turning up in different combinations. If a particular ingredient matters to you, or your dog has a sensitivity, this is where reading labels carefully pays off.

    Where MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max fits

    MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, a complementary feed for dogs. Its key joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also provides omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, along with vitamins C and E and zinc. It is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.

    The feeding guide is by weight:

    • 1 chew a day for dogs up to 4kg
    • 2 chews a day for dogs weighing 5 to 17kg
    • 2 to 3 chews a day for dogs of 18kg and over
    • The amount is doubled for the first three weeks

    We recommend 2 to 3 months of daily use. MedPaw comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you would like regular deliveries.

    That 60-day guarantee covers about the first two months of the recommended 2 to 3 months of use, and we would rather you heard it from us up front. If you want to give it a fair trial, start a simple daily routine and diary from day one.

    We are not saying MedPaw is better than Zesty Paws or any other product. We are simply telling you what it lists, so you can set it side by side with whatever else you are considering.

    Guarantees and giving a fair trial

    A guarantee is only useful if it gives you enough time to judge. Joint supplements are usually given for weeks, not days, so a very short guarantee may end before you have had a fair look at how your dog is moving.

    When you compare, check three things:

    • How long the guarantee lasts.
    • Whether it is a money-back offer or something else, such as a replacement.
    • How you claim, and whether you need to return anything.

    Treat broad claims such as "vet recommended" or "clinically proven" with the same care. Look at who commissioned the work, how big the sample was and whether any study details are shown. A claim with its evidence on show is easier to trust than one without.

    Making a switch sensibly

    If you are moving from one supplement to another, a little structure helps you and your vet see what is going on.

    • Change one thing at a time. If you swap supplements, try not to alter diet, exercise and bedding in the same week.
    • Keep a short diary. Note how your dog gets up, manages stairs and copes with walk length. A few lines a week is plenty.
    • Count the calories. Chews add to your dog's daily intake, so allow for them if your dog needs to lose or maintain weight.
    • Tell your vet. Mention any supplement your dog takes, especially if they are on prescribed medication or a special diet.

    The wider picture beyond the supplement

    A supplement is one part of a bigger routine. For many dogs, the things that make the biggest everyday difference are simple ones. Keeping to a healthy weight eases the load on joints. Gentle, regular exercise tends to suit stiff dogs better than the occasional long outing. Non-slip flooring, a supportive bed and ramps for the car or sofa can all make life more comfortable.

    Your vet can advise on the right weight and exercise plan for your dog's age, breed and condition. That advice is often worth more than any change of product.

    When to see your vet

    A supplement should never be used to wait out a problem that needs examining. Some signs call for a prompt appointment, and some are worth mentioning at your next vet check.

    How quickly to speak to your vet

    Mention

    Mild, gradual changes

    Slightly slower to rise, a little stiff after rest, or less keen on stairs. Raise it at your next check-up and ask about weight, exercise and supplements.

    Book soon

    Persistent or growing signs

    Reluctance to jump or walk as far, restlessness at night, repeated licking at a joint, a change in mood, or signs that continue or worsen despite a few weeks of supplement use.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe signs

    Sudden lameness, not putting weight on a leg, crying out in pain, a swollen, hot or misshapen joint, or a dog that seems generally unwell. Contact your vet promptly.

    If your dog has a known joint diagnosis, or is on prescribed pain relief or other medication, please speak to your vet before any supplement is changed or added. Puppies and young large-breed dogs that limp or move unusually should also be checked. Mobility changes in older dogs can have many causes, so an examination is the right first step.

    Choosing with a clear head

    If Zesty Paws is on your shortlist, look up the exact joint product, read the current label and check the dose, ingredients and guarantee before you buy. If you are comparing it with others, use the checklist above and line up the same details for each.

    The right supplement is the one with a label you understand, in a format your dog accepts, given consistently alongside good everyday care. Your vet knows your dog best, so talk through the plan together and decide what suits your dog.

    What are the best Zesty Paws alternatives in the UK?

    It depends on what you want from a joint supplement. Based on what each manufacturer publishes, options include NutraPaw Joint Support, YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max, Seraquin Joint, Synoquin EFA, Nutraquin+ and MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max. Each lists a different mix of ingredients and comes in a different format, so compare labels, doses and guarantees rather than looking for one winner.

    Which Zesty Paws joint ingredients and guarantee should I check?

    We do not hold verified details for a specific Zesty Paws joint product, so we cannot tell you its actives, amounts, format or feeding guide. The brand describes a '100% Satisfaction Guarantee' as 'love it or your money back', but we have not seen a time limit or terms. Please read the current label and product page for the exact product you are considering.

    Is a soft chew better than a tablet or capsule for a dog's joints?

    Not necessarily, as the best format is the one your dog will take every day. Soft chews often suit dogs that dislike tablets, whilst tablets and capsules can suit dogs that eat anything or owners who prefer to hide the dose in food. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a soft chew, whereas NutraPaw Joint Support and YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max are tablets.

    How many MedPaw chews does a 20kg dog need each day?

    Under the printed feeding guide, a dog of 18kg and over has 2 to 3 chews a day, so a 20kg dog has 2 to 3 chews. The amount is doubled for the first three weeks, which means 4 to 6 chews a day at the start. A tub holds 60 chews, so it lasts 10 to 15 days at the doubled rate and 20 to 30 days at the standard rate. Do check with your vet if you are unsure what suits your dog.

    How long should I give a joint supplement before judging it?

    Joint supplements are complementary feeds that are usually given daily for weeks, so a very short trial may not tell you much. MedPaw recommends 2 to 3 months of daily use and has a 60-day money-back guarantee. Keeping a short diary of how your dog gets up, manages stairs and copes with walks can help you and your vet see how things are going.

    Should I talk to my vet before switching my dog's joint supplement?

    Yes, it is a good idea, especially if your dog has a known joint diagnosis, takes prescribed medication or is on a special diet. A supplement supports joints and mobility alongside veterinary care and is not a substitute for it. If your dog shows persistent stiffness, reluctance to move or sudden lameness, please see your vet rather than waiting to see if a supplement helps.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.