‹ Back to Dog Expert Advice
YuMOVE vs Dasuquin: which is right for your dog?
Share this article

YuMOVE vs Dasuquin: which is right for your dog?

Henry Whitefield Written by Henry Whitefield Level 3 Diploma in Canine Nutrition | RVC CPD - Osteoarthritis Management
Free YuMOVE comparison

YuMOVE or Dasuquin? See what suits your dog in 30 seconds

Tap your dog's size to see how YuMOVE compares with MedPaw, plus a free 90-day joint plan. Takes 30 seconds.

MedPaw dose helper Free plan for your dog
Step 1 of 8

Hi, I'm the MedPaw dose helper. Let's see how YuMOVE compares for your dog.

First, roughly how big is your dog?

In this article

    If you are weighing up YuMOVE against Dasuquin, you are probably doing what many careful owners do: trying to work out which joint supplement deserves a place in your dog's daily routine. Perhaps your dog is slower on walks, stiff after a nap or hesitant at the car boot. Wanting to help is natural, and so is feeling overwhelmed by the choice.

    Joint supplements are a large, heavily marketed category, and it can be hard to tell useful information from advertising. This article looks at YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max, what is actually on its label, and how to compare it fairly with Dasuquin or any other product. We also cover where MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max differs, as one alternative.

    One point up front. Product details change, so we have not listed Dasuquin's ingredients, format or guarantee here. Instead you will find a simple way to check its current label yourself.

    YuMOVE and MedPaw compared on the label

    Choosing between YuMOVE and Dasuquin is easier once you know what each label actually lists. The table below sets YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max against MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max, which is our own product, and four other UK joint supplements.

    Dasuquin is not in this table. Use the same rows to check its current label yourself, and you can judge it on equal terms.

    UK dog joint supplements compared, ingredient by ingredient

    Ingredient MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max NutraPaw Joint Support Seraquin Joint Synoquin EFA Nutraquin+
    Key joint actives 6 of 6 3 of 6 (+1 via mussel) 4 of 6 2 of 6 2 of 6 3 of 6
    Glucosamine ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
    Chondroitin ✓ Via mussel ✗ ✓ ✓ ✓
    MSM ✓ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Green-lipped mussel ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Hyaluronic acid ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Boswellia ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
    Omega-3 Mussel, flax Mussel, fish oil Mussel ✗ Krill oil ✗
    Turmeric ✗ ✗ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗
    Collagen ✗ ✗ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✗
    Antioxidants Vit C, Vit E, zinc Vit C, Vit E, manganese Manganese ✗ Vit C, zinc Vit C, zinc
    Format Soft chew Tablet Tablet Chewable tablet Tablet or capsule Capsule
    Guarantee 60 days 6 weeks 90 days Not stated Not stated Not stated

    ✓ = included, ✗ = not listed. Key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia. Taken from each manufacturer's published information, September 2026.

    The first row counts six key joint actives: glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. MedPaw lists all six, and it is the only product in the table that does. YuMOVE scores 3 of 6. It lists glucosamine, green-lipped mussel and hyaluronic acid, with fish oil as its omega-3 source.

    Chondroitin reaches YuMOVE only through the mussel, and it does not list MSM or Boswellia. It is a tablet with a 6-week guarantee. MedPaw is a soft daily chew with a 60-day money-back guarantee, and Subscribe & Save is available.

    When you read Dasuquin's label, look at the same things: which of the six actives are listed in their own right, the format, the daily amount and the guarantee. MedPaw supports joints, mobility and comfort alongside veterinary care, and we suggest 2-3 months of daily use for optimal results.

    Explore MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max See the full MedPaw formula, feeding guide and 60-day guarantee to decide whether it suits your dog's daily routine.

    Why labels matter more than names

    Two joint supplements can look almost identical on a shelf or a website. Both may mention glucosamine, both may show a happy, bounding dog, and both may talk about supporting comfort and mobility. The real differences sit in the small print: which actives are listed, in what form, and how much your dog needs each day.

    Comparing ingredient by ingredient is more useful than comparing brand names. It also stops you assuming that a familiar name means a familiar formula. Brands update their products, so a recipe you remember may not match what is sold today.

    It helps to choose products with clear, publicly available ingredient lists. A brand that is open about what is in its product makes your comparison much easier.

    What YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max contains

    Based on the manufacturer's published information (September 2026), YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet. Its listed ingredients are:

    • Glucosamine
    • Green-lipped mussel
    • Hyaluronic acid
    • Fish oil, as an omega-3 source
    • Vitamins C and E
    • Manganese

    Chondroitin appears only via the green-lipped mussel. It is not listed as a separate ingredient. The manufacturer does not list MSM, Boswellia, turmeric or collagen. The guarantee is 6 weeks.

    None of this makes it a poor choice. Glucosamine, green-lipped mussel and hyaluronic acid are all widely used in dog joint products, and the fish oil gives an omega-3 source. It simply means the formula is built in a particular way, and that is what you are comparing against other options.

    How to compare it with Dasuquin

    Because Dasuquin's details are not covered here, the most reliable approach is to put the two labels side by side. Go to the manufacturer's current published information for each product and note down the same five things.

    A simple five-point check

    • Format: is it a tablet, a chew, a capsule or a powder? Think honestly about what your dog will eat every day.
    • Listed actives: note whether each ingredient appears in its own right or only as part of another ingredient, as chondroitin does with YuMOVE's mussel.
    • Daily amount: check the feeding guide for your dog's weight, and whether there is a higher starting amount for the first weeks.
    • Extras: look at omega-3 sources, vitamins and minerals.
    • Guarantee: check how long it lasts and what it asks of you.

    A third-party summary, including this one, is a starting point only. The label on the pack in your hand has the final word.

    Where MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max differs

    MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a different kind of product, and we want to be clear about how. It is a daily soft chew and a complementary feed for dogs. Its joint actives are glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and Boswellia serrata. It also contains omega-3 from green-lipped mussel and flax seed, vitamins C and E, and zinc, and it is made with rapeseed oil and glycerine.

    Set against YuMOVE's published formula, the differences are simple facts:

    • Format: tablet for YuMOVE, soft chew for MedPaw.
    • Chondroitin: only via green-lipped mussel for YuMOVE, listed alongside green-lipped mussel for MedPaw.
    • MSM and Boswellia: not listed by YuMOVE, both listed by MedPaw.
    • Omega-3: fish oil for YuMOVE, green-lipped mussel and flax seed for MedPaw.
    • Minerals: manganese for YuMOVE, zinc for MedPaw.
    • Guarantee: 6 weeks for YuMOVE, 60 days for MedPaw, which also offers Subscribe & Save.

    Neither formula is better in every respect. They are put together differently, and the right fit depends on your dog, the format they accept and what your vet advises.

    What the evidence says, and what it does not

    It would not be fair to pretend the science is tidier than it is. Evidence for joint supplement ingredients in dogs is mixed and often limited, and some of what we know comes from human research. A supplement is best thought of as a supportive extra alongside veterinary care.

    Joint supplement ingredients and the evidence behind them, in general terms

    Ingredient What is generally said Worth knowing
    Omega-3 fatty acids Often seen as having more research behind it than some others Commonly included to support comfort and mobility
    Glucosamine Mixed Findings vary between studies, so give it consistent daily use over a couple of months before judging
    Chondroitin Limited on its own Often paired with glucosamine in joint products
    Hyaluronic acid Limited for oral use Research is still developing
    Green-lipped mussel Some interest Widely used in dog joint products, but results should not be overstated
    MSM Limited Less dog-specific research than for some other ingredients
    Boswellia Early and limited Research is at an early stage

    For guidance only, not a diagnosis.

    The table describes each ingredient in general. It is not a claim about any one brand, and it is not a score for YuMOVE, Dasuquin or MedPaw.

    Why combinations exist

    Some ingredients have limited evidence alone but may complement each other, which is why combination products are so common. The honest summary is that no single ingredient is a guaranteed answer, and the case for any product rests on a mix of limited evidence and owner experience.

    A word on label accuracy

    Not every joint supplement is made to the same standard, so it makes sense to choose reputable, transparent brands and to read labels closely. Joint treats are a similar story. Many are designed as treats rather than as a daily supplement, so check the label to see what each one actually provides.

    Choosing, starting and being patient

    Match the format to your dog

    A supplement supports your dog best when it is eaten consistently. Some dogs take a tablet without fuss, perhaps hidden in food. Others turn their nose up and are much easier with a soft chew. Pick the format your dog will take every day without a daily battle.

    Allow time

    Joint supplements are not quick. A sensible aim is to give a glucosamine-based product a couple of months of consistent daily use before judging it. Many feeding guides use a higher starting amount for the first few weeks, so always follow the guide for the specific product. MedPaw's and YuMOVE's differ, and you should not use one product's guide for the other.

    MedPaw's guide is 1 chew a day up to 4kg, 2 for 5 to 17kg, and 2 to 3 for 18kg and over, doubled for the first three weeks, with 2 to 3 months of daily use recommended. For YuMOVE, check the pack for the amount for your dog's weight.

    Since a fair trial period is longer than 6 weeks, it is reasonable to think about whether a guarantee window gives you enough time to decide. YuMOVE's is 6 weeks and MedPaw's is 60 days. Neither is right or wrong, but it is good to know before you buy.

    Keep a simple diary

    Change is easy to miss when you see your dog every day. A few notes help you and your vet judge fairly:

    • How easily your dog gets up after rest
    • Whether they manage stairs and jumping into the car
    • How long and how willingly they walk
    • Short videos taken at the same time of day, once a fortnight

    Think about starting earlier for some dogs

    Large breeds, and dogs with a history of joint concerns through conformation or past injury, may suit starting support earlier. Some products can be used in young dogs, but check with your vet first, particularly for puppies.

    Watch the tummy

    Some dogs can have a sensitive tummy when a new supplement is introduced. Introduce any new product as its feeding guide directs, and speak to your vet if your dog has sickness, diarrhoea or a reduced appetite.

    The basics that matter alongside any supplement

    A supplement supports joints and mobility, but it works best as one part of a wider plan. The basics often make the biggest difference to day-to-day comfort.

    • Keep your dog at a healthy weight. Extra weight puts extra load through the joints, and your vet or practice nurse can help you check body condition.
    • Keep exercise regular and gentle. Steady, consistent walks tend to suit stiff joints better than occasional long outings.
    • Make the home easier. Non-slip flooring, a ramp for the car and a supportive, warm bed all reduce strain.
    • Tell your vet about every supplement. This matters if your dog takes other medication, has a long-term condition or has dietary restrictions. Some ingredients, such as turmeric, need caution with certain conditions and medicines.

    When to see your vet

    A supplement is a complementary feed, not a treatment. If you notice any of the signs below, book a vet appointment rather than waiting to see whether a supplement helps. A vet can find the cause, rule out other problems and talk through pain relief, weight management, physiotherapy or other options. If joint damage is advanced, supplements alone are unlikely to be enough.

    How quickly to involve your vet

    Mention

    Mild slowing down or stiffness

    Raise it at the next check-up, and ask before starting a supplement if your dog takes medication or has a long-term condition.

    Book soon

    Persistent or returning signs

    Ongoing stiffness, reluctance to jump or use stairs, limping that lasts more than a day or two or keeps coming back, muscle loss, or licking and chewing at a joint.

    Urgent

    Sudden or severe changes

    Not putting weight on a leg, crying out when touched, a hot or swollen joint, weak or dragging back legs, or vomiting, diarrhoea or lethargy after a new supplement.

    Please speak to your vet before starting any supplement if your dog is pregnant or nursing, is a young puppy, is already on medication, or has a long-term health condition.

    Making your decision

    YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet built around glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with chondroitin only through the mussel and a 6-week guarantee. Dasuquin is one to check against its own current label. MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a soft chew that lists a wider set of joint actives, including MSM and Boswellia serrata, and comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee.

    The right choice is the one your dog will take every day, that suits their weight and needs, and that your vet is comfortable with. Compare labels honestly, give any product enough time, keep notes on how your dog moves, and let your vet guide the bigger picture. Small, steady changes in comfort are what you are looking for, and a calm, patient approach gives you the best chance of noticing them.

    What is the main difference between YuMOVE and Dasuquin?

    The most reliable way to compare them is to put the two labels side by side and check the format, the listed actives, the daily amount, any extras and the guarantee. YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet that lists glucosamine, green-lipped mussel, hyaluronic acid and fish oil, with chondroitin only via the mussel. We have not listed Dasuquin's details here, so check its manufacturer's current label for the same five points.

    Does YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max contain chondroitin?

    Not as a separate ingredient. According to the manufacturer's published information, chondroitin appears only via the green-lipped mussel. If a separately listed chondroitin matters to you, compare that line on each label before you buy.

    How long should I give a joint supplement before deciding if it suits my dog?

    Joint supplements are not quick, so a sensible aim is a couple of months of consistent daily use before judging. A diary of how easily your dog gets up, manages stairs and walks can help you and your vet see small changes. Guarantee windows differ, with YuMOVE's at 6 weeks and MedPaw's at 60 days, so it is worth knowing which gives you enough time.

    How many MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max does a 20kg dog need?

    Under the printed feeding guide, dogs of 18kg and over have 2 to 3 chews a day, doubled for the first three weeks. The label recommends 2 to 3 months of daily use. Please follow the guide on your tub, and do not use another product's feeding guide in its place.

    Is a tablet or a soft chew better for my dog?

    Neither is better in every case. The best format is the one your dog will take every day without a struggle, because a supplement only supports your dog when it is eaten consistently. YuMOVE Joint Support PLUS Max is a tablet, while MedPaw Hip & Joint Chews Max is a soft chew.

    Should I talk to my vet before starting a joint supplement?

    Yes, particularly if your dog is a puppy, is pregnant or nursing, takes medication or has a long-term health condition. A supplement is a complementary feed, not a treatment, and it does not replace veterinary care. If your dog is limping, struggling on stairs or seems sore, please book a vet appointment rather than waiting to see whether a supplement helps.

    Important health information: This article is for general information only and isn't a substitute for professional veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog's health or mobility, please contact your vet.

    60-second check

    Is your dog slowing down?

    Answer six quick questions and get a personalised read on your dog's mobility, plus a welcome offer.