If you have searched for ArthriAid dosage information, chances are you already have a bottle in the cupboard or you are weighing one up. Either way, you want to give the right amount to a dog who is a little slower on the stairs or stiff after a nap. That is a very reasonable thing to want to get right.
The honest answer is that a dose belongs to the product, not just the dog. Strength, format and ingredient levels differ from one supplement to the next, so an amount that suits one product tells you nothing about another. This guide sets out the published dog guidance for ArthriAid Omega, explains the general principles behind dosing any joint supplement, and keeps MedPaw's own feeding guide clearly separate.
A joint supplement is a complementary feed. It sits alongside veterinary care and your dog's everyday routine, and it never replaces a proper diagnosis.
Before you measure a dose, compare what is in the bowl
A dose only makes sense for the product it came with, so the first question is what each supplement actually contains. That is easier to judge once the formulas are laid out together.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is our own product. The table below sets it against five well-known UK joint supplements, starting with how many of six key joint actives each one lists. ArthriAid is not in this table.
MedPaw is the only one of the six with all six key joint actives
| Ingredient | MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max | NutraPaw Joint Support | YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max | Seraquin Joint | Synoquin EFA | Nutraquin+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Key joint actives | 6 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
| Glucosamine | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chondroitin | ✓ | ✗ | Via mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| MSM | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Green-lipped mussel | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Hyaluronic acid | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Boswellia | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Omega-3 | Mussel, flax | Mussel | Mussel, fish oil | ✗ | Krill oil | ✗ |
| Turmeric | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Collagen | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Antioxidants | Vit C, Vit E, zinc | Manganese | Vit C, Vit E, manganese | ✗ | Vit C, zinc | Vit C, zinc |
| Format | Soft chew | Tablet | Tablet | Chewable tablet | Tablet or capsule | Capsule |
| Guarantee | 60 days | 90 days | 6 weeks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.
The top row is the one to read first. MedPaw lists all six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It is the only one of the six products here to do so. NutraPaw scores 4 of 6, YuMOVE and Nutraquin+ 3 of 6, Seraquin and Synoquin EFA 2 of 6.
For a dog around 20kg, our feeding guide is 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks, then daily use for 2 to 3 months for optimal results. Counting soft chews keeps the routine simple, and MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside your vet's care.
If you want to try it, the 60-day money-back guarantee lets you judge it over a proper stretch of time. Subscribe & Save is available if you would rather not run out.
See MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max Check the full feeding guide for your dog's weight and see what is in each soft chew.
Why owners look at joint support in the first place
A joint is the point where two bones meet. It is cushioned by cartilage and filled with synovial fluid, which together give it flexibility and shock absorption. ArthriAid's own product page describes cartilage as continually broken down and replaced in everyday life. It says that balance can be upset by trauma or simply by age.
Over time, joints can lose some of their quality, which may mean reduced movement and swelling. That is why many owners of older or less mobile dogs look at complementary feeds that supply nutrients linked with joint structure. These products support the diet. They do not replace veterinary care, and your vet is the right person to talk to about any joint concern.
ArthriAid Omega for Dogs: what the published information says
The details in this section apply only to ArthriAid Omega for Dogs, not to MedPaw or any other product.
Format and ingredients
ArthriAid Omega is a liquid, given with food. One pump is stated as 2.5 ml, although the published unit for this figure appears to contain a typo, so check the pump size against the label on your own bottle.
The listed ingredients include glucosamine HCl, methyl sulfonyl methane (MSM), chondroitin sulphate and fish oil as a source of omega-3. Other listed ingredients include sorbitol, dextrose, glucose syrup, caseinate, soy protein, tetrasodium diphosphate and tricalcium phosphate. Per-kilo amounts for the active ingredients are not given in the published information, so we have not quoted any here.
Stated daily amount by bodyweight
ArthriAid Omega for Dogs: published daily amount by bodyweight (this product only)
| Dog's weight | Daily amount (first 14 to 21 days) | Approx. maintenance (half) |
|---|---|---|
| Under 5 kg | 2.5 ml | About 1.25 ml |
| 5 to 10 kg | 5 ml | About 2.5 ml |
| 10 to 20 kg | 10 ml | About 5 ml |
| 20 to 30 kg | 15 ml | About 7.5 ml |
| Over 30 kg | 20 ml | About 10 ml |
For guidance only. The maintenance column is simple halving; always check the current label.
After 14 to 21 days, the published guidance says the daily amount can be reduced by half for maintenance. The third column above is just that arithmetic, so treat the label on your bottle as the final word.
Practical notes for ArthriAid Omega owners
- The bands overlap at 5 kg, 10 kg and 20 kg. If your dog is at exactly one of those weights, follow the label, or ask the manufacturer or your vet which band applies.
- Because it is a liquid, measure with the supplied pump or a syringe rather than guessing by eye.
- Giving it with food is part of the stated instructions.
- Fish oil, caseinate (a milk protein) and soy protein appear in the ingredient list. If your dog has known food sensitivities or is on a restricted diet, check with your vet first.
- The list also includes sorbitol, dextrose and glucose syrup. If your dog is diabetic or on a weight plan, ask your vet before starting any new supplement.
Do not use the horse product for a dog
The same brand name can cover very different products. ArthriAid also makes an Equine Joint Mobility Supplement, which is a separate horse product. Its guidance is written for a 500 kg adult horse, at 50 ml daily for 14 to 21 days and then roughly half for maintenance. A powder version is given as 2 level scoops (20 g) daily for 10 to 15 days, then one scoop (10 g).
Those amounts are far higher than anything in the dog table, so they are never a basis for dosing a dog. The horse product states its glucosamine content per daily amount, but the dog product's per-dose content is not given, which means the two cannot be compared. If you are ever unsure, read the species on the label before you read the dose.
The doubling-up point
The equine product's Q&A makes a sensible general point. It advises against adding a separate glucosamine supplement to a product that already contains glucosamine, because that duplicates the ingredient. The same logic applies to dogs. Check every label, including treats and "complete" joint diets, before adding anything new.
General principles for dosing any joint supplement
Follow the label for your product and your dog's weight
Weigh your dog on home scales or at the vet's rather than estimating. Dosing bands are narrow, and dogs often weigh more or less than their owners expect.
Expect a loading phase
Many joint supplements suggest a higher amount for the first few weeks, then a lower daily amount. ArthriAid Omega suggests 14 to 21 days before halving. MedPaw's guide uses three weeks. The numbers differ, so never carry one product's schedule over to another.
Be consistent and patient
Joint supplements are given daily over weeks and months. Try not to judge a product after a few days, and do not go above the label amount hoping for quicker results. More is not better, and it can upset a dog's stomach.
Keep a simple diary
Note your dog's weight, the amount given, and a few everyday observations. Useful ones include how they get up after resting, whether they hesitate at stairs, and how walks feel. A few lines a week is enough to help you and your vet see whether anything is changing.
Read the whole ingredient list and tell your vet
Look for allergens, sweeteners and fats, especially if your dog has sensitivities or a weight concern. Then let your vet know about the supplement, as part of the list of anything your dog takes. This matters most before procedures or when medication is prescribed.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max: our feeding guide
These details apply only to MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max.
MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a daily soft chew, sold as a complementary feed for dogs. Its joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.
- Up to 4 kg: 1 chew a day
- 5 to 17 kg: 2 chews a day
- 18 kg and over: 2 to 3 chews a day
- First three weeks: the amount is doubled
- Duration: 2 to 3 months of daily use is recommended
The stated bands do not cover dogs between 4 kg and 5 kg. If your dog falls in that gap, check the pack or get in touch with us rather than guess.
There is a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available if you would like deliveries to match your daily routine. Because the chews are a fixed daily count, they are simple to build into the day, perhaps at breakfast or alongside a walk.
How formats differ, and why it matters for dosing
Based on each manufacturer's published information as of September 2026, the formats vary quite a lot. ArthriAid Omega is a liquid. NutraPaw Joint Support, YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max and Synoquin EFA are tablets (Synoquin EFA also comes as a capsule), Seraquin Joint is a chewable tablet, and Nutraquin+ is a capsule.
Ingredient lists differ too. ArthriAid Omega's published list shows glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM and fish-oil omega-3, and it does not list green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid or Boswellia. Other products on the market focus on different combinations, so it pays to compare labels rather than assume they are the same.
The practical point is about ease of giving. A liquid can be mixed into food and measured to the millilitre. Chews, tablets and capsules suit owners who prefer a fixed daily count. Choose the format your dog will take calmly every day, because consistency matters more than any single detail.
Practical tips for getting started
- Check which exact product you have, because some brands sell separate dog and horse versions.
- Weigh your dog before choosing a dose band.
- Set a reminder for the end of the loading phase, so you step down to maintenance at the right time.
- Introduce any new supplement gradually, and watch for digestive upset such as loose stools or vomiting.
- Do not combine several joint products without checking for overlapping ingredients.
- Ask your vet or practice nurse for a body condition check, as extra bodyweight places more load on joints.
- Support daily life with non-slip flooring, a supportive orthopaedic bed, ramps for the car and sofa, and regular gentle exercise.
When to see your vet
A supplement cannot tell you why your dog is stiff, and stiffness or limping needs a vet's assessment first. Please book an appointment before starting a supplement, and sooner rather than later if you notice any of the signs below.
How quickly to seek veterinary advice
Mild slowing down
Slightly slower on walks or a little stiff for the first few minutes after resting. Mention it at your next vet visit and start your diary.
Persistent or worsening signs
Stiffness that lingers or is getting worse, reluctance to use stairs or jump into the car, repeated licking of a joint, irritability, or thinning muscle in the hind legs. Book a vet appointment.
Sudden or severe signs
Sudden lameness, yelping or crying, swollen or warm joints, a dog who cannot stand, drags a limb or collapses. Contact a vet straight away.
Also speak to your vet before starting any supplement if your dog is a puppy, pregnant or nursing, has a food allergy, diabetes, or a kidney or liver condition, takes prescribed medication including anti-inflammatories, or is due for surgery.
The short version
Dose by the label of the exact product in your hand, and by your dog's true weight. Use ArthriAid Omega's published dog table only for ArthriAid Omega, never use a horse product for a dog, and avoid doubling up on glucosamine or other ingredients. Keep MedPaw's own guide for MedPaw, with its doubled first three weeks and 2 to 3 months of daily use.
Above all, a supplement supports your dog's joints alongside good weight management, comfortable surroundings and regular veterinary care. If something about your dog's movement worries you, your vet is the right first call.
How much ArthriAid Omega should I give my dog by weight?
ArthriAid Omega is a liquid, and its published dog guidance gives a daily amount that rises with bodyweight, with a higher amount for the first 14 to 21 days and roughly half after that for maintenance. Because the weight bands overlap at 5 kg, 10 kg and 20 kg, the label on your own bottle is the final word. If your dog sits exactly on a boundary, ask the manufacturer or your vet which band applies.
Can I use ArthriAid's horse product for my dog?
No. The equine product is a separate supplement written for a 500 kg adult horse, so its amounts are far higher than anything intended for a dog. Always read the species on the label before you read the dose.
How many MedPaw chews does a 20kg dog need each day?
On the MedPaw label, dogs of 18kg and over have 2 to 3 chews a day, so a 20kg dog would have 2 to 3. For the first three weeks that amount is doubled, which means 4 to 6 chews a day. One tub holds 60 chews, so it would last roughly 10 to 15 days at the doubled rate, then roughly 20 to 30 days at the usual rate.
Is it safe to give two joint supplements together?
It is best to check before you do. Many joint products contain the same ingredients, such as glucosamine, so combining them can mean doubling up without realising. Compare the ingredient lists and ask your vet before adding a second product, especially if your dog takes any medication.
How long should I give a joint supplement before judging it?
Joint supplements are given daily over weeks and months, so a few days is too soon to judge. MedPaw's label recommends 2 to 3 months of daily use. Keep a simple diary of how your dog gets up after resting and how walks feel, and share it with your vet.
My dog is stiff and I am not sure why. Should I start a supplement first?
Please speak to your vet first. Stiffness or limping needs a proper assessment, and a supplement cannot tell you the cause. A joint supplement is a complementary feed that supports your dog's diet alongside veterinary care, and it never replaces it.


